We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #28 of 123 Canggu B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place is fantastic! The owners are really nice, they have got plenty of tips for you! The room is brand new and perfect and the breakfast is sublime! I highly recommended this homestay to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again when you visit Bali.
Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Myself and my son stayed here at the beginning of our Bali travels. Host Mike is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and Marcella offers a choice of 8 breakfasts, between us both we tried most of them!

The rooms are quite trendily decorated and hygiene is excellent.

Homestay is a little difficult to find, especially for taxi drivers, but we had a scooter and everywhere is accessible 5-10 mins away. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your son on your first Bali trip. We made someone really happy with your surf vest, so thanks for that.

Regards,
Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Having spent nine, fun but 'testing' days combatting the street hawkers in Kuta, my stay at Marcella and Mike's B&B in Canggu was just what I needed - a peaceful retreat with all the comforts of home. Everything you see in the website photos is how you find it in real life. Large well-decorated rooms, comfortable beds, fresh bed linen, breakfasts to kill for and hosts who are happy to help with any requests, always with a minimum of fuss.
Membership to the nearby Canggu Club is another huge bonus - swimming pools, gym and tennis courts all available to Bali Starling guests.

Thanks to Marcella and Mike for a wonderful week. .... all the best for August.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi John.

It was a pleasure having you over. And thanks again for the nice dress.
We try our best to keep our homestay tidy and clean, and we're glad it's noticed.
Take care.

Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After a long day of beach or exploring, Bali Starling is a great place to come back to and unwind. All the rooms are big and nice and have all the amenities you could want to feel at home, not to mention super fast internet which is rare to find in Bali accommodations. The owner Mike and his girlfriend are helpful with whatever you need, but you're able to really come in and out of the house and kind of do your own thing at your own pace. In the morning though you get a nice big breakfast and good conversation with Mike who can recommend nearby things to do.

The other great perk about staying at Bali Starling is that although you don't have a pool onsite, you get access to the nearby Canggu Club, which is basically a country club with great facilities including a nice pool, workout room, tennis courts, the whole deal. Really much nicer to go use the nice big pool at Canggu Club than use some little splash pool in a little hotel courtyard, plus it gives you somewhere to go and you can make a day out of it and just hanging out.

Highly recommend this place for all travelers who want to get away from the hectic mess at Kuta, but still be close enough to nice restaurants and bars in the Seminyak area (<10 minutes on your motorcycle, which Mike can also help arrange for you). Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are of various sizes, but all are excellent, well-appointed and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. And for the conversations.
Hope to see you again when you're in Bali.
Take care.
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hosts helps with whatever you need from scooter rental, laundry, restuarants or just local knowledge.
The breakfast puts the last piece to the 5 rating. The eggs benedict or home made granola is top notch! By far the best breakfast I had during my 1 month stay on Bali.
Perfect location very close to places like Cafe Beetlenut and cool Ex Machina. And all of Canggu surfspots are within 5 min drive with scooter.
This is the place to stay if you are going to Canggu!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasPils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hi Andreas,

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay that much.
Hope to see you again.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay very much. Beautiful new homestay. Good breakfast. Canggu Club is included. Very good place for a workout and relaxing. I recommend this place to people that do not mind to be outsider of the busy tourist area's

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Menno,

Thanks for the review. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand!
Take care.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Spending over a month in Bali, we especially favor the Canggu area: up-and-coming, a little outside of busy Kuta, plenty of new excellent restaurants and cafes, and close to our favorite surfbreak. Our last week we spend in the Bali Starling, a 1 year old small (4 rooms) guesthouse with modern western amenities. Large size rooms, perfect beds, LCD/DVD, airco, tastefully decorated and meticulously clean. Efficiently run like only a Dutch couple can, the breakfast is made in a homely atmosphere on the topfloor kitchen/communal area overlooking the rice fields: self made granola, banana pancakes, poached avocado eggs, fresh juice and fruit salad, topped off by excellent coffee. And it doesn't stop here: a membership to the Canggu club is included, a posh sporting club around the corner with a large swimming pool, gym, library, cafe and restaurant, good for our days without surf and to do some cardio again.
By far the best accommodation we have stayed at!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellavdv, Owner at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Google Translation
Beste Frans en Carolina,

Wat fijn om te lezen dat jullie zo genoten hebben. We wensen jullie heel veel plezier tijdens de rest van jullie reis. En wie weet zien we jullie hier over een tijdje wel weer. Want het is natuurlijk nergens zo leuk als hier op Bali ;)

Goede reis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
12.9 mi away
Pande Homestay
Pande Homestay
#17 of 123 in Canggu
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#75 of 123 in Canggu
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Brother Surf Inn
Big Brother Surf Inn
#13 of 123 in Canggu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.7 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#60 of 267 in Canggu
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 123 in Canggu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Property: Homestay Bali Starling
Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Homestay Bali Starling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing