We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #40 of 149 Canggu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a great find, perfect location as a base to explore Seminak, Legian,Kuta and Echo Beach by bicycle.I did also enjoy coming back to a fresh and clean abode with crisp sheets and a generously sized modern bathroom.
Mike and Marcella were a great source for info re places to shop, eat and general Bali gossip.
Canggu Club ( walking distance) is like stepping into Somerset Maugham novel, thank you Mike and Marcella.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Martina,

Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully next time your son will clean his room in time so he can join you. ;) Looking forward to having you over again. Good luck with your business in beautiful Sydney harbor.

Kind regards,
Marcella & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

This homestay has small private hotel qualities added to the big hotel style experiemce of 'Canggu club membership' and the proximity to Echo beach and many good restaurants.
The 4 guest rooms are well appointed and almost new.
Breakfast is certainly well above average- not your average bali pancake deal.
The neighbouring barking dogs were my only complaint. as they did wake us during the nights as we sleep with windows open as we are unaccustomed to sleeping in 'quieter' sealed airconditioned rooms.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for one of the delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi guys,

Thank you for your friendly words. We're really glad that you liked our breakfast. We've put a lot of afford in that.

Kind regards,
Mike & Marcella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

some time ago, in september 2012, i stayed in homestay bali starling with my mother and my older brother. since all kids are adult, i guess this was our last holiday togehther and it was perfect.
selfmade breakfast, adorable rooms und kind and helpful hosts.

sorry for that late evaluation, marcella & mike, give a hug to your sweet dog (what was her name?). hope to see you again!

Sina N

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Sina,

Thanks for remembering us one year after your stay! And for writing a very nice review, of course. And for recommending us to your other brother. So a triple 'thanks' to you!

Warm regards,
Marcella & Mike (&Daisy;))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Was a great place ,extremley clean great service would recomend if you like a quiter area in bali personally i like the area it would be one of the better places ive stayed in my travels anywere in the world

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monster250450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks Monster,

That's very kind of you. Take care and be safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this place. The hosts are most outstanding and tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible.The room was very spacious and the view over the green scenery marvelous. We looked forward every morning to the best breakfast we had in any home stay ever. We had bicycles organized for the very first morning and were given very exciting routes through the area by the very knowledgable Mike. Ask him for the cycle route to Seminyak, I promise a trip most worthwhile!!!!!
We certainly will come back when for more chilled out days.
Nici and Meira

Room Tip: The best room is the one on the second floor, very spacious and the traditional thatched roof!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nici V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Owner at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Nici & Meira,

Thanks for promoting the cycling trip to Seminyak! People who are brave enough to ride their bicycle to Seminyak, always ask us for directions after reading your review. And we always advise them to take the ice cream break halfway. :)

Warm regards,
Mike & Marcella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Really liked this homestay!! Very comfortable new rooms, the atmosphere is like at home. The hosts are amazing people , very kind, always helpful and pleasant. Good value , as for 25$ per person you get really cool accommodation , very very good breakfast and canggu club facilities. Location of the homestay is also good , 5 mins by bike to the beach, 5 mins to all the canggu beat cafes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Nat,
So cool that you stayed at our place while your mom and sister came over to visit you. Hope all 3 of you are doing good, and that your sister managed to get that big, black bug through Russian customs. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Run by Marcella and Mike, a really friendly and helpful couple, this place is great! Brand new rooms, very tastefully decorated. Fast free Wifi and A/C in the rooms, as well as LCD TV with DVD player and a big selection of movies (If the weather is bad) Nice communal area with comfortable couch and view across the rice fields. Very easy to find with lots of good restaurants near by (They have a helpful list of recommended places) and easy to get to the beaches of Canggu. Complimentary access to the Canggu club is a real treat as well! (Nice pool and fitness facilities) They arranged taxi transfer to and from the airport and motor bike rental - could not have been easier. Best find in Canggu, will definately stay again. Thanks again guys, and congratulations on your beautiful baby girl! :-)

Room Tip: (2 Pools and Fitness facilities at Canggu Club. All very good) All rooms very nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Scott,

Hope you're doing well
Thanks a lot for your friendly words. It was great getting to meet an energetic and positive guy like you. Take care and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Canggu
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#4 of 40 in Canggu
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.8 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: £34 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing