We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #30 of 134 Canggu B&B and Inns
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As first-timers to Bali wanting a bit of surf and a bit of peace and quiet, Bali Starling Homestay fits the bill perfectly. The place itself is down a little lane and away from shops, main roads and the general madness of Seminyak and Kuta, although Seminyak is an easy scooter ride away. Canggu may eventually become the new Seminyak, but for now, it's on the edge between urban and countryside.
There are cafes and warungs in all directions, ranging from the wonderful vegetarian fare at Green Ginger Noodle Restaurant to crusty French bread at Monsieur Spoon at the intersection for Batubolong and Echo beaches. Great coffee everywhere, including at Bali Starling.
Therapy is the place for a massage at Echo Beach, a five minute bike ride away. We had the Panel Beater massage twice.
Lolak Surf School, very close by, has good surf instructors, although don't rely on texting to communicate with anyone. Much safer to use facebook chat as telecommunications seem a bit haphazard.
The complimentary use of the Canggu Club is great too - nice pool, food, and a fully equipped gym just in case you feel like a workout.
The homestay is under new ownership but fear not, the excellent breakfasts continue and Beryl is a more than worthy successor for Mike, who spectacularly failed to give her any of the details of our arrival or to organise any of the things he said he would. She put all of this right within our first morning and was an unfailingly helpful and generous host. (memo to Mike: disappointing performance for a guy who presumably marketed the homestay for sale on the basis of the very high service ratings on Tripadvisor - a very unfair situation to leave Beryl in, but one that she rose to brilliantly).
Thanks Beryl and J for a great stay. Bali Starling was exactly what we were after. P.S. - it's not only spotlessly clean and friendly, but also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is very little difference in cost for one of the larger rooms, which has its own couch, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smichols2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked two rooms here for three nights and were very pleased with our stay. Mike was pleasant and professional and he and his team ensured that Homestay Bali Starling was always welcoming and never stiff and overbearing. The rooms are large and spacious and the place exuded a tranquil air that was refreshing after a busy day battling the tight traffic and squeezing with the crowds at tourist spots. Although the location was in a quiet part of Canggu, it was far from isolated - a short relaxing walk will lead one to the street where nice cafes like Green Ginger are located so even without a scooter we did not feel handicapped. As have been repeatedly mentioned in the reviews, the breakfast was wonderful and homemade - certainly a highlight of our stay. The WIFI connection in the room was also very stable and more than adequate, which is something that one should not take for granted in Bali! I speak from experience as I had actually paid for Telkomsel's internet connection and it was intermittent at best, so the great WIFI connection was a real boon for those of us who have to do the odd piece of work or two while on holiday.

One tip I would give guests would be that because this is a homestay/B&B and not a hotel, the amenities provided are very basic and you should bring your own to avoid being unduly disappointed; just thought I would highlight this to temper expectations. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return when we come back to Bali. Highly recommended and quite unbeatable for value at this price point!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrande80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for for four nights and would certainly come back! Mike is fantastic, he arranged our airport pick-up for a reasonable cost and gave us a great welcome! The location is a little walk away from places to eat (about 1km) but scooters can be hired cheaply (we however didn't bring an international driving licence and didn't want to risk it) we walked everywhere without issue (although do bring a torch as there is little/no street lighting and no pavements).
The breakfasts are fantastic, my wife recommends the pancakes! The room was clean and very big with a huge bathroom. The canggu club is superb, great gym and pool which we made lots of use of, it certainly makes the room rate an utter bargain (if you make use of them!). The communal roof terrace amazing, such a nice space to plan your next days activities or just relax.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My family stayed at Bali Starling for 5 days last month and cannot speak highly enough of Mike, the owner, and his superb homestay. The decor is lovely and the views out to the rice paddies are beautiful. Everyone mentions the breakfasts on their reviews and they really are fantastic - wide selection of choices, delicious ingredients and freshly prepared to order when you get up in the morning! I think we worked our way through all the selections during our stay and toughest decision was which one to choose for the next morning!

Travelling with our two young children we really appreciated the spacious room - plenty of space for 2 travel cots and access to the Canggu club was brilliant - we went there every day to make the most of the pool and great kids amenities. It was a 15 minute walk there - along the side of fairly busy roads but perfectly do-able for us with a buggy and we appreciated the swim to cool off at the end!

We cannot speak highly enough of Mike - his hospitality and helpfulness really was over and above - he was happy to share lots of advice, tips, hints and really helped us out with lots and lots of questions! Thanks so much and we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Mike and the Bali Starling Homestay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Mike and his wife have created a beautiful lovely place at the Bali Starling Homestay. It's close to Kuta and at the same time away from the crowd and the busy areas, perfect to resource oneself. The breakfast are just awesome and the owners really friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it to anyone who look for a nice, affordable and stylish accommodation in Bali.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife stayed at this lovely homestay recommended by the good reviews I had. And I have to say q not disappoint us. The place is beautiful in the heart of Canggu, surrounded by rice fields. The decor is tastefully done and the breakfast is great. Absolutely not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bali Starling Homestay for a week at the end of March and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Mike, the owner, was an excellent host and prepared a delicious breakfast for us every morning. There was such an excellent selection for breakfast that most evenings my biggest concern was which one to choose. However, the full breakfast, avocado toast and buttermilk pancakes were very good. The rooms were large, cool and nicely decorated. They were cleaned every day to a good standard. The breakfast area was open plan with a large communal table and balcony overlooking greenery and blue sky. Mike was happy to organise a motorbike for us as well as our transport back to the airport.
Overall our stay was wonderful. We were a 5 minute motorbike ride from Berawa beach and about 10 minutes to Echo beach. I particularly wanted to be in this area because it is much quieter than being in the Kuta 'madness' and the location of the honestay was perfect for this. It was incredibly quiet and a welcome spot after coming from the noise and chaos of Jakarta.
If you are looking for great service, delicious food and nice spacious rooms then I can absolutely recommend this charming Homestay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.7 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.4 mi away
Big Brother Surf Inn
Big Brother Surf Inn
#13 of 134 in Canggu
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#4 of 134 in Canggu
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#16 of 134 in Canggu
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#81 of 134 in Canggu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Property: Homestay Bali Starling
Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Homestay Bali Starling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing