We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not traditional Mexican, but the food is good”
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
Ranked #10 of 245 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We use as much as possible organic fruit and vegetables and wash them in purified water. Ice cubes are made of mineral water and we fry our gluten free Tacos and Corn Chips several times daily in cholesterol free Coconut Oil ! Enjoy your dinner ( we also have Vegetarian options) with great cocktails and sub-zero cooled beers served in a ice-bucket, in our unique and amazing Mexican cactus garden. Unlike many other restaurants, most of our food ingredients are imported from Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the United States and therefore subject to high import taxes and transportation costs. But we are still able to prepare large, delicious meals for a very moderate price. Our team hopes to welcome you soon in " LA MEXICANA " all week from 4pm-10pm.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not traditional Mexican, but the food is good”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Food was really good and the value is also very good. The location is the hard part, when you look at the map it's on Jalan raya canggu about half way between Jalan raya padanan and Jalan raya kerobokan. Just hang a left if coming up kerobokan from seminyak. Nachos are great, salads have great dressing and the big combo platter is awesome. The setting is half outdoor half indoor clean and inviting. The service was very friendly and would recommend to anyone. If you want Mexican in Asia, this is a good spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    103
    37
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real Tex-Mex!! Delicious Food and amazing service!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After a day trip to Tanah Lot, I was driving back to Seminyak and happened to see the sign for La Mexicana. Being from Texas, I've been having mexican food withdrawals for quite a while so I decided to pull into this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised! The menu is a true Tex-Mex menu that offers everything from nachos to tacos, and even enchiladas which can be difficult to find here in Bali. The food is absolutely amazing, well prepared, nicely seasoned, and delivered in a nice presentation. The margaritas are delicious and are not ruined by too much sweet and sour mix like most margaritas in Mexican restaurants. The restaurant has a true Mexican Cantina atmosphere and the owners are extremely warm and friendly, and have taught their staff how to provide excellent customer service. I would definitely recommend La Mexican to anyone who is a fan a good, authentic Tex Mex fan or who may be trying Mexican food for the first time!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent and worth to try”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I love Mexican foods. I never have good Mexican foods in Indonesia but this restaurant provide excellent foods. I went couple times and I still found it was goods. Quesadillas, Baja prawn tacos, corn chips with 3 dips were so amazing delicious. My husband ate Chmichangas and he found it was super good. The service good standard. The ambiance is cozy. Bottom line was excellent. Recommended. It is good Mexican foods ever in Indonesia. Congratulations for the family owner

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Mexican gem in Canggu”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really good food, great little garden - definitely a hidden gem. The cocktails weren't amazing but the food and venue were excellent, very clean, great style to it. Take some friends - good sharing food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BamBamMantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food with huge portions to wet your appetite.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Certainly the best Mexican food I have ever tried in Asia. Beautiful Mexican decorated environment. Friendly and communicative staffs. Nice air at night in cactus park. And real Mexican taste!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chattiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing