We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience in front of one of the best spots of surf”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2011

A great moment in a exclusive and discrete hotel.. Fantastic staff with a lot of attention.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank yaka9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of a 10 day trip to Bali. Hotel arranged VIP airport service and transport for the 45min transfer. Very courteous and efficient. The Tugu concept is delightful. Spacious accommodations in a traditional Balinese village setting, part museum and part art gallery. A hotel for grown ups wishing to unwind and relax. Our family group included 2 adults, 2 teenagers and grandma. We booked 3 rejang suites which are located upstairs, but due to the steep staircase the staff allocated a ground floor dedari suite for grandma. This was much appreciated. Inside the grounds the gardens are lovely, with small pavilions dotted about, where meals and/or drinks can be enjoyed. Outside is Canggu beach and not much else, good for surfing if the guide books are correct. The Spa treatments were very relaxing, The Balinese food amongst the best we sampled in Bali (try the beef rendang) and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try the cooking class and market visit, great fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Melbourne_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We LOVED this hotel. It was one of our favorite parts of our visit to Bali. All the antiques and authentic balinese design touches make the hotel truly special. Our room was amazing, the grounds were gorgeous, the spa was great and the service was excellent. Our only complaint is that the food wasn't as amazing as our research would suggest. But overall, we were disappointed by the food in Bali compared to other places we've visited in Asia, and we didn't find any better food in Bali so I recommend eating at the hotel anyway, or going to nearby Echo Beach. Also, while we loved the sights in Ubud and central Bali, we didn't like Seminyak and southern Bali in general. The traffic was awful so it took hours to go short distances and then the areas were so developed and Westernized that it wasn't worth the hassle. Instead, we wished we stayed at the Tugu the whole time (other than easy detours to visit Tana Lot and Echo Beach Restaurant) and otherwise avoided Seminyak and Jimbaran. The Tugu is perfect for the entirety of your beach time in Bali because it is charming, luxurious, quiet, and authentic, and then Ubud and the surroundings are ideal for sightseeing and getting to know Balinese culture (temples, handicrafts, rice paddies, art, dance, etc.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The weary traveler arriving at his destination does not like a hotel with no ties to the environment that surrounds it. He also prefers a hotel that respects the cultural and economic context where it is located.
Bali, of course, represents the sea, with its large spaces, but also restraint and religiosity. Bali is a mystery, but also revelation. Landscape, but also movement. Popular culture, but also cosmopolitan values. And somehow, the Hotel Tugu Bali is a synthesis of all this.

The hotel has alleys and corridors with the face of traditional Bali, but also it shows sophisticated restaurants and a competent staff.
The apartments are decorated in authentic Balinese culture, but guests enjoy the comfort and amenities with international class hotels.

On my return to Italy, some friends asked me three adjectives to describe my experience as a guest in Bali. I did not think too long: "Bali is a sophisticated place, deeply rooted in culture and tradition of the region". Then, they asked me about the hotel. I replied: "The Tugu is a sophisticated hotel , deeply rooted in culture and tradition of Bali."

Sergio Capparelli

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We enjoyed a lot. Beautiful place at the beach, competent staff, every room is wonderfully decorated with unique Indonesian art and an excellent massage at the SPA

We learned a lot about balinese art, indonesian food, gods and temples.
Edgar Pullen Parente
eparente@epsoft.com.br
Brasil

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eparente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed at Tugu Bali for 7 nights in March. Having flown all the way from London (via Hong Kong) for just a week, I can say it was worth the long flights and the jetlag! This is as good as a boutique hotel gets: it's unique, genuine and flawless.

For those who like arts, there a few dinning rooms decorated with so many old pieces it looks like you are in a museum. So far, one can claim other hotels display arts, but the special thing about Tugu is that you can choose to have your meal in any of these rooms (privatised for your couple/group), or in fact anywhere else on the property (by the lily pond for example). I found this extremely clever, and it is very relaxing not to have to go to a big restaurant with set times for meals, especially when you are staying for a week. Basically, you can have any meal, anywhere, at any time. The food is excellent and there is a great variety, for healthy diets or for indulgence, featuring many regional dishes. The Warung, set up as a traditional kitchen where you see all the cooking, is worth trying. I also loved the complimentary afternoon tea with local delicacies, all of which were home made and different every day.

The rooms are beautiful and very spacious. We got one on the upper floor with views to the ocean (Rejang suite). There was also a spa area with closed terrace and table within our room. It was extremely comfortable and felt homy with its antique furniture.
There are only 21 rooms in total, well hidden among the lush vegetation, so you have a real sense of privacy when you are on the property.

Someone on TA complained about the beach. Firstly, let me say you don't go to Bali for the beauty of its coast, there are far better beaches in the Indian ocean, but Bali offers more things than usual beach resorts. Secondly, I too was initially surprised by the dirtiness of the beaches (all of them, including in front of the Oberoi Hotel!), but after understanding the local culture a bit more you realise this is partly because local tradition believes that nature can manage itself, and the Balinese people are therefore not as advanced in sustainability as in some other countries, but efforts are being made, and tourists should be the first to set the example. Finally, you do not need to cross a 'road' to reach the beach, it is merely a strip that gets to a dead end, maybe the odd surfer parks there, which didn't bother me.

Tugu is in a remote location, so perfect to unwind from busy Seminyak, yet not too far to go there for dinner/drinks, a 20 min drive which you can get complimentary if Tugu's driver is available (a very smart way to manage the hotel resources I thought). The staff are indeed amazing, professional in every way yet very friendly. They will go beyond their duty to make you happy, fulfilling your every wish, even if you have not verbally expressed it (they just feel it!).

So in summary, this is not a place for people who like resorts as polished as Disneyworld, as Tugu has a real soul and is a place that promotes culture and arts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Thanks Irma and Sebastien for the warm hospitality...!!!

This was my best holiday in Bali so far.........and in fact it's better than Bulgari Bali!

Thanks to all the Tugu Bali Canggu staffs for taking care of us that we enjoyed throughout the 5 nights...........! Your spa was wonderful too.........!!!

Those who wants total private resort feel.......this is one resort that you will sleep the whole day without anyone disturbing your stay.

It's about 30-45mins from Kuta (depending on the time of day you are travelling).

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannylovesayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#14 of 149 in Seminyak
1,750 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: £185 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing