We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, amazing views.”
Review of Phu Pha Nam Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phu Pha Nam Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Loei
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We were so lucky to find this place late at night after taking a left for 20 miles finally turned around, took another road and found this jewel.
I say we were lucky for many reasons, one being we were the ONLY ones there, it felt like we had a 10 million USD resort only for us.
Breath taking views, private zoo ith deer,and many species of birds. Also the pool is amazing, just too cold to go in, also the spa was closed due to the vacancy situation I guess. They had someone come especially for my wife who had amassage in a Thai style house next to the pool

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Balilove2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Phu Pha Nam Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was one of the best places we've stayed in Thailand - the town also added to the stay. An ever so slightly run down resort - nothing major, but just a little faded at the edges. I can only guess when it was built - it looks like something out of the 50s - all stone and massive teak posts. Built into the side of a hill, it has fantastic views over the surrounding countryside. We stayed in low season, so for a couple of nights appeared to be the only guests. We got a good deal and an upgrade (low season can be good like that). We didn't find it too difficult to find once we realised there were two roads with the same number (as often occurs in Thailand!). Right on the main road, which isn't busy, but made it easy to find. There is one main building and a couple of wings which appeared to be totally closed for the season. The restaurant still managed to serve nice food when we used it. The gardens are lovely and well looked after. The pool is just fantastic - one of the nicest we've had in Asia. One of the best things about the pool is the temperature - nice and cool, not luke warm like the majority of pools in Asia. It's also vast. There was a massage centre down at the pool and a spa which wasn't open (maybe because of the low season?), a well equipped gym and plenty of bathrooms around the pool complex. The hotel has a deer park (that seems to also be populated by horses and ostriches!) and orchid farm and a large bird cage housing exotic parrots, some deer and a couple of pigs! The pool complex was down a fairly steep staircase on the side of the hill, but if you have a car - just drive down. The rooms were spacious and well equipped - very comfortably furnished and the bed was really comfortable. The only negative I can think of is that the bathroom was probably not constructed with the best material - it was lined in wood, which made it a bit dank after a couple of showers. A minor point in an otherwise fabulous stay. I can highly recommend this beautiful resort. The town of Dan Sai is also worth visiting - a great little night market and a friendly town. Why not join the ladies doing their aerobics at around 5.30 every evening! The weather was really mild in the hills and it seems it gets cold enough in December to light fires as a lot of the accommodation seemed to sport chimneys around this area.

Room Tip: If you go in low season, try for a discount
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wombatrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 29 July 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 December 2007

Phu Pha Nam Resort is a wonderful Retreat.
We stayed here for 3 nights in October.
Approx 75kms North of Loei in North East Thailand.
Spectacular drive from Udon Thani, approx 4 hrs.
The resort is situated with fantastic views of the area, quite a number of different types of accomidation from what i can see.
We had a delux room, all the resort is constucted from timber, traditional Thai style, looks fantastic.
The rooms where A1, the food & service was just as good.
the restraunt has a wonderful deck overlooking the surrounding country side.
The whole place is built on top of a hill, the gardens are extensive and wonderfully kept.
The pool is at the bottom of the resort, a bit of a treck down a huge set of stairs. The pool was wonderful, though a little chilly even in October, so anything up till the end of December will be quite chilly up around that area in Thailand.
On an overall rating i would give this place a 8+ for over all.
Not a place to go if you want to party on, but if you want somewhere to chill, a romantic weekend or just to relax i can highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre au moins une Suite Junior avec balcon
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niffy2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joachim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRaYa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loei
29.7 mi away
Forra Hill Resort
Forra Hill Resort
#3 of 17 in Loei
8 reviews
34.9 mi away
Loei Palace Hotel
Loei Palace Hotel
#1 of 17 in Loei
143 reviews
34.9 mi away
Phu Luang Hotel
Phu Luang Hotel
#14 of 17 in Loei
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Phurua Sanctuary Resort and Spa
34.9 mi away
Baiboon Grand Hotel
Baiboon Grand Hotel
#11 of 17 in Loei
5 reviews
34.9 mi away
The Bliss Loei Living
The Bliss Loei Living
#4 of 17 in Loei
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Pha Nam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pha Nam Resort

Address: 252 Moo 1, Koakngam | Amphur Dansai, Loei 42120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Loei Province > Loei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Loei
Price Range: £19 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phu Pha Nam Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phu Pha Nam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing