We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - that understates it !”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Excellent - that understates it !”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am writing my review in my fabulous ground floor suite with the plunge pool to my left & bathroom to my right where I shower in a tropical oasis looking down at the Koi carp. In front of me the really comfortable four poster bed just marginally smaller than Texas !
The freshly replenished fruit basket is on the table, the bed is sprinkled with Frangipani flowers and I have to stay - hotel wise it doesn't get much better than this.
Our friends have an upstairs suite which is also amazing but for me the plunge pool & Koi swing it.

We were here for a wedding - which was fabulous - all of the arrangements were superb - staying on a bit longer was a great call as whilst it was fantastic when we were all here it's also great to have some chill time. There were about 40 guests and everyone was blown away by the ceremony & meal .

The staff are lovely , service can sometimes be a little slow but heh "what's the rush" , breakfast is sensational and although they said it was served until 11.00 they didn't seem to care and I am sure we saw breakfast trays going past at well after noon.

The massage was great. The mosquito control in the rooms excellent altho Mosquitos were not too much of a problem generally.

Many hotels have high standards, many have fabulous facilities but not many creat such a special ambiance , a sense of calm & serenity, natural style rather than interior designers "cut & paste" - all in all the Hotel Tugu is an amazing place to stay - we found 4 nights just right but would not have complained about staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Elestoban,

Thank you so much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor.

We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about our Tugu, particularly about the large size of our rooms and specially about the 'special ambiance' that only our very special Tugu can provide...it is difficult to put it in words! We share the same love & passion for for our unique home and we are delighted to share it with our guests.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in our family again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    84
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
124
439
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

my girlfriend and i spent 5 nights at the Tugu and i really cannot give enough praise. the service was warm and welcoming and they really did payattention to everything, even calling us to remind us that we hadn't yet had our complimentary meal for two (i hadn't even realised we had one). the room was vast, we had a four poster, sofa, large bathroom, private pool, and there were fish swimming through the bathroom which was seriously cool. the Tugu isn't flashy , it is authentic, and that makes the whole experience feel so much more unique. the location is also great, 50 yards from the beach and no shortage of surf spots or chilled out places to eat nearby. i could go on but it'll start sounding like i've been paid to write this (i haven't), so you'll have to find out for yourself. ten out of ten, thank you Tugu for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMawdsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Simon

Thank you for posting a great review on TripAdvisor.

It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable moments & making your experience in the resort a distinctive one. We truly appreciate you see our Tugu as a authentic and our staff was delighted to provide you with our very own 'Tugu Touch'.

Thank you also for sharing such lovely picture to show our Tugu at its best!

We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Tugu is a fantastic experience and extremely unique blend of traditional style and modern service levels. We (my, Malati and our 3 year old daughter) had a great time - the welcome massage, afternoon tea service, Balanese dance performance during dinner, private beach access were totally unexpected and delightful experiences.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Vinay,

Thank you very much for posting a lovely review on TripAdvisor .

We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about Tugu, particularly about the blend of traditional style and moderns service levels. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your beautiful family back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having planned a "one night's escape", we really got what we bargained for at Tugu Hotel Canggu: we totally escaped from reality, for just one night!
A totally private suite with plenty of space for two (three, four even...), the most practical room lay out, noise free (unless one would be disturbed by the serene sound of breaking sea waves...) and the Warmest Welcome by Manager Martha!

Our breakfast in one of the private dining rooms was so enjoyable.
Most memorable service: a customized welcome note in the room upon arrival and a poet's quote and "Good night and Sweet Dreams" on the bed before going to sleep.

We will so be back!

Room Tip: The Rejang Suites are highly recommended: right in the middle of the complex, yet totally private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Robin

Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us during your 'time off' in Canggu!

We are delighted to hear we truly offered you a relaxing journey while at Tugu, even though short. Thank you personally for your kind mention in your review. At Tugu we strive to give our guest a once in a life time experience and we hope we can welcome you back very soon for a longer period. It would bring us so much joy to welcome you back in our family!

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can help with anything from here!

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel, but we had dinner at the restaurant a couple of times. Service is exceptional and the food again the best we had during our whole trip to Indonesia! Leave space some space for the chocolate cake!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sandra

Thank you for posting such a great comment about our restaurant!

I will pass on your kind words to our team. Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to experience the full "Tugu touch".

With best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having substantial experience in accommodation around the world, I have to say the quality of the Tugu hotels in general, and particularly also that of the Tugu Hotel Bali was most astonishing. The suite my girlfriend and I had was just ideal, ultra-clean, well designed and equipped, warm, spacious and with a great view. In addition, I had booked some extra services for my girlfriend's birthday; private dinner on the beach on a spacious bed, with Balinese dancers - you can't possibly impress anyone more! Perfect service, extra attentive staff, and an overall property which is very pleasant to walk around in. Two thumbs for Tugu Hotel Bali.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaside view are marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamV78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for leaving such an amazing review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. Specially coming from someone as knowledgeable as you in the field! We were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable experience with us and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Please never get your own yacht and keep coming to visit us! You are truly missed at Tugu...

We hope we can welcome you and your girlfriend back very soon. Our entire team will be very happy to see you in Canggu again.

Warm regards,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I had the absolute pleasure of getting married at Hotel Tugu, Canggu back in April 2014. Hotel Tugu had been recommended to us by friends. As soon as we stepped into the hotel we knew we had chosen the right venue. The authentic Balinese artifacts and ambiance of the hotel was astounding. We met with our wedding planner the day after our arrival for a month's stay on the island. She was wonderfully accommodating. We decided to complete some of the wedding aspects ourselves and not make use of the complete list of aspects the hotel could have provided us. We had a small group of 12 for our wedding. The attention to detail for our reception, ceremony(inside due to the torrential rain) and dinner was incredible The authentic Balinese dinner(feast) was amazing and to be seated in such an amazing dining room was a real treat. None of our guests had been to the hotel before the wedding and they were all amazed. We could not have asked for a better wedding experience.
Andrew Smee & Denita Wright

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiamaSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kiama,

Thank you so much for posting such a moving review of your wedding on TripAdvisor .

I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted about the way you describe Tugu in your own words. Words like “astounding ambience” & 'We could not have asked for a better wedding experience" really touches us...we are truly honored to have served you on this very special occasion. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

Thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#15 of 36 in Canggu
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing