We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic bungalows, Modern touches , Great owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Calm Tree Bungalow
Ranked #2 of 144 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Was told by a friend , a new place had just opened up . I was looking for a place to stay, that was different , and this absolutely was it.Great location close to surf , 1minute on scooter to worldclass breaks , Old Mans, Echo Beach , Tugu. Right behind amazing Beetlenut Restaurant, that has the most amazing mix of fresh food and drinks , not forgetting the really large section of in house breakfast items they include, to fill the biggest stomachs!
Thoughtful touches , like reading lights in rooms , cool mix of traditional structures , along with young owners cool, hip touches , like vivid blues and greens in bathroom ,relaxing wet edge pool area, provide a great combination of old and new.

Owner , Gede, is amazingly friendly , and what he doesn't know or cannot provide , is more than made up by his enthusiasm to solve any request or problem , that comes along.

Recommend it to all , who are looking for great value , very friendly service, new place ,traditional style place to base your selves out in the Canggu area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Calmtree Bungalows is probably the best Canggu option for surfers who are on a budget. When I first set foot into this beautifully arranged place I knew this is where I wanted to stay. The superb cottages are circling the pool which results in a nice community feeling. The rooms have top notch matresses and a big ensuite outdoor bathroom with cold and hot shower. Each Bungalow has a little terrasse where you can relax on a small daybed. The rooms have no AC but a fan and good mosquito nets so you don't have to leave the comfort zone at Calmtree Bungalows.

Gede, the owner, offers you the charm of a homestay. Always a smile on his face he took care of all my questions right away (when I asked for a rental scooter it took 5 min and the ride was there).

Breakfast is yummie and within 1-10min you have stunning little restaurants with local and western food (Betelnut Café is 50m away). In June the best spa in town (Golddust) will move right next door. The best surf breaks are closeby, Echo Beach e.g. is just 5min scooter ride away. Gede is a known local surfer (who used to work for years as a surf instructor) so he will be happy to hook you up with experienced and reliable locals for your surf sessions.

Seminyak is around 20min and Ubud around an hour by scooter away from Canggu so the Calmtree Bungalows are also a good base for exploring Bali.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stumbled upon the bungalows before they had officially opened. We had been in search of a villa to share with friends but they were either super expensive or a dingy backpacker room. Calmtree was the perfect inbetween. A beautiful accomodation at affordable prices.

The bungalows are made of beautiful wood and the bed was comfier than my bed at home. You can tell Gede the owner has put a lot of thought into the design. The pool in the middle of the bungalows is perfect for a dip when you get too hot.

Gede and his team are so unbelievably friendly and helpful. They helped us organise scooters, surf lessons and even baked my partner a birthday cake for his birthday!

The rooms are cleaned every day and you have a safe in your room. Breakfast is also included and you have a choice of lots of different dishes.

We stayed 10 days and could have stayed here another 3 weeks if our plans had allowed us to.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough for surfers wanting to be close to Batubulong and Echo beach and it is also great for non surfers!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamburg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stéphane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank krystytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Niani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
295
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.3 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.1 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.7 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.7 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Calm Tree Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calm Tree Bungalow

Address: Jalan Pantai Batu Bolong No. 60, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: £29 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Calm Tree Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calmtree Bungalows offers a tropical retreat steps away from Tugu Beach. It houses an outdoor pool and wooden bungalows with thatched roofs. Free Wifi is accessible in all areas and free on-site parking is provided.Echo Beach surf spot is just a 3-minute drive away, while Seminyak area is 30 minutes' drive from The Calm Tree Bungalows. It takes 40 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property.The charming bungalows feature mosquito nets and a private terrace overlooking the pool and greenery. Hot shower facilities are available in the colourful bathrooms.Area shuttles and vehicle rental are offered for those who wish to explore the area. Staff can provide laundry and room services at extra charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Calm Tree Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calm Tree Bungalow Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing