We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mind blowing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa The Sanctuary Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Ranked #19 of 250 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A mind blowing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We did a lot of the research in advance to book our holiday but nothing could prepare us for what this villa has on offer. It is simply mind blowing.

Only a walk around the massive grounds can make you understand how beautiful the villa really is. Thoughts will pop up the entire time and "WOW WOW WOW" will run non stop through your head.

The villa is set along a river in the jungle offering amazing views. There must have been great vision to build such amazing property. Everything fits perfectly together. When you see the pictures on the website it looks great but when you see and experience it for real, it gives it a total new dimension. Waking up in this piece of paradise was one of the most memorable experiences we ever had. It is true when they say: "the early morning has gold in its mouth". We felt magical vibes in this place.

Another reason to go is because of the spectacular staff. Ketut, the villa manager, is straight forward and punctual. His staff is extremely accommodating. We cannot complement the three butlers enough who gave our stay a 5-star service. Salam, Gede and Ayu attended to all our needs. Especially Salam is very knowledgable and a true hospitality professional.

A special thank you also to our two drivers, Nyoman and Marcel, who gave our holiday a little bit extra. They brought us anywhere we wanted at any time of the day. All was done with laughter and smile, a really good job done!

When we booked the villa we ordered a real Balinese buffet dinner to get right into the Balinese mood which bring me to my third reason to highlight this villa: the food is simply delicious! We had plan to go to some restaurants in Seminyak but ended up almost having all our meals here. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was a feast!

To sum up some highlights we really enjoyed the architecture and harmonious setting of the villa into nature, the amazing staff looking after it and the service, watching the rain forest and the river, the "WOW" feeling of this villa, the privacy and security in this huge property, and last but not least the food.

Villa The Sanctuary Bali is a true sanctuary. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Madam,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali!

It is great to read your excellent guest comment review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary Villa in February 2014 with a few friends who invited us along, it was our first time at a villa this size but our friends frequented Bali and have stayed at some of the best places there. From the moment we set foot on the property, we were absolutely blown away and so were they! We all fell in love with the peaceful retreat this villa offered. Set away from the hustle and bustle, it was the perfect place to unwind and relax, it was much needed at the time! The staff are first class, super warm and friendly and arranged everything for us. Nothing was impossible for them. We are vegan/vegetarians and the chef was so good, he created a special menu for us down to the the fluffiest eggless pancakes we've had! Both kids and adults were impressed. When you come here, you really want to make the most of the villa facilities and enjoy a restful time amongst friends and family. Massages at the Bale overlooking the raging river was just bliss! The massive POOL! omg - heaven. The kids swam for hours until they were all shrivelled up. Movie nights in the spacious and airconditioned media room was another fave spot for all. Love the backlit glass wall behind the TV! The guys specially loved their day trips with the villa driver to the nearest surf beaches. We definitely had a memorable time here. There was something for everyone. We hope to return with an even bigger party of friends next time, watch out Ketut! We can't highly recommend the Sanctuary enough. Thanks Frank for all your help with our stay!

Room Tip: All rooms were good but we liked the rooms closest to the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Stephanie,

thank you very much to stay with us and to take your time to write this raving review on Tripadvisor. I can’t possibly think of adding any comment and will make sure all our staff reads your review as it only confirms what we try to achieve for our guest.

They work very hard and passionate to deliver the best possible service.

We look very much forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I decided to stay at The Sanctuary with a group of friends and family to celebrate my 40th birthday in March 2014. In total we stayed for 4 nights with the 'party' taking place on our 3rd night there. I have stayed in many places before, including private villas in Bali, Pacific Islands, Thailand, etc… but never have I seen a place with the quality of The Sanctuary. The sheer scale of the place is enormous and the design is impeccable. The staff were very helpful, attentive but also discreet. The meal situations were made very easy and at the end of the 4 days we received a bill that was ridiculously cheap considering the amount of food and liquids consumed. The party was a great success and The Sanctuary helped to facilitate the external caterers and DJ that I hired separately.

The only thing I would point out is the 'Romantic Bale' room is significantly smaller than the other villas and the people in that villa may be a little disappointed when they see the size and quality of the other rooms in comparison, so you may want to charge them a smaller rate than others in your group if you decide to book out the whole place like we did. We also had over 30 people so needed a villa nearby, and Villa Maya accommodated the extended group very well, although the quality was nowhere near the level of The Sanctuary (but price - appropriate).

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate recommending The Sanctuary to anyone. I just hope I can return one day to this stunning place !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billyboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Bill,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

Thank you to stay with us for your 40th birthday party. It is heartwarming to read our service was excellent and our villa was impeccable.

I am very happy we could help you with the smaller details of your party. It was amazing!

Thank you to point out the “Romantic Bedroom” is significantly smaller than the other bedrooms. We refer to this particular bedroom on our website as bedroom number 8 under the accommodation section. It is mentioned here on our website this bedroom is smaller in size. Please allow me to clarify that if we have guest who prefer to split up the total cost of the villa over the amount of bedrooms, we provide a guideline of the value of these different bedrooms which makes it easy for each guest to pay their share. In this guideline you will find the value of bedroom number 8 significantly lower than the other bedrooms.

If there is anything else you feel we can help you with please don’t hesitate to email us on info@villathesanctuarybali.com

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment you step into the grounds at Villa the Sanctuary you are treated with the warmest of hospitality in a truly stunning setting. I defy you to feel anything other than utterly spoilt and relaxed within the peaceful and elegant surrounds. Our party was a group of friends looking to relax and connect and Villa The Sanctuary provided the perfect environment. Frank is a generous and thoughtful host with a discreet and attentive team who do all they can to make your stay a truly special. I would recommend Villa The Sanctuary for anyone who is seeking an extraordinary experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Donna,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and that our services and facilities met all your expectations.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us as it is only through such comments we are able to lay the foundation for the future.

On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you once again for choosing Villa The Sanctuary Bali, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.

Kindest regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Every year we travel with our family to an exotic destination and rent a fully serviced private villa.
This year we decided to go to Bali and choose to stay in Villa The Sanctuary Bali based on the pictures of their website.
From the moment we arrived we were in awe! We never encountered such a “WOW” before. Villa The Sanctuary Bali is the true definition of paradise. The house is absolutely stunning. The design style and architecture were breathtaking. The whole property is huge! It seems like there is no end to it. You must come and see to believe it.
The staff took fabulous care of us! They were so much fun to be around. The villa manager ( Ketut ) made sure our stay was better than we could ever have imagined. He is an amazing and extremely sweet person and will try to do everything you wish for. Everything was well organized. The assistant villa manager Salam is knowledgeable and gives the service a five star touch.
As for the food – we were really surprised how delicious each plate was. Thank you to their chefs Nyoman and Gede. They gave our holiday that little bit extra.
Overall, the best place you can choose to stay with a large group! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Villa The Sanctuary Bali was amazing due to staff and location. We loved the privacy and tranquility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Andrea,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

Your feedback makes us smile and I would like to thank you to share your villa experience with us on Tripadvisor.

All the best for you and your family and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, this villa felt like a home away from home. The staff were always attentive, amazing food and what a location!!! We came to Villa The Sanctuary Bali to enjoy luxury and relaxation with our families and friends. We got sooo much more......... What a wonderful unspoilt place.

The staff were, without exception, most polite, always smiling and friendly. They got to know you and they certainly looked out for your every need. For example, when we wanted to take a trip to Ubud, they arranged everything and told the driver the places to stop off at, and he was very happy to give us all the time we needed at the monkey forest, the market and a dance performance. We also took some trips into Seminyak and we never had to worry about anything. Bookings were made and the hot spots were clear.

I’ve been a cook and I can say that the quality of food was high level. Everything the cooks prepared was delicious. We also ordered some dishes on special request which were not on the menu and these came out surprisingly good. Our highlight was a lobster night which was prepared with live cooking in the dining room on the barbeque. The chefs bought it on the wet market in Jimbaran in the morning and they were still alive and fresh before they started to prepare our dinner.

The rooms were delightful, huge and airy. I have to say it truly brought home to us the warmth of welcome, quality of service and attention to detail we had here. The experience was absolutely and totally excellent… The only bad moment we had, was the moment we had to leave…

Room Tip: I recommend to pick your room BEFORE YOU EVEN GO. They are all perfectly described on their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeleynN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Nils,

thank you for taking the time to share your memorable stay with us at Villa The Sanctuary Bali. It is good to see our passionate work results into this excellent review.

We are very glad and proud to know you enjoyed your villa experience and we look forward to welcome you back at Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

Please feel free to contact us via email at info@villathesanctuarybali.com if you need further assistance regarding a future stay or any matter related to Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

Thank you and warm regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We just spent a week hanging out at Villa The Sanctuary Bali in January 2014. Certainly the Villa is so much nicer than it even looks in the pictures. The villa, the gardens, and I think what we found most amazing was Ketut and the staff just could not do enough for you - if you asked for it - they got it or done it for you (whether it was shopping, massages, bookings, food, etcetc) nothing was ever any trouble. And the food was excellent as well. Congratulations and thank you to all, what an amazing professional and friendly group of staff.


For us, this was a family holiday experience to remember. We were 2 families totaling 19. To be able to be all be together in one lovely place and to be spoilt and treated by the staff was unforgettable. We truly loved lounging around the wonderful pool areas and living areas. It was ideal: plenty of room for all of us. The villa itself was in immaculate condition.

We couldn't have wished for a better place to be! You guys allowed us to enjoy our stay in Bali as best as we could!

Thanks again to the very helpful staff. It was difficult to leave, we will be back.

DATE OF STAY: JANUARY 2014

ROOM TIP: The villa is a mere 25 minutes drive from Seminyak so you can enjoy luxury amidst nature and still be close to the hustle and bustle. Perfect location!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirkVdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Dirk,

Warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali!

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and your positive feedback will certainly motivate us further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Villa The Sanctuary Bali in the near future.

Kind regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
3.5 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abalihouse
Abalihouse
#27 of 250 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Infinity Bali
Villa Infinity Bali
#65 of 250 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Moksha Boutique Resort
1.7 mi away
The Zala Villa Bali
The Zala Villa Bali
#10 of 250 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa The Sanctuary Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa The Sanctuary Bali

Property: Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Address: Jalan Desa Cepaka, Canggu 80351, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 250 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa The Sanctuary Bali is a private boutique resort accommodating 10 bedrooms offering 5 star luxury with a spectacular location in the middle of the jungle along an impressive river. Villa The Sanctuary Bali is perfect for large groups of 12 - 36 guests. It offers unobstructed infinity views with a lush backdrop. Villa The Sanctuary Bali is an exclusive oasis 5 minutes from the beach. It offers total privacy, yet is still very close to Seminyak. It takes maximum 25 minutes to get to Seminyak. Villa The Sanctuary Bali is professionally managed and employs 27 staff members including villa manager, assistant villa manager, cooks, butlers, drivers, housekeeping, gardening, maintenance, technician and 24 H security. Villa The Sanctuary Bali is specialised in family gatherings, weddings, events and reunions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa The Sanctuary Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing