We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stormrider Surfcamp Bali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
29
12
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
12
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf guidingrice fieldsdormsurferscouchnetsbaliescapemotorbike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed ten days at the camp. The place is perfectly located central to plenty of surf spots., far from stinky Kuta.

I attended a few surfcamps in the past and I can tell you this camp is the best I've ever been. It's really about surfing. There's twice a day a guided surf session with 2 extremely talented locals, they really want to help to push your level to the next.

Breakfast was great and staff is extremely friendly! Rooms were very luxurious and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Stormrider surfcamp Bali is (besides the Boardxhouse in Imsouane) the most luxurious surfcamp / surfresort we've ever been to. The double rooms (and even the dorm) are matching any high expectations of an european surfer. Next to that, the surfguides are super competent and the two guided surftours a day are well planned, always on time and never let you down in terms of wave quality. In contrary to some other surfcamps closer to Kutta this isn't exactly a party surfcamp. There are 7 double rooms and a 8 person luxury dorm, quite a lot of places to hangout and chill, the vibe is super relaxed - a place perfect to relax after surfing far away from noisy, busy, smelly, mushroom paradise Kutta. For me the perfect match and definitely a Surfcamp in Bali I'm going to visit again!

Shortly, the Stormrider Surfcamp Bali is definetly a place I would recommend to friends in our age or to couples of any age.

Thanks to Arndt, Herry, Ranu and the rest of the crew for the amazing time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baguslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Beautiful place in the middle of rice fields.

Very nice Hotel with beautiful rooms, super clean and quiet. All regular rooms have AC and hot water included. Most beautiful dorm I have ever seen! no AC but every bed has their own fan, light and the mattress is 1.4 m and super comfortable!

It is definitely super cheap for what you get if you compare it with other camps or hotels!

The camp is around 20 min walk away from changgu eccobeach. Rent a scooter if you would like to go surfing on weekends or go out for dinner or coffee. It costs you around 5 $ a day.
The kitchen in the camp has actually everything you need.

Surf guiding was good. small group and very nice and friendly surf guides.

Room Tip: Outstanding dorm, beautiful doubles - whatever you choose, it is going to be good!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharena01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We are living in Bali and i have tried to organize a surf camp with Raja Ombak for my son during the school holidays. They gave rates and schedules but they said they were busy for the first week of the holidays and we scheduled to start for the following week. We waited the week to pass by and when the starting day came the guys became unreachable. No pick up the phone, no reply to the text messages, i passed by the camp to find out what was going on just to be said from one surf instructor (that was sleeping) that he was busy with beginners and there was 'no option' he would take care of my kid (he was the one that scheduled the program with my son!) and that he handed over the job to what i understand to be the owner of the camp. I called and text many times the guy and he never picked up or reply. Beside being very rude and unprofessional, I am pissed off because my son wasted his school holidays waiting for the Raja Ombak guys to take care of him as they agreed to do.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank kikobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StormriderSurfcamp, Owner at Stormrider Surfcamp Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

This person simply never stayed at our resort. Nor did any of his family. He did ask us for a service we dont offer, surfguiding for poeple who are not our guests.

We did tell him that we may could do this IF it fits our surf-guiding program and we would contact him in this case. We did NOT commit to offering him or any of his relatives any service. As it didnt fit into our guiding program for the next two weeks after he did contact us we naturally didnt contact him. After this two weeks he did put up this made up "review". Thats the whole story.

And yes, our surfguides may sleep on a saturday morning at 8 AM as Its their day off.

The statement "Stayed April 2013, traveled with family" under the "review" is FALSE and an intentional lie, like the whole "review" is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My first stay at Stormrider was last year and I fell in love with the place and the staff and just had to come back. It is in a beautiful rice field neighborhood that is a short (5 minute) scooter ride from Ecco Beach or Batu Balong which are excellent waves if you feel like just going on your own, but for around $45 US a night for your room, you also get twice daily surf guiding from the Bukit to Medewi. Whether you go with the Indonesian guides or Arnd, the outgoing German owner, one of the few westerners who is fuly licensed to guide in Indonesia, they will get you to the right place for your surf level and the swell conditions of the day. Arnd and his guides know the sneak routes to avoid traffic too, which is a crucial plus. The place is very nicely designed and has spacious rooms and bathrooms that are a bit nicer than other camps i have stayed at on Bali. If you look at the photos on the stormrider site you will get an idea. The restaurant has a limited selection, but all the food is good and a good value, except for Arnd's curry chicken and curry fish, which is not good, it is excellent. And its such a good deal! Bali overall is a bargain, but the quality of the rooms for the price, if you compare to other local accommodations, its like you are getting the surf guiding free and just paying a fair price for room and breakfast.

Room Tip: the most amazing hostel accommodations ever. same antique wooden joglo type building as the dreamland suite, and lots of space for 8 people.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Good_Advice_on_Jaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews