We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restaurant, rooms/sunbeds look old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanda Butik Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanda Butik Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pupuan
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, rooms/sunbeds look old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We found this place on Tripadvisor, and hope to stay here once on one of our Bali trips.
As we were travelling this summer from Pekutatan to Munduk area by rental car, we decided to go there for a lunch, to have a look.
The surroundings are beautiful, the restaurant is quite impressive. We decided to ask wheter we could see one of the rooms. First they were a bit hesitating, by saying that all the rooms were booked. But someone went with us and we could have a look, in a (empty) bungalow.
Felt a bit old, and so looked the sunbeds along the pool.
A bit of renovation, and this could be a lovely resort, but for us it felt not fine enough to book it for our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrakelSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

My partner and I just stayed at Sanda Villas. It was the second location in our Bali trip that took us from Seminyak to Sanda to Ubud. We wanted to get off the beaten track and see the coffee plantation and the rice fields. The area is beautiful and Sanda Villas was fantastic. Each villa had a large bedroom but the other half of the villa was a sunroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the rice fields and other vegetation. I wanted to take the sunroom home with me. I could have spent the entire time in that room. The landscaping throughout the property was a magnificent display of a large variety of plants and trees . The infinity pool is a strong pull to get you to leave your villa. The view from the pool is one that is hard to stop looking at and changes as the weather moves in and out. The breakfasts and dinners we had were wonderful. The restaurant area is very grand but has a cozy feel to it. Ted and Lillian are excellent hosts and were visionaries in their design of the property. We really loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

During our 3-week trip on Bali this August, we also stayed 2 nights at Sanda Butik Villa's near Belimbing. It has only a few (7-8) rooms, placed in a semi-private mini-villa with a bedroom, bathroom and lounge room/veranda with day beds. Each villa has a nice view over rice-fields. Unfortunately during our stay there was a lot of wind and it even got cold during the evenings. The area is 700m above sea level. Buit particularly during hot season this must be a great location to stay, away from the hotter area's. The small pool was nice, overlooking a valley - with a few high red and white telephone masts though. As they say themselves - not a lot to do over there, but to relax! Good value for money. Good food, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

If you're looking for a place where you can forget all your worries and just relax surrounded by intact nature, then this is the right hotel for you!! Located in the middle of Bali island on a small hill that overlooks endless rice fields, with beautifully decorated bungalows, lush gardens and an amazing pool.
Service is very good, the restaurant offers a small, but fine à la carte menu, and you can even rent dvd's and books at the reception desk.
We stayed there for only one night during our Bali round trip and were truly sorry to move away.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manolituca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We stopped for lunch and stayed the night! The property is on a (still operational) coffee plantation high in the cool hills, far away from the maddening crowd. The rooms are very comfy and the glass-enclosed porches are great for whiling away the afternoon. Ted and Lillian, the Danish-Australian owners, were very welcoming and entertained us with their fascinated stories. A definite 'must-do' while in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Found out about this place through friends. Glad we did but wish we had stayed for more than one night. It is quite isolated with just a small village down the road. The people running the place were very pleasant and the villagers working there were so polite and friendly with ever ready smiles to make up for the limited English. Very nice set up which seems to help the local villagers with employment etc. Sitting on the lounge beds overlooking the rice fields through large sliding doors with a welcome drink in hand was so relaxing after the drive from the north of the island. Meals were very good considering how remote the place is. Buy some of the terrific coffee which is grown right there.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byo3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

This small, but very restful and sophisticated boutique hotel located in the cool mountain area of central Bali, is a wonderful contrast to the hustle and bustle of the south Bali resorts. The rooms are a combination of two rooms. One is your bedroom (plush and very comfy bed!) and the other one, completely glassed in, is a sitting room. Sit out there and read, or just take in the restful rice field views! It is managed by wonderful on site owners who personally seem to look after everyone. Excellent food is elegantly served in the restaurant. A must do!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pupuan
12.5 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
5.7 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
5.4 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 52 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 52 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ti Amo Bali
Ti Amo Bali
#1 of 2 in Penebel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.8 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanda Butik Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanda Butik Villas

Property: Sanda Butik Villas
Address: Desa Sanda | 20 km north of Antosari, Pupuan 82163, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Pupuan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pupuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanda Butik Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sanda Butik Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanda Butik Villas Hotel Pupuan
Sanda Butik Hotel
Sanda Butik Villas Bali/Pupuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing