We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Großartig mit Wohlfühlfaktor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #25 of 111 Canggu B&B and Inns
1 review
“Großartig mit Wohlfühlfaktor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our days at Balis Homestay Starling were great, unbelievable, nice, comfortable and unforgettable.
It was the best start in Bali we could imagine! ... and of course the best breakfast we had on our tour (it started 6 weeks ago)!
The rooms are big, with a cosy bed, TV, some DVDs, a small fridge, (and all the time fresh, cold water). The bathroom is also quiet big and the rooms were all the time extremely clean!
Every evening we could choose one out of 7 different breakfasts for the next day. In the morning Mike prepared the breakfast for us additionally with fresh juice, selfmade great cappucino and a fruit salad. He and his girlfriend were all the time so helpfull, friendly and never to tired to answer our question or giving good advices.
If we have the chance to come again to Bali this would be the first adress we like to stay!
Thank you for the great time Mike and Marcella!

All the best - Elly and Luise

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllyLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hallo Elly und Luise,

Vielen dank für ihren schönes review. It's really appreciated. We wish you all the best.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

It was a very pleasant stay. The rooms are absolutely newly fitted out, very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms, everything was neat and clean, and very well planned. The property is very well located, 2 min by bike to the beach. The surrounding area features many nice restaurants, owned be expats and offering high quality delicious food. The surrounding area is not so dusty and crowned as Seminyak or Kuta, also much cleaner. Breakfasts were fantastically delicious, made personally by the owner Mike at your choice. Believe us this was not a continental breakfast, this was a very nutritious and homy breakfast that will give you energy for the whole day. Fresh granola done by Mike in professional oven with fruits and real yogurt were our favorite (you should see , how big were the portions) and fantastic BLT sandwiches (everything roasted just a second before serving) and pancakes and much more!!! These breakfasts could be successfully sold to neighbor hotels, all our friends were jealous! And what's more, Mike assisted us with bike rentals and taxis and car rentals, places to see and to eat at, helped us with many other personal questions (what delicious to bring home back etc). You feel like staying in a very comfortable hotel, but being independent from the crowd and guided by locals, feels like you came to visit friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Olga,

How's that 'inburgeringscursus' going? Already moved to Amsterdam or still in Moscow?
Many thanks for your extensive review. Hope you're happy & healthy.

All the best,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Modern, cool home stay with wonderful hosts Mike and Marcella. The building is beautifully designed and furnished. Mike cannot do enough for you. I left my passport at the airport (don't ask!) and he even went to pick it up for me.

Breakfasts were unbelievably good. A lot of love and effort goes into the making of them and it shows.

And then you get access to the Canggu Club which is soooo relaxing.

We ended up staying here twice and for about 10 nights in total and cannot recomend this home stay highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Mark,

Hope you're all settled and enjoying New Zealand. What an amazing trip the two of you are on!
Thanks for your kind review. We really appreciate that.

Warm regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a great find, perfect location as a base to explore Seminak, Legian,Kuta and Echo Beach by bicycle.I did also enjoy coming back to a fresh and clean abode with crisp sheets and a generously sized modern bathroom.
Mike and Marcella were a great source for info re places to shop, eat and general Bali gossip.
Canggu Club ( walking distance) is like stepping into Somerset Maugham novel, thank you Mike and Marcella.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Martina,

Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully next time your son will clean his room in time so he can join you. ;) Looking forward to having you over again. Good luck with your business in beautiful Sydney harbor.

Kind regards,
Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission beach australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This homestay has small private hotel qualities added to the big hotel style experiemce of 'Canggu club membership' and the proximity to Echo beach and many good restaurants.
The 4 guest rooms are well appointed and almost new.
Breakfast is certainly well above average- not your average bali pancake deal.
The neighbouring barking dogs were my only complaint. as they did wake us during the nights as we sleep with windows open as we are unaccustomed to sleeping in 'quieter' sealed airconditioned rooms.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for one of the delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you for your friendly words. We're really glad that you liked our breakfast. We've put a lot of afford in that.

Kind regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

some time ago, in september 2012, i stayed in homestay bali starling with my mother and my older brother. since all kids are adult, i guess this was our last holiday togehther and it was perfect.
selfmade breakfast, adorable rooms und kind and helpful hosts.

sorry for that late evaluation, marcella & mike, give a hug to your sweet dog (what was her name?). hope to see you again!

Sina N

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Sina,

Thanks for remembering us one year after your stay! And for writing a very nice review, of course. And for recommending us to your other brother. So a triple 'thanks' to you!

Warm regards,
Marcella & Mike (&Daisy;))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Was a great place ,extremley clean great service would recomend if you like a quiter area in bali personally i like the area it would be one of the better places ive stayed in my travels anywere in the world

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monster250450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks Monster,

That's very kind of you. Take care and be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#70 of 111 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#8 of 111 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
12.9 mi away
Pande Homestay
Pande Homestay
#20 of 111 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#18 of 111 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.5 mi away
Putu Guest House
Putu Guest House
#41 of 111 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Property: Homestay Bali Starling
Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing