We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mote Surfstay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mote Surfstay
Ranked #18 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Les Gets, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

A very tranquil place, with a nice relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are nice and clean, there is wifi and a big pool, air con option too. The staff are great and the whole place is well maintained. A really good price for what you get. It is a little (2 min) scooter ride to the main canggu restaurants and beaches, which makes it quite peaceful. You have to travel to any restaurants as there isn't any in walking distance (not at night anyway), so they have a really great communal area with TV, DVD, some kitchen facilities and use of the fridge, water and coffee, which is a great option if you'd rather stay in or make it a bit cheaper. They hire scooters straight from the property at a good price which is another bonus. Overall, a very relaxed place. A must if you're staying in canggu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 87dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    22
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
51
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

After 4 months of non stop travelling around south east Asia, this was the place that made us not only stop for a complete month in Bali but also decide to come back afterwards to finish there our 6 months trip.
Lovely place, lovely people, extremely clean rooms and a great relaxed surfer atmosphere to make friends with whom hang out after a great surfing session. Having a swim at the nice pool while the sun is going down, with a beer in your hand and planning the next surf session with your new mate is a commom thing at Mote. Nice clean rooms, great commom area, espectacular bathroom, helpful owners, efficent staff and experienced surf instructors will do the rest for you to leave the place planning your next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We wanted a quiet base close to the beach and good food, but easy enough to get into Seminyak and stayed in the Bingin Suite of Mote Surf Stay for 3 weeks in November through to mid December. We were older than most other guests (an international group of young avid surfers) but are young at heart and love the sea, and were delighted to be in this great, friendly, relaxed environment. The Bingin Suite has its own kitchenette in addition to outdoor bathroom and was perfect for our needs. We used wifi in the communal area and the pool was perfect for a morning or evening dip. It was a 10 minute scooter ride to the surfing beaches of Batu Balong and Echo and Bali's fantastic food has found its way to Batu Balong in recent years, including delicious salads and wraps from Betelnut, authentic pastries from French baker M Spoon, tasty inexpensive nasi padang at Bu Mi, and great seafood at Echo Beach, and the list is growing. Mote and Martha have done a great job in creating this super chilled out, beautifully landscaped corner of Batu Bolong. The atmosphere is friendly and respectful and it was a joy to come back to after negotiating the traffic jams of Seminyak. Although most other guests seemed to be there to surf, we did not feel out of place at all and were certainly very welcome. Mote himself is a highly experienced surfer and also gives surf classes. One of us took a class and felt that as a novice, he could not have been in better hands. We would stay here again and highly recommend Mote Surf Stay to anyone looking for simple and good quality accommodation in Canggu with essential services and comfort but no frills.

Room Tip: The Bingin Suite is Mote Surf Stay's largest room which is self contained with outdoor bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had a great time staying at Mote earlier in November. I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my time there. It is clean and the pool is too. I got the room without tv, I thought it was going to be a problem, but without tv, you are forced to interact with other guests and it so much more fun than tv. I wish Mote provides stove or a microwave so the guests can make hot meal or reheat. Also perhaps the wifi can be put more towards the center of the homestay instead of in the kitchen, so the rooms in the back can get signal too.
I am waiting for confirmation for my booking at Mote for later this month. I am excited to return and I am bringing my friends there. See you soon!

Room Tip: Get room closer to the kitchen/common area to get better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueplanettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motesurf, Owner at Mote Surfstay, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello!
Thanks for your review and for your tips!!! we are going to study the possibility to get a powerful antena for our WiFi connection and get something better for our common area in order to help people to have their own breakfast of food.
We are open to listen to everyone here that help us to improve our place.
Thanks for choosing us, and we are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Mote Surf Stay was a hidden Gem. We had a hard time finding a nice, clean, cheap homestay. We found Mote online, and when we arrived we where greeted by a friendly member of staff. He offered us Air con, and had us settled in shortly after. Then he introduces us to Mote, the owner of he home stay. A very nice man from Spain. He informed us of the good surf spots, and fees for renting. He then arranged us means of transport. He had someone he knew bring us a motor bike to rent for a very reasonable price. From the staff to the company they hosted, the cleanliness to the overall vibe this place gave off, our experience was unforgettable and I would 100% encourage anyone and everyone to stay at Mote Surf Stay :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyjCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motesurf, Owner at Mote Surfstay, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us as your accomodation in Bali and we are more than happy to see that you really enjoy our stay and your stay in Bali.
Hope to have the chance to see you again here and from all my team we thank you and send you all the good vibes ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at Mote's Surfstay last month, November 2013. I was there for 3 weeks and absolutely loved it!!!!! Its new, clean,has beautiful rooms and the staff is amazing. First time for me in Bali. Mote the owner made it so easy to feel at home away from home. He arranged to have me picked up from the airport, arranged for all my transportation around the island and to Gili Island. He even gave me a few surf lessons!!! His staff is so friendly and helpful. It was wonderful to have the pool centered in the middle as it made meeting the other guests so easy. Even the landscaping around the pool is beautiful. I will definitely be staying here again when I go back in 2014. Thanks again Mote and your awesome staff!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 284emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I can highly recommend Mote´s place as it is clean and friendly.
It has all a simple traveller/surfer would wish for. The stuff is friendly and the owner a living legend. He gave me good advice about spots I havn´t surfed before although I have been to Bali about 8 times the last 10 years and was super stoked to rediscover the island once again.
The place is clean, close to the beach, got a pool and hot girls and boys tanning next to it.
Why waste time in searching for another place when you can have it all for reasonable price meeting all budgets. Motorbike are available easy too. Top Notch!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.6 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#4 of 255 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mote Surfstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mote Surfstay

Property: Mote Surfstay
Address: Jalan Batu Bolong 40, Canggu, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTE SURFSTAY was born as an idea in 2009 after living and enjoy the island of Bali for more than two years. This idea reaches maturity in 2012 where we opened its doors as an accommodation of "low cost" located in Canggu, just 2 minutes away from the famous and renowned beach of Echo Beach.Our Home-Stay or "surfstay" (as we liked to call it) is built around a traditional Balinese style, carefully constructed in order to not only to keep its traditional taste but to get the maximum comfort for their occupants.Our hotel has 15 rooms fully equipped with air conditioning, Wi-Fi, separate bathrooms with hot water and also offers large common areas with cable TV, kitchenette and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mote Surfstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mote Surfstay Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing