We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and even better host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Calm Tree Bungalow
Ranked #8 of 109 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay and even better host”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Calmtree bungalows were a very enjoyable stay for my wife and I. We have been to Bali many times before and it was so nice to stay in a relaxed, clean, friendly and affordable hotel in Canggu, Bali. It is only 10minutes walk to the beach with a nice cafe close by. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the arrangement of tall the rooms around the centre pool was also very enjoyable. The Manager Dede was very kind and helpful during our stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
37
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at Calmtree for 6 nights. Into our 3rd day here. Everything has been awesome. Perfect location within 5 mins walk to Echo/canggu beach, 1 min on scooter (rent one at Calmtree reception!). Staff are so nice and friendly, good breakfast and bungalows are always clean and made-up every day. Taxi into seminyak for dinner is about 20 mins (sometimes 30mins cause of traffic) but on scooter about 15 mins. Almost didn't want to review. Quiet and small. Very nice.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ausadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The Calm Tree Bunglow lives up to its name. Relaxing, calm and rustic! The rooms are rustic yet clean and the novelty open air bathrooms are a great touch. Great location for the beach and surf and close to some good restaurants and bars - make sure you make it down/find Echo beach for some sundowners and fresh seafood, great atmosphere! The staff are so warm and welcoming and the breakfasts are very good too. Highly recommended for a rustic, relaxed experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked our first 3 nights in Bali at this hotel. The staff is very nice, the prices super cool and the breakfast very good. The place is calm far from the crowded Kuta and Seminyak. Some nice restaurants at walking distance. The only point is that the water in our bungalow wasn't very hot.
We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We love this place so much I almost don't want to review it! This is a real gem, everything about it just sings relax. Everything you need and nothing you don't. Great restaurants nearby. Close to beach. Amazing staff. Good surf. We have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Gede and his team are amazing. They are so friendly, helpful and just a delight to be around. The bungalows are a bit rustic, but very charming and just perfect for a place like Canggu with all the rice paddies.
I celebrated my birthday in Bali and Gede arranged beautiful flowers and even suprised me with a cake. It is just a notch above any other hospitality (which already is great in Bali in general).
We can only recommend the Calm Tree Bungalows: Very good value, personal, caring, clean rooms and helpful support in any matters (surf lessons, taxis, general questions).
Some might say it the rooms should have aircon, but I felt that if you air the room plenty before going you go to sleep it is just fine. We also loved the outdoor bathrooms.

We definitely will be back and keep on recommending this gem. Thank you Gede and team, you are amazing!

Our favourite restaurant in Canggu, the Betelnut, is just 15m away - very handy indeed, with that and it's close walking distance to the beach one couldn't find a better spot to be!

If you fancy the best surf lesson or guiding, ask Gede to put you in touch with Windu. We have had many surf instructors, but Windu is a level above anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

the calm tree really made our holiday in bali , it was everything we needed . we found it through a good friend , we booked 5 nights but after we had stayed one day we decided to book the full 2 weeks until leaving !
the staff are amazing very helpfull and always friendly and helpful the owner gede , the same , very nice people ,very welcoming and just such a pleasure to be around !
very nice bungalows , super clean , nice design nice little touches everywhere , lovely swimming pool good breakfast and the location is great too !

THANKYOU SO MUCH CALM TREE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.7 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.5 mi away
The Bali Dream Villa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Calm Tree Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calm Tree Bungalow

Property: The Calm Tree Bungalow
Address: Jalan Pantai Batu Bolong No. 60, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Calm Tree Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calmtree Bungalows offers a tropical retreat steps away from Tugu Beach. It houses an outdoor pool and wooden bungalows with thatched roofs. Free Wifi is accessible in all areas and free on-site parking is provided.Echo Beach surf spot is just a 3-minute drive away, while Seminyak area is 30 minutes' drive from The Calm Tree Bungalows. It takes 40 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property.The charming bungalows feature mosquito nets and a private terrace overlooking the pool and greenery. Hot shower facilities are available in the colourful bathrooms.Area shuttles and vehicle rental are offered for those who wish to explore the area. Staff can provide laundry and room services at extra charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Calm Tree Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calm Tree Bungalow Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing