We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean it up!”
Review of Villa Surya Abadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Surya Abadi
Ranked #108 of 173 Canggu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed about our stay at this place. It's a backpacker place, not for everyone.

We had the room number 14, above the pool. We had a view over an abandoned ricefield.

About the room... Where should I start... tens of cocoons on our ceiling, spiders, mosquitos (no mosquito net), a/c... but the room is open air so it's worthless. The bathroom had fungi on the ceiling. i didn't even want to take a shower.

The price is cheap... but... There are lots of place cheap around... So look for another place !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsa_isa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed in villa surya abadi a little less than a week with friends, the place is fantastic, there is a beautiful pool that offers a view of the rice fields.
the rooms are very beautifully decorated and the littery is good.
The team of the hotel is really professional.
The hotel is located 10 minutes from the beach and 20 minutes from Kuta by scooter, which allows you to be away from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piketak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of my Bali holiday choosing it because of the fact it overlooked the rice fields. That was great but as everyone else mentions, unless you have a bike it is impossible to get around. We ventured out and not once did taxi driver find it easily when we returned home- it really is in the middle of nowhere. We had the room above the pool and although nice enough, our sleep was disturbed by guests talking below in the lounge area and around the pool. As it is near the airport, many guests arrive at different hours of the day so they are on different time zones- and doesn't help if you want to sleep. The bathroom was pretty bad- very basic and could be far better-no place to put any of your toiletries.The bedside lamps were broken and although we asked staff twice to replace them, they never did so we couldnt read at night. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

First, this place is very easy on the eyes. Nice pool, sitting area, view, etc. Price is good too, I paid $22/night. Staff was nice and accommodating.

However, it has some issues:

1. Mosquitoes! This is a HUGE problem in this place. I believe it's because of stale water, right outside the fence next to the pool. This makes sitting out a very risky experience. Make sure you use lots and lots of mosquitoes repellent.

2. Location. Just like everybody said, this is far from everything. However, if you walk around the neighborhood, you might enjoy some authentic experience. I enjoyed it. No tourist in sight, yay!

3. Food. They offer a very basic breakfast with very limited selection. Lunch and dinner are available if you order. They will order it for you over the phone from a restaurant in Echo Beach, this could take 30-45 minutes to get! Don't come hungry. I recommend the owners to offer at least *some* food locally. Sandwiches are very easy to make, etc.

4. Bathrooms. The bathroom layout, at least in my room was very awkward. The faucet is behind the sink, hard to reach. When you take a shower, the entire bathroom gets wet. My suggestion is to add a simple curtain and to improve the layout of the sink area. No place for toothbrush, no shampoo!

5. Risky stairs. My room was on the second floor, with VERY steep stairs. It's ok, I can handle BUT, at night, it was impossible to see the stairs. Suggestion: add some light there.

That's it! I hope these suggestions help the owner make this place better, it's not bad, it's just not as great as it can be.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor, without the steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meravknafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Great wifi, cute dog, great delivery service for food. The rooms are cute and confortable. Our room haf a minor sanitary issue, it smelled a bit and having an open window from the bathroom requires some fresh air after use

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend were here for 3 nights. It has lovely clean rooms for a excellent price. The people who work here are very nice and very helpfull. It has an amazing view and is very easy to reach. Motorbikes can be rented and 1 hour away from ubud by bike. Very nice and quiet place, good to relax and spend the last few days.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaineeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in May 2013. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool is great.

Our biggest problem was the location. We did not want to be in the hubbub of Kuta, but we did not expect to be in the middle of nothing. The closest beach, Echo, is really only for surfing. There is not a good place to lay out or even to swim (current is too strong). If you want to go anywhere else, you need a car or a scooter and good GPS. There are not any restaurants within walking distance.

The second problem was the abundance of rats that crawl through the rafters above the breakfast area. Being in a farming area, one expects critters, but it was disturbing.

I think the perfect client for this place would be someone who wanted to work all morning from their room or balcony and then hang out by the pool and have delivery.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor. If you're on the bottom, you'll hear everything in the room ab...
See more room tips
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 41 in Canggu
867 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#17 of 41 in Canggu
296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
3.6 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#4 of 41 in Canggu
340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Surya Abadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Surya Abadi

Address: Jalan Bila, Banjar Dukuh, Dalung-Canggu, Canggu 9000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: £17 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Surya Abadi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking scenic rice paddy fields, Villa Surya Abadi is a Balinese-style property with wood and bamboo elements. Featuring an outdoor pool and an open-air restaurant, it provides free Wi-Fi and Western breakfast.Featuring a private balcony open out to tropical views, the air-conditioned rooms have wood-beamed ceilings and craftwork. Surya Abadi Villa is a 20-minute from the beautiful Echo and Canggu beaches. Offering free parking, it is a 20-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Guests can start the day with treks through the fields or take a leisurely stroll to the historic Tanah Lot Temple. Staff provide 24-hour reception and concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Surya Abadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Surya Abadi Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing