We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Decent 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

A decent 3 star hotel. Very good breakfast and restaurant. Nice location, far away from the traffic of Kuta. Rooms are small. Staff willing to help however inexperienced enough to provide the proper solution on time and not very good skills of English language. WiFi very poor.

Room Tip: Better option rooms with sea view, less noise and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Theo M,

FRii welcomes you home!

We thank you for the reviews that have been given during your stay at our place and apologize if we did not meet your expectation. First able let us answer your review:

- Thank you for your compliment to our breakfast and restaurant

- We apologize for the ability of our staff language in English, we still provide the proper English lesson for them and we still trained them to be more experience in hospitality industry and ask their leader first about how to solve problem

- We would like to inform you, we have different bandwidth between Indonesia and Europe. Our bandwidth is 382kbps/second. The best connection is at lobby, bar & resto, and pool area and in the afternoon because almost of our guest already back to the hotel, so the bandwidth will be more slower

Thank you for sharing

Enjoy,

Zulyanto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    123
    46
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
105
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had initially booked two nights here but loved the vibe and atmosphere so extended for an extra two. Because it is a relatively new hotel, the staff are falling over themselves to be helpful and accommodating, everyone here was lovely. The view from the third floor and rooftop is so beautiful and a perfect place to have breakfast or a beer in the afternoon. Location is perfect, a short walk to echo beach, deus ex machina, shops and cute cafés and only about 1 and a half km's from Old Mans. The rooms are on the small side but have everything you could need and are very clean, the second and third floor rooms catch the light all day and whether chilling on your ocean view balcony or in your room you just feel super chilled and peaceful. Felt at home here and really can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear BJette,

FRii welcomes you home!

Thank you for your time for writing positive review about FRii Bali Echo Beach.

We are always pleased to serve our guests with heart, and their satisfaction is also our expectation

We are looking forward to surf you again in the next future

Thank you for sharing
Enjoy!


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I visited friends who were staying here and advised them to leave. Filthy tiles and mould in the bathrooms. Terrible smells and brown dripping liquids coming from walls in bathroom. Staff were all young limited trained people who were in over their heads in trying to solve the disgusting bathroom problem. Dark stairs with no hand rails. This is a surfer backpacker hostel not a hotel. New yes but inferior construction. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaiNai38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear NaiNai38,

FRii welcomes you home!

We thank you for the reviews that have been given to our place and apologize if we did not meet your expectation. First able let us answer your review:

- For the filthy and mold in bathroom, our housekeeping staff is always clean the bathroom every day, and they are ready any time because our housekeeping are standby hours. The glue glass is stain by cement (black color) and it isn't mold, I hope you can understand about the case

- If we get the information before about the uncomfortable bathroom of course the hotel will move the guest soonest and immediately

- For your friend on room #207 we have we told and give the best choice to the guest directly

- We provide lamp in each stairs and we do have hand rails on our stairs

- Yes our hotel provides for surfer and younger that’s why the design are to fulfill their needs with simplicity, cozy with nice bed/mattress. We apologize if you with your family are get the expectation as family hotel

Once again we do apologize and thank you for sharing

Enjoy,

Zulyanto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were checking in around 9 pm and told cannot enter the room because their card key machine were broken. Had to wait 15 minutes then we decided to ask them to get us in using their master key because we were so tired. One of staff escorted us to the room in the 3rd floor. Apparently when we arrived there was a DnD sign on the door indicated there was another guest occupied the room. The staff contacting the reception through HT and found out that the reception were wrongly told our room number! You can imagine what will happen when the DnD sign was not there. Finally we got in our room and couples of minutes later someone knock the door impolite, not showing a hospitality, giving us the card key.

The room was okay, like the simplicity of the interios, no slipper, small bathroom, a colourful handsoap and shampoo/soap. We booked seaview room which was a correct choice.

The breakfast quite good, located on the 4th floor with a great seaview. Too bad the staff were gather in the egg station, chatting with no one stand by in the seating area for a while. Actually, the hotel could have been better if they can improve a lot in the guest services area. Although the room price were affordable, was it equal to the service their giving of?

Room Tip: Choose seaview room to guarantee a good sleep without noise from people swimming at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Momoid,

FRii welcomes you home!

We thank you for the reviews that have been given during your stay at our place and apologize if we did not meet your expectation. First able let us answer your review:

- We have Check in Standard Operation Procedure to copying all data from our guest to be kept as our files and we didn't find your name. If you ever stay at our hotel, kindly inform us your room number and your period of stay

- We are sorry about the staff attitudes; we have given warning and discipline about the issue. If we find the spot we will give that. thank you for your attention and care

- Some of the key is having problems and occur in a certain period; we tried to improve on the quality of the key card. Due to design a special key on our hotel, we do apologize for the mistaken room numbering. There was miss-communication between our staff and we already talked to the Department head to train their staff to be more details. Because we didn't know your real name and it makes difficult to us for trace the problem and give reprimand to the impolite staff , if we know your room number I hope the issue will be solve

Once again we do apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for sharing

Enjoy,


Zulyanto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

How disappointing. A relatively new hotel advertised as family friendly with family rooms.... No access to pool for young children ( no steps), no highchairs, bathrooms smelly....not even a toilet brush in toilet, mould growing in shower, locks on doors that don't work......and the place is only a few months old!!!
Be honest and advertise as a backpacker hostel NOT a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Gwen,
FRii welcomes you home!

We thank you for the reviews that have been given during the stay at our place and apologizes we did not meet your expectation. We have Check in Standard Operation Procedure to copying all data from our guest to be kept as our files and we didn’t find your name. We will be happy if you can give us your full name so we can give you the best solution. Based on your review, let us answers your review:

1. Our hotel is designed and shaped for the surfer community, Because Canggu surf sports is an important spot, therefore we do not provide facilities for children, so we do not provide a swimming pool for children, you suggestion will definitely appreciated. Every guest suggestion is very important for our improvement in the future.

2. We are aware about the odor that occurred in some of the rooms, we have tried to do some treatment on it, namely by providing coffee and camphor to avoid odors that arise, while we are still trying the other way attempting to repair it because it was not effective and completed.

3. Seats for babies have been provided since last August 7 from the advice of one of our guests that were still staying at our place.

4. If there is a shortage in the cleanliness of the bathroom kindly inform the management, because we are very open for every suggestion/advice, about the toilet brush in the bathroom would be our consideration.

5. Humid bathroom, every problem that happens we will definitely do it right away because the maintenance of equipment is essential for maintaining business continuity. But if the problem is very heavy we always offer the best solution for the change of guest rooms in a way to repair the problem further or other solution. Each guest checks out we always did back up the shelter to make improvements where necessary and we do not sell to other guests before the repair is completed and through good quality control.

6. Some of the key is having problems and occur in a certain period; we tried to improve on the quality of the key, and how to use the card. Due to design a special key on our hotel.
We will always accept input from our guests for our improvement and innovation every time. If the problem promptly delivered we will finish soon anyway. We understand your disappointment and therefore we are sorry to hear this.

Enjoy,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Been traveling to Indonesia and staying in Canggu for over 10 years and have never stayed at hotel so terrible.
-Had not only money stolen from my bag but my girlfriend also had sentimental jewellery stolen from her bedside table.
-Bathroom stunk of sewage which gave us both headaches
-Staff decided to let themselves into our room for no apparent reason when we were home late one night…looking back now only reason we can think was that they were coming in hoping we would be out to see what else they could STEAL!
-Internet was absolutely terrible,don't even think of watching youtube.
-Breakfast was cold,minimal and already packing up way before 10am…..so too bad if you were still hungry after coming back from surfing in the morning.

Really though i would have not blinked a eye at any of the above problems if it wasn't for the stealing of money and valuables from our room and the funny thing is we met a number of other people who also had money stolen from their rooms. And the front desk didn't seem to care at all!!!
I recommend staying at other hotels in Canggu like Echoland, Mandira Surf Stay, Ecosfera,Andys Surf Villas
DO NOT GIVE YOUR MONEY TO THESE THIEVES!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Luke,

FRii welcomes you home!

Thank you for staying in our hotel, we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Would you mind if we asked that you are the same person that was booked us though wotif.com period 21 June – 24 June 2014 and 30 June – 2 July 2014 and our walk-in guest period 12 July – 13 July 2014? Because if you are the same person, why there is a different between your review on our guest comment, wotif.com and tripadvisor? We found that you wrote a positive review about us except on tripadvisor. First able let us review your feedback:
- We have checked and found no reports of a loss of our guest since the last report on the 13th of July until now. We only found report of jewelry wedding ring that missing on 6th July from room number 206 and its already solve and found by our housekeeping leader and guest from room 206 in their safe deposit box. The Management would be willing to help and give the best solution if there is a loss report from the guest
- For the smell of the bathroom we already tried to withdraw with coffee and charcoal. We still trying to withdraw with other method
- We do apologize if our staff is in your room, kindly inform us the occurring time because we have turn down service for our guest and our staff would not come to guest room without any permission or in emergency condition.
- For the internet, we would like to inform you, there is different bandwidth between Indonesia and Europe. Our bandwidth is 382kbps/second. If you have any problem connection please let us know, we will be happy to help you
- We would like to inform you the restaurant is open start from 6AM until 10AM, if you saw there is no food on the buffet; it means we still proceed to refill the food from the kitchen. If during breakfast time will be end and we see there’s still guest in the restaurant, then we will inform them that the breakfast buffet will be closed and they can take the food that is desired. But, they still be able to order our ala carte menu

Once again we do apologize for the inconvenient during your stay with us
Thank you

Enjoy,


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

THIS LENGTHY REVIEW IS WORTH THE READ!!

We have tried Frii two times now and both times were terrible. The first stay was ok however some very sentimental jewellery went missing from a shelf in our room. We alerted staff, left contact details and a picture of the jewellery and nothing was done. The rooms swipe cards didn't work the entire 3 night stay which meant that we had to wait for a room boy to let us into our room every time. The wifi signal is terrible except for in the lobby. We hired a scooter from the hotel that was a death trap; it had a faulty speedo, a broken headlight and an exposed exhaust.

The second stay we went to the counter and asked if there were any available rooms. The reception staff offered us prices that were almost double the online prices. When we asked if they would match the online prices they said that we would have to book online. So basically if you walk in you are subject to some hiked up price- bad business model. When one of the reception recognised me they mentioned that my jewellery was not found; an email would have been nice. The plumbing/bathrooms were a nightmare with a smell that was so bad it gave us headaches and made us nauseous.

We checked in and we asked to leave a cash deposit of 100,000IDR (what for?) and were issued receipts, no other record was kept of this deposit. We asked for our deposit at checkout just as we were leaving the counter; the reception conveniently didn't offer the deposit refund. We were asked to reproduce the receipt in order to be refunded our 100,000IDR. On checkout a friend didn't have their receipt and was told they couldn't get their deposit back. So they hold a trivial sum of money, keep no records, leave it up to the customer to chase up the refund and make sure you stumble through some red tape to make it more difficult to be reimbursed?? This seems like just another way to scam money, probably without upper management knowing.

This is the kicker: As we were checking out, there were 3 other people in the reception complaining about money and jewellery being stolen from their room. The security manager was unhelpful, shrugged and when asked if they would investigate or if the police needed to be involved the security manager maintained reluctance to help at all.

Something needs to be done to clean this place up; too much corruption. A nice, cheap hotel at first glance but it comes with a whole lot of grief!!

Pay the extra couple of Rupiah and stay somewhere that isn’t run by a bunch of thieves.

Room Tip: Pool Access rooms have doors that don't close flush so when people are swimming and talking in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulyanto, General Manager at FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Panda,
FRii welcomes you home!

Thank you for staying in our hotel, we value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. First able let us review your feedback:
- We have Check in Standard Operation Procedure to copying all data from our guest to be kept as our files and we didn’t find your name. For your information, for the last complain from our last guest is he didn’t stay with his friend. If you ever stay at our hotel, kindly inform us your room number and your period of stay (1st time stay and the second time)
- We have checked and found no reports of a loss of our guest since the last report on the 13th of July until now. We only found report of jewelry wedding ring that missing on 6th July from room number 206 and its already solve and found by our housekeeping leader and guest from room 206 in their safe deposit box. The Management would be willing to help and give the best solution if there is a loss report from the guest. Our Chief Security would be willing to help to report to police and accompany the guest
- We have solved the key card issues, the problem was the decoder didn’t work properly and we have to change it, it took 1 week to change with the new one, we just have it fixed this matter. Hope there would be no complains anymore and we have do the anticipated, because the card is sensitive with sand and sea water. This problem was happened on May until June 2014
- For the internet, we would like to inform you, there is different bandwidth between Indonesia and Europe. Our bandwidth is 382kbps/second. If you have any problem connection please let us know, we will be happy to help you
- For the motorbike rental problem, we already told to supplier and it will be our concern
- For the differences rate between walk-in and online because we use dynamic rate. You will find many discount if you book us through online, and if you stay with us with walk-in rate it will be based on room availability condition and our occupancy, that’s why you will find different price
- For the smell of the bathroom we already tried to withdraw with coffee and charcoal. We still trying to withdraw with other method
- As hotel standard operation, every guest who will stay has to submit a deposit as expenses during their stay. The deposit can be due in cash or credit card verification, any cash deposit received our staff will provide a receipt form. If during your stay you don’t have any additional expenses then you can claim your deposit, but if you have additional expenses hotel will calculate all your expenses including your deposit. If at that time you lose your receipt form, our staff will give you another form to be fill and declare that you have lost the receipt form and after you finish filling out the form we will refund the deposit as well as your bills.
- During the check out time every guest required to fill the guest comment and sign the guest room bill





Once again we do apologize for your inconvenient during your stay with us

Thank you
Enjoy,


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#9 of 33 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kampung Canggu
Kampung Canggu
#18 of 33 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel

Property: FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Address: Jl Munduk Catu No.32, Batu Bolong, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#7 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FRii Bali Echo Beach, a True Home for Those Who Crave the Surfing Adventure. FRii Bali Echo Beach is a Unique Stay (Thematic Hotel) under FRii Hotels Brand which developed by PHM Hospitality. Located close to Bali's beautiful coastline at North Seminyak area, Canggu, FRii Bali Echo Beach makes it easy for the surfers to catch some waves as it is within 5 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance to Echo Beach that is known as one of the best surfing spots in Bali Island. It's a true home for those who crave the surfing adventure. FRii Bali Echo Beach features 77 Unique Rooms encompassing of FRii Room, FRii Ocean View, FRii Pool Access, FRii Pool View, and FRii Family. All rooms are completed with LED TV with International channels, mini bar, coffee & tea maker, and bathroom with shower. For dining option, the hotel offers Seaduction Food | Rooftop | Bar which serving Western, Asian, and Indonesian food where all guests can enjoy and chill out with ocean view. Other facilities include 2 swimming pools with a pool bar, free Wi-Fi access at all hotel area and internet corner, surfboards locker area, surfboards rental & surf lesson, surf retail store, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing