We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Chau Doc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mountain getaway”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Again like most people we stayed here for one night prior to getting speedboat into cambodia. The staff are lovely and very helpful from reception to porters to restaurant/bar staff - all really attentive. As far as I understand it the hotel was built a while ago (some 12 years ago) but was only opened in October last year. I believe someone else has also mentioned it STEPS!! There are indeed a lot of steps. The swimming pool is right at the bottom of the steep steps and the rooms are all on the way down to the pool on different levels. Restaurant and bar at the top so take your pick of room dependant on what you would rather be closer to. All rooms have a large private balcony with magnificent views of the paddy fields. It also has a "fixed" bench but would have preferred table and chairs, however probably with the amount of Mosquitos we encountered in the evening on the bar terrace I doubt we would have used them. All in all a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    59
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
104
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Like most people we stayed here for 1 night prior to getting the speedboat to Cambodia. We got here by private car from Cai Be, our driver spoke no English and first took us to Victoria Chau Doc! After a bit of driving around and asking a few of the locals we arrived at the bottom of the mountain! We commenced a very steep ascent to what seemed like the top of the mountain and initially I was concerned where we were going as it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere! However on arrival it was all worth it, the hotel is peaceful and serene with amazing views over the paddy fields towards Cambodia.

Room - clean and spacious
Pool - beautiful overlooking Mekong delta and Cambodia and the mountain ranges.
Food - lots of western choices, not enough Asian choices and not the tastiest food I've eaten.
Stairs - Lots and lots!!!

There is a regular shuttle bus to centre of Chau Doc and we took this to the dock to catch the Blue Cruiser Express.

My only criticism was that there were no staff around the pool to be able to order food and drinks. I did find a phone so called the restaurant and they did bring us lunch at the poolside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myzrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We travelled from Phnom Penh to Chau Doc by river. We did not choose the Victoria Hotel in Chau Doc, but its 'littel sister' in the hills about 10km out of town. What a good decision! The setting is wonderful with uninterrupted views of the hills and paddy fields. The rooms are spacious and all have a private balcony. The staff are wonderful; despite poor English by some, they try very hard to help and everything is done with a smile. The team at Nui Sam are mainly trainees who will graduate to the bigger hotel in town, but any shortcomings are more than compensated for by their charm and attentiveness.

Room Tip: The rooms on the eastern side afford the best view of the stunning sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finndodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICENZA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent one only night at this wonderful place, before leaving Vietnam on the boat that would take us to Cambodia along the Mekong river next day. We think it was unfortunate that our trip only foresaw a one night stay: the hotel and the surrounding area would have deserved a longer visit! The hilltop on which the Hotel has been built (which we understand was the site of some previous ruined military fortress guarding the plains) is well worth a visit, being scattered by different temples and pagodas. But it is mostly the peace and quiet of the surrounding, together with the stunning views of the rice fields down below, that should allure tourists to stay a little longer, enjoying a break from the toysome travelling around in the warm weather. The swimming pool offers a great view, and there are plenty of deck armchairs to relax on in the sun or in the shade. There is also some water jets that make for an excellent massage.
Rooms are super nice with a large balcony which is fenced in for your privacy; as a suggestion only, they might be fitted out with a small table and chairs in order to enjoy the view better, and also with some facility for hanging your bathing suit to dry out in the sun.
The road leading to the hotel is paytoll, which we found somewhat disgruntling; it is obvious that the Hotel has nothing to do with this, but also that this is a measure taken to make tourists pay for the "luxury" of their stay

Room Tip: We will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and also suggests to our tour operator that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLOBEROAMERVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This beautiful lodge in Chau Doc is a wonderful spot for a little respite before continuing up the Mekong to Cambodia. A little peace and solitude is sometimes needed in such a busy place and the Nui Sam provides just that. Try out the beautiful cocktails by the pool and enjoy the view. Do be aware that there are many stairs and no way to avoid them, so this isn't a place to stay if your knees are packing it in, but if you're reasonably fit this place is very much worth it.

The breakfast could use a bit more variety but other than that it was the highlight of my trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank emmilemmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANCHORAGE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I came for 2 days and stayed for 5. I never wanted to leave. Peaceful, beautiful serene setting situated literally poking out the mountainside with about a 220 degree birdseye view of the rice paddies and town below. The shuttle charges only $2.50 each way to Chou doc. I took it 4 times and it was very nice. The breakfast is suberb but the best thing is the rooms and private huge balconies (about 25' long). Yes there are stairs but if you ask for the top rooms then it isn't too bad getting up and down. The pool is just lovely also, jetting out of the side of the mountain apparently perched on air with a wading pool below! It is on the lower level . Sitting in the gazabo for sunsets is a must. Whoever designed this place was a genius. It is one of the most beautiful places I have been to. But stay 2 days if you can! The staff really tries to please and are very friendly!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probably great for a view. If you want to walk less stairs then ask for an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina Franca, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Unlike most visitors we stayed 2 nights here rather than arriving late afternoon and leaving early the next morning. It is 7 kms from Chau Doc and to ensure you stay in situ the hotel charges US$8 p.p. for the shuttle bus into town. Be warned the hotel is built on the side of a hill. There are stairs everywhere and no elevators. 43 steps to get to and from the small pool. 53 steps to most rooms and 70 steps to the restaurant. You get fit staying here if nothing else. The breakfast runs from 6 a.m. till 10a.m. mainly to cater for the one nighters taking the early sailing to Cambodia. We arrived for breakfast at 9.10 and it had been cleared away. The room which is pleasant wasn't cleaned till 4.30p.m. again catering for the one nighters.
after 5 weeks in Vietnam we found the Vietnamese food in the restaurant average at best and the western food ( it is French owned) even worse the next night. Madame Pascal was visible in the evening but hadn't realised the staff were running their own show in the mornings and hadn't realised at 8 p.m. that the chef had gone home. Didn't instil any confidence she was really in charge. As we left the restaurant at 9p.m. the staff kindly turned all the lights off on the stairways but luckily some premonition had had me bring the torch otherwise we might well have been found in the morning 53 stairs down !.
The views are wonderful and with a free shuttle and some sound management it could be a good alternative in Chau Doc. Less focus on the training school and much much more on getting this new hotel into shape is all that is needed.

Room Tip: Remember all the stairs there is no alternative but to walk up and down them. Not a place for the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale H, General Manager at Victoria Nui Sam Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your constructive remarks. Victoria Nui Sam Lodge is a new property as well as a vocational hotel, where each and every day sees improvements, thanks to the feedback of our guests and the efforts of the management team.

The hotel is built on a hillside, which indeed means many stairs and I understand this can be difficult sometimes, but this also gives us an incomparable view on the valley below. Our objective is to offer our guests, who often travel from city to city around Vietnam, a retreat in the heart of rural Vietnam, with breathtaking views, absolute quietness and a unique insight into the authentic Mekong Delta.

I have taken note of all your comments and have made certain that all your remarks will lead to improvements in all areas mentioned.

Should you come and visit us again in the near future, you will find that action has been taken on all points noted.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and contributing to the progress of our resort in the heart of the Mekong Delta.

Pascale Herry
General Manager Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
4.1 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 17 in Chau Doc
742 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 17 in Chau Doc
36 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 17 in Chau Doc
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Chau Doc
169 reviews
4.2 mi away
Murray Guesthouse
Murray Guesthouse
#1 of 16 in Chau Doc
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chau Doc Home Stay
Chau Doc Home Stay
#3 of 16 in Chau Doc
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Nui Sam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Nui Sam Lodge

Property: Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Address: Vinh Dong 1, Phuong Nui Sam, Thanh Pho Chau Doc, An Giang, Chau Doc 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Chau Doc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Nui Sam Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the side of Sam Mountain (Nui Sam in Vietnamese), the three star Victoria Nui Sam Lodge is the latest addition to the suite of Victoria Hotels and Resorts. The 26 stone bungalows and villas nestled on the side of this spiritual mountain, home to dozens of pagodas and temples, offer guests and visitors a unique experience in a truly magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Nui Sam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing