We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice budget hotel with minor hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel, and overall it was a good experience. The hotel is very nice, brand new (built 2013) and the rooms are correctly furnished and very nicely lit. Bathroom is great, shower takes a while to get hot water from, but it works.Cleaning is very thorough every day. Fridge and safe were included in our room.

Location is a bit far away from Kuta and Seminyak. You cannot walk the distance, best to take a hotel shuttle, a taxi or rent a car or scooter. There is supposed to be a twice-a-day shuttle to Seminyak, but it only goes one way, and sometimes, if the shuttle is used for other purposes, the trip is not available.

The beach nearby is Echo Beach, which is a surf beach, with massive waves and black (volcanic?) sand. Not the most beautiful beach around. It is good for surfers, I guess.

Service is great, room service is cheap, and they accomodate extra requests. They even gave me a piece of cake for my birthday, which was a pleasant surprise.

There's breakfast included, which is from 6:30-10:00, which is great if you want to sleep in. Food is plenty and delicious.

The only thing that we found lacking was the Wifi. It kept dropping us off the network, and it was not suitable for anything else but email and basic browsing. You could not watch a youtube video on it. Even uploading pictures was a drag. I deducted one star because of this. I do not think this is a general problem in Bali, as we used a number of free wifi outlets in the city, and the speed was fine.

Give this area 5-10 years and it will be developed as Kuta or Legian. If you need a more quiet place, and don't mind the additional cost of transport, this is the place for you. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view. The rooms with the pool view are on the ground floor, and overlook...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crovaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear My Friend Crovaxxx,

Thank you for your positive review about FRii Bali Echo Beach

We are very happy to read that you have a pleasant story during your stay with us

Thank you for sharing and we do look forward to surf you again in the near future


Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there with friends. All bathrooms had a very strong smell (particularly at night and in the morning) and the staff was unable to get rid of it. Nobody was responsible when somebody made a complaint ("I have to call my supervisor") and he/she wasn't able to help either.
Met some people who had problems with the safety box (couldn't enter their code anymore because somebody had opened it with a master key) and some money was missing. Report to the reception didn't help. I heard that one guy nearly got kicked out by hotel security for reporting the theft in July. And of course nobody wants to get the police involved in Indonesia
.
We stayed on the second floor (view not spectacular), good breakfast on the roof. No good feeling staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear C J,

FRIi welcomes you home!

Thank you for staying in our hotel, we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. First able let us review your feedback:

- For the smell of the bathroom we already tried to withdraw with coffee and charcoal. We still trying to withdraw with other method
- Every guest complains will be solving by Hotel Management automatically. Staff need consultation to their next step level to get the best solution, that is hotel standard operation
- For safe deposit box that couldn't enter their code, for your information the hotel management cannot open the safe deposit box once the guest has change or put in the code/password because that is your personal number code. IF hotel open with master code all the last code will be reset automatically and of course after that you cannot open it by your pin code. Master code and master key just keep and own by our Hotel Manager
- The management has already given the best solution on 13 July by helping reported and drop to police station the loss report from room that made loss report to the police few already make report and they already did the investigation regarding the issue and of course we need the cooperation to solve the problem with all guest, hotel management and police
- We just got report money was missing from 1 person and we have help him to report the police but they didn't cooperative, other guest is forget to count his expenses and talk he was missing his money

Once again we do apologize
Thank you for sharing
Enjoy!

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Been here for 2 weeks and I enjoyed my stay. The hotel just opend in April, it's all really new, clean and the rooms are nice with a good style. The hotel is really close to the ocean and it's really quiet. The pools were nice and the rooftop restaurant is lovely. Was beautiful to have the breakfast buffet there every morning with the view on the ocean. The stuff is really friendly and I met a lot of nice people at the hotel. Sometimes the bathroom was smelling little bit weird but other than that everything was great.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Hotelgast322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear My Friend Hotelgast322,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are having a great story during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing and we look forward to surf you again in the near future

Thank you

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In the middle of the night people talk, laugh and listen to music while others are sleeping. The hotel staff is unable to let this people stop. Moreover, at any time of the day and of the night, phones start ringing very loud, with no interruption. Early morning surfers can't come here!!!

1  Thank Eliano A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Eliano,

FRii welcomes you home!

thank you for staying in our hotel, we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. First able let us review your feedback:

- For the noise in the middle of the night, we already tried inform to turn down the volume of music and minimize the noise from the next room to our guest

- For the beep of the telephone, the network was problem and now we have solved the problem to put roster for the phone in each rooms and still progress by vendor

Once again we do apologize for the inconvenient

Thank you
Enjoy!

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel is new, the rooms are clean en nice. A good hot shower.
The breakfast is also good for that price.
hotel is near to the beach end restaurants. Its a nice quite place to stay not so bussy as kuta,..
But everything extra you ask they charge.

Near to the hotel is a verry good place to eat. The place is susi homestay end cafe. The food is verry fresh, end cheap. Not so cossy but verry good food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joke855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear My Friend Joke885,

Thank you for your post about FRii Bali Echo Beach, we do appreciate for your review

We are very pleased to read that you have a pleasant story during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing and we look forward to surf you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to bali with friends for a retreat and we notice this new hotel via online, looks nice and far from crowded place like Kuta & Legian (but not very far, it took only 20 minutes).
So we decided to stay here for a night (curious, what would the ambiance at night). A nice simple hotel with a nice rice field view and you can see panoramic view of the ocean.
We enjoyed the stary night, we did the stargazing at the top, the restaurant was not too crowded but many people enjoying the speechless night. But hey.. they also have a bar upstairs, getting bored with the stars then we moved to the bar, enjoy beers cocktails till midnite (small private party)
I think this can be a good option for you if you get bored with seminyak, ubud or else, Canggu/echo beach maybe a good option, you can enjoy a very nice retreat there.
Thank you for the bar staff who accompanied us through the night, especially the manager (forgot the name) who gave these 3 gals a complimentary drink, thanks for your hospitality. (*tips: find the manager, ask for a discount =p)
We booked through official website, they offer interesting package but sadly we only stay for 2 night there.. hope the package still available when we back next month.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aritania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear My Friend Aritania,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you have a pleasant stay with us, we also appreciate for writing about our convenient location.

Thank you for sharing and we look forward to surf you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Do not stay in this hotel! 5 different people who I had never met before all had money stolen from a locked safety deposit box!
That in itself was annoying and the crime was reported to the police. However, the truly terrible response was from the hotel staff who basically accused all 5 of us of lying about the money and made no effort at all to help. They didn't even apologize!
I have traveled over 40 countries and stayed in hundreds of hotels and I have never had an experience as bad as this before. An absolute disgrace!
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you don't like being robbed from a locked safety box.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank e R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear My Friend Benjamin,

Thank you for staying in our hotel, we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. First able let us review your feedback:

- We apologize for this unwanted issue, that your money was suspected missing from Safe Deposit Box in your room. For your information, the hotel management cannot open the safe deposit box once the guest has change or put in the code/password because that is your personal number code. If hotel open with master code all the last code will be reset automatically and of course after that you cannot open it by your pin code

- The management apologizes for the unpleasant staying and we did accompanying you to the police station accompany by Chief Security for do the loss report / thief report (Sunday 13 July 2014) directly after you report loss of your fund. The police already did investigate regarding this issue. And you made the investigation too by yourself before go to the police station accompany by Manager On Duty. However, he is represent the Hotel Manager on that day

- Based on your case, hotel was given you the best solution with room bill charge that you must paid because you have book a package but you didn't have good cooperation to finalize the guest bill. However we would like to say sorry for what happened.

Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenient

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the best

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.7 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.0 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 38 in Canggu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#17 of 38 in Canggu
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 38 in Canggu
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel

Address: Jl Munduk Catu No.32, Batu Bolong, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#9 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: £27 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FRii Bali Echo Beach, a True Home for Those Who Crave the Surfing Adventure. FRii Bali Echo Beach is a Unique Stay (Thematic Hotel) under FRii Hotels Brand which developed by PHM Hospitality. Located close to Bali's beautiful coastline at North Seminyak area, Canggu, FRii Bali Echo Beach makes it easy for the surfers to catch some waves as it is within 5 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance to Echo Beach that is known as one of the best surfing spots in Bali Island. It's a true home for those who crave the surfing adventure. FRii Bali Echo Beach features 77 Unique Rooms encompassing of FRii Room, FRii Ocean View, FRii Pool Access, FRii Pool View, and FRii Family. All rooms are completed with LED TV with International channels, mini bar, coffee & tea maker, and bathroom with shower. For dining option, the hotel offers Seaduction Food | Rooftop | Bar which serving Western, Asian, and Indonesian food where all guests can enjoy and chill out with ocean view. Other facilities include 2 swimming pools with a pool bar, free Wi-Fi access at all hotel area and internet corner, surfboards locker area, surfboards rental & surf lesson, surf retail store, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing