We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
Ranked #10 of 123 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This gorgeous villa is not fully justified by the pics - it's exquisitely decorated and like something out of a home decor magazine. But there's more to it than looks - the service was friendly and welcoming, and the beach is 2 minutes' walk away. Rice paddies surround the property for a charming, pastoral feel and the only sound we could hear was the birds and the occasional buzz of a motorbike. In the evenings you can spread out in the tv room and watch a DVD on the big screen while a blissful breakfast round the pool and a massage in the room - the villa has its own tables - are all Recc activities. I can't wait to stay here again and my mum and husband loved it too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Firstly, the bad review about the electricity should be ignored. When you stay in places like Bali the electricity may drop and you cannot blame anyone. I would say it is not a place to go with an electric breathing machine that is asking for trouble!!

It is not easy to book accommodation in Bali and be sure it will be what you expect. We needed to stay in Canggu for a friends wedding and this was perfect. Our stay was for 8 nights and we were very well looked after. All staff were very very friendly and it was sad to leave. It was very relaxed and we were not hassled at all but when we needed to ask do anything it was done. Nothing was too much for them. Widi picked us up from the airport and by chance a friend saw his sign with my name on it. He got a lift with us and did not know exactly where he was staying - no problem Widi found the phone number rang them and took him there!! He drove us whenever he could or we booked a taxi. Yanni was really nice and her English was very good so she helped us with a lot of questions. It was my birthday there and they even organised a cake which was not expected.

Marie who owns/runs the villa really went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was good, Internet was good, room was spotless, air con worked well which was needed, outdoor shower was great and little touches like complimentary filtered water made this a villa I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at this villa a couple of nights from Dec 30 to Jan 1 together with my wife.
I would say it was the best accommodation in Bali during my stay. Before coming there I checked many villas in Canggu and compared with other options in Canggu. It was very difficult to make a final decision, especially because we did not find many feedbacks. Anyhow we decided to go to this place and we were not disappointed with our selection.

Upon our arrival we were met by Widy and he was very nice and helpful all the time. I asked so many questions and requests... We missed to change cash at the airport and Widy borrowd me his own money (about 200 USD in local RUP), I was very surprised as he never knew me before... It was really very kind of him.

The next day we met owner – Ms.Marie. She is very kind and caring person. She took care of our friends that were arriving at the next day without any prior booking and found for them a room at nearby villa.

Ms.Marie, her family and all personnel were so kind to us that we did not want to leave this place…

We would like to express our sincere appreciation and gratitude for all arrangements and care rendered to us during our stay to Marie, Widy and all personnel of Kupu Kupu!

Vladimir & Ana (from Moscow)

Conclusion: if you need a place to stay in Canggu that would be the best choice.

Room Tip: As far as I know the last rooms should have a balcony. So you may try booking them in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matveus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked our family members into Lautan Kupu Kupu for 2 nights while we were having a wedding next door at Villa Arika. The first night the electricity kept tripping and all the air cond units kept turning off. There are no fans in the rooms so it was impossible to sleep. One of our guests had to use an electric breathing machine which also kept turning off - he had no sleep at all. The second night it happened again - only this time it was off for HOURS. They finally had electricians come in and try to fix it but it literally took them 3-4 hours. My family and friends staying there couldn't take showers, it was pitch black and HOT! They ended up coming over to our villa across the road for some respite and rest while they waited into the night.

When we got back we wrote to management about the problem expecting some sort of compensation or sincere apology. What we got shocked us! She said "Just go there and visit the Villa, you should understand quickly that 70$ is a really good price. Just try to find a place like this with this price." She told us she was unaware of the problem and that we were wrong - that electricity always runs and no one else complains. She blamed the wedding for the loss of electricity - but our wedding was fully run on a generator. I'm amazed that management thinks that it's ok to NOT have electricity based on the price of the room!!

Of course things go wrong from time to time - it's the attitude of management that shocks me!
So if you want to book this villa - just cross your fingers that the villa next door doesn't have a wedding or event because according to management the electricity may go off in lautan kupu kupu.

Room Tip: Don't expect electricity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cold-Manna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed only one night on this villa, but it was very cozy and nice place to live! The staff was very kind and helpfull. If you like Canggu, we suggest you to stay here, good quality and the price is resonable! Note: only cash, no credit cards)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letetskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We found this place on internet as we expected problems with our other booking in Canggu.Thought it was worth visiting this place. As we came earlier from Java, and changed some of our bookings, we had two free nights to fill in in Canggu.
So, we went here, and were amazed by the beauty of this place. The common area and pool area are really beautiful. The staff had some problems to understand us, and there was some discussion about the price, but finally we agreed, and we got the first two rooms, which have a connection door and only a small corridor between the two rooms, which was very comfortable for our family with two kids.
Location is ok, nearly at the end of Jl. Pererenan, close to the beach, which was under construction, and disappointed us. But you can walk along the beach to Echo beach, and there are some nice restaurants there, such as Sticky Fingers and Echo Beach Club.
Rooms were a bit on the dark side, but with beautiful furniture and outside shower, but could be cleaner.
The whole concept is good, I would only recommend to improve some small things about the service, to take a friendly and welcoming manager, to offer a welcome drink, to serve drinks at the pool, orange juice at breakfast, change the pool towels more often, this will make anyone feel much better.
But overall, it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Room nr. 1 and 2 are close to each other and have a connection door with a small corridor in between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrakelSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.2 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.3 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.8 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas

Property: Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Pererenan, Br. Delod Padonan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing