We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tugu hotel bali”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful hotel with amazing rooms, antiques and cultural charms. Very friendly, helpful people who made our stay truly wonderful. Quiet hotel great for a relaxing holiday. Good location with easy access to variety of restaurants in a nice area away from the craziness of kuta and seminyak.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of Tugu on TripAdvisor. Your kind words describe in detail the true feeling of our Balinese home and we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you will think of us as your family in Indonesia!

We hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Bali.

The entire Tugu Family will be very happy to welcome you again anytime!

Warmest regards from Canngu,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have to admit, I am a Tugu fan. I have now stayed at all 4 properties. The Hotel in Bali is dreamy and romantic beyond imagination. I loved the huge red billowing silk curtains in the spacious lobby which leads to the dining room. If you are looking for a romantic stay - look no further. Our room was huge, with a round copper bath and massage table. The grounds are exquisite and I loved my morning runs on the wild open beach. Above all, this hotel is a genuine Indonesian stay. It's like a walk through history and gives you a great appreciation of the living culture that exists in this country. Gracious service and very personable. I will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Steph,

Thank you very much for posting such a great review! We are touched beyond words about the loyalty you have for our Tugu family, we could not be more grateful for the magic moments we have shared in our hotel. We are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu Romance” and delighted to know that we both feel so moved by the genuine culture and history of this island. It deeply motivates all of us at Tugu to continue our quest to deliver that uniqueness of this Balinese heaven.

We will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Canggu! Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Renewed our marriage vows last week at Tugu and we were totally blown away at how wonderful everything was. We stayed at the Puri Le Mayeur suite - it was fantastic. Loved the privacy and private outdoor dining area, the surrounding lotus pond (with hungry crazy fish), the private pool...the photo's of this place on the hotel website do not do it justice. Great menu - We must have drunk them dry in red wine - they do have a good wine list! Excellent concept about dining wherever you wish - whether it was a private little room or outdoors...just about anywhere is no trouble. But the greatest thing about Tugu is their staff - it is like they are psychic and know what we wanted and when we wanted it. Sorry to leave the place but you have to return to rality someday!

Room Tip: Lash out and get the Le Mayeur suite even if only for a couple of nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GnC6257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for the time you took to post such a great review of your experience with us during your anniversary & vowel renewal in Bali.

It was such a pleasure having you and your husband as part of our Tugu family in such a special moment. The ceremony on the beach was beautiful and we were all blessed by your joy.

We are also very touched by the kind word you shared on our food, the suite and mostly our staff. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to my team.

We are already preparing for your next visit...and stocking up the cellar! We all hope to welcome you back very soon here in Bali. You are both truly missed in our Canngu family.

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful small hotel with same owner as Tugu Malang. Hotel consists huge central Sala with wonderful rooms around it filled with Balinese antiques. Our room, Walter Spies, celebrated the influence on Bali today by a late 1920's German painter who lived and painted on the island. Suite is large and also contains works of art.

Hotel needs to be careful however since an edge of " tatiness" is beginning to creep in (plaster skims coming off external walls, pool tiles and surround not as they should be pool roof badly needs cleaning, etc) didn't spoil our enjoyment but….

Restaurant food excellent with an extensive choice of menu available 24 hours per day which we were able to enjoy either in the lovely dinning area or in our room. Wine list was a revelation too with some amazing choices. Wonderful friendly staff who couldn't seem to do enough to make our stay truly memorable.

Access to sea was reasonable, however this is an area where a walk along the shore is much safer than facing those crashing waves the local surfers enjoy so much.
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Keith

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.

It is a pleasure to know that we share the same passion for arts and culture in Bali and that our beautiful collection made your stay a memorable one. We also thank you for highlighting our restaurant and wine list which is of so much importance to us when guiding our guests through a real Balinese journey.

Of course, we take good note of your comments about the maintenance improvements to be made in our Walter Spies Suite, and rest reassured that we are already undergoing changes in that respect.

Keith, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest regards,

Muchas gracias


Marta Escribano Martin


Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

These Tugu people are just fantastic. We've stayed at Tugu in next-door Lombok a couple of times, but weren't quite sure what to expect with their location in Bali - within just a short drive from the airport, surely there'd be far too many people? Apparently not.

There's an intimacy and charm here that keeps us coming back. The hotel is part-art gallery, part-museum, part-spa retreat and the attention to detail - which is so often lacking in other similarly-priced hotels - is astonishing. We love the art, sculpture and carvings which really bring alive the magic of Bali. The enormous Garuda in reception is quite a sight, and the back-lit wayang shadow-puppets keep the magic alive after dark.

The Tugu team is fantastic - particularly Ibu Sri! - helping us arrange all sorts of things at the last moment and enduring/encouraging our horrendous attempts at Bahasa Indonesia. The whole experience is just so low impact and perfect for a few days away for some serious downtime - hassle-free airport pick-up/drop-off, insanely flexible eating arrangements, and the tastiest rijstaffel I think I've ever had.

To be honest, we'd come back here for the coffee alone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Wanbro,
Thank you for taking time off to write a great review. Our team was delighted & inspired by your sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the concept of the resort, Spa retreat , dining temptations & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our team. We will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments. Tugu is indeed famous for having one of the most beautiful, vast collections of art and antiquities in Indonesia, and besides for the amazing food, service and facilities that you had mentioned above, the hotel itself is a destination by itself to experience the real, authentic, rich and colorful culture of Indonesia in general and of Java in particular.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members & to bu Sri as well. We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was our first holiday with our 10 months old baby, naturally we was very nervous so we book direct with Tugu and let them know of our needs.
From the initially email reply, the Tugu team understand our concern and made us feel at ease.
Organising organic food for our baby and cooking it so that it still retain the freshness of the vegetables is perfection.
With guest arriving and departing each day, still somehow they made us feel like we're at home, a family home in Bali.
Beautiful room, authentic antiques, lush green ground, delicious food and most amazing is the small details, each time we return to our room, it was re-tidy and clean and fresh.
Amazing Hotel and staff, we will be returning in the near future...

Room Tip: We stay in Dedari suite with own private swimming and a back door which open onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quoc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Quoc P ,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comments about our resort. The team here is delighted the way you have expressed our little Tugu with that finer details of service with a “Tugu touch “.
We always committed to serve you with that extra touch from the heart & make you at ease for all your special needs. This is why our little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home. Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel.
Our mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and service from the heart.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our resort. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for a week during our honeymoon and it was an amazing experience. The staff is very sweet and friendly and the grounds of the resort are very well maintained. The beach was not as nice as we were expecting it to be but that didn't stop us from enjoying our stay. They are like ninjas with housekeeping as we would go out to breakfast in the lobby area and come to an already made room. They even baked us a cake on our last day as a farewell. We also booked massages with our package but the spa experience was nothing to rave about. All in all it was a very memorable and personal experience for the both of us and we will definitely be back.

Also, there are a lot of mosquitoes but given the climate there this is to be expected. They are generous in replenishing your anti-mosquito lotion on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellemisung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear michellemisung,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We really appreciate your description about our services in the housekeeping, the landscapes and our team members.
With regards to mosquitoes : as you may aware, addition to lotions we provide in every room, special spray provided in restaurants, anti mosquito plugs in the rooms and regular fogging has been carried out to minimize the menace.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our resort. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
2.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,719 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: £193 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing