We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Huong & family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tavan Hostel

Triple Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Triple Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Triple Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sapa, Lao Cai Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
StuartRow...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Threatened With The Police- PLEASE READ”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As a brief overview, I booked 3 nights in a private room at this property but ended up spending none here.

Upon arrival at the hostel, the lady I spoke with informed me that the couple who had stayed in the room the previous night had decided to add an extra night and my room booking (which was received via hostelworld and confirmed with the property) had been used for the couple's extra night. When I became irritated by this, I was informed that there was another room available but not at the hostel. Rather, at a homestay about 1km away. Naturally I was annoyed that my booking had been changed to another property without my consent. The lady's reaction was one of incredulity, she insisted that the new room was in fact better and her tone implied I should be thankful. She didn't seem to understand that, in my opinion, this violated the terms of the agreement. As a Brit, the other issue that arose from this long disagreement was the definite atmosphere of awkwardness. I mean, who wants to stay at a hostel where you've just had a blazing row with the owners?

Annoyed but unable to get back to Sa Pa and having already spent c8 hours getting there, I decided to go to the homestay. Upon arrival I noted that there were no fellow travellers there and I was staying in one of their upstairs rooms. I'll note at this point that homestays are not personally for me hence, why I booked a hostel.

The first thing I noted were the number of children running about and making noise (as children do), this in itself would not have been a problem but the walls were incredibly thin which made the 'sanctuary' of Ta Van somewhat less peaceful. The other thing I immediately noted was the c10cm gap between the top of my wall pannelling ending and the roof beginning. Little did I know that this space would allow the valley's insects to join me later in bed (which did not have a mosquito net or a fan).
Unhappy but resigned to my fate, I left the property to walk to the village (which was now 1km further away due to my unexpected and previously unannounced move).

Upon my return at midnight I was locked out, after the dog's continual barking at the hulking silhouette at the door, a male (the husband of the lady I'd rowed with earlier I presume) let me in.

After brushing my teeth and getting into bed, the shoddy construction work of the home had allowed not only a scourge of mosquitoes in but a number of giant butterflies. Naturally, the hum of mosquitoes over my head caused for a long night (as anyone who has slept with a dozen mosquitoes in a room can attest to). Following a sleepless night, I was stirred by children playing and chanting at about 6:30 am thus ensuring I couldn't use the morning to catch up on my sleep.

On leaving the property I spoke with the male who had let me in last night and informed him that neither was this the property I booked to stay in but the room wasn't pleasant for the aforementioned reason. This was met with same insistence that this room was actually better (I never saw my actual room at the hostel so I can't verify this asserion).
The conversation then turned exceptionally heated when I said that I was not going to stay the next two nights and was instead going to go back to Sa Pa (some 10km away). I also strongly suggested that, given my deposit covered most of my first night, that a gesture of goodwill to forgive the rest of the night's accommodation cost might be in order. I never normally ask for these but given that I stayed in terrible accommodation which was not what I'd booked and, had I been informed of the room change, I would have declined to stay there; I didn't deem it an unreasonable request.
Well, at this point he became apoplectic with rage and went over to pick up his phone and tell me we can talk it through with the police. Anyone who has visited South East Asia will know that the police are most certainly not evidence-based paragons of virtue and, by extension, the owner knew this threat was both credible and likely to end in me getting lifted.
Faced with absolutely no choice, I was forced to hand over the remainder of the sum.

So, bear in mind if you book here you may not be actually staying here but rather in an insect-infested house some 1km away. Also, bear in mind the mentality of the people who run it- they will move your booking without warning and the gentleman's reaction in the morning was less disconcerting and, even for a stocky young man like myself, more frightening. My only thanks is that he decided not to relieve me of my entire wallet given he had the Vietnamese police as his collateral.

Pretty much the worst experience I've had travelling in 6 months and I have stayed in a few dumps in that time.

Don't do it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Hi everybody, please read also here

This man booked a private room in my house , but in fact, when he arrived , the room are not avail, as some one want to extend they stay, so we have explained to him that if he want to move to another better room in our second house, ( better because it's new house, bigger room, with private toilet et bathroom , with so beautiful view from window )we can upgrade and charge the same price ( the room that he book cost 14 USD per night , the other one are 25 USD per night ) , or he just cancel the booking then we accepte to pay back the deposit in his account. This guy agreed with the fisrt option , then we moved him in the new house. That was an agreement made by 2 sides, not an obligation ! We are fair engouht to change a better thing to our honored guest and that'is not a cheat

The man check in, stay in the room , then never asked us about any thing ( food, drink) then disappered until 1 Am , during this time , we was always there , in the reception hall to wait, when he come back, that's is dac so my dog barke for maybe 10 seconds, then i was waked up to open the door to him .

The next morning, the guy check out then talk to me that : he book another house, not this house, then he said he deposit in the hostelwold , i have to see with the hostelworld, and REFUSED TO PAY THE ROOM. I explained that he have to pay the price of 14 USD according to the booking, but he seem ignore me saying that we were wrong , and dont want to pay ! Why ? He sleeped in my house, s, used my room and dont want to pay ?? I know this guy are upsaid but at least he agreed with the change and he used the service , so normally he must pay for that. I talk to him : do you want to talk to the police ? Yes i said it. But because the guy didnt want to pay and this is a cheat for me ..

SO this is the story from my side, everybody, please check 2 sides to understand better the thing

All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Huong & family”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I really enojoyed my days at ta van hostel .
Really confy bed , amazing view from the terrace and super cute, friendly staff,Huong and her family Made me feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinSt...
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a group of 16 people. Quynh and his family welcomed us very well ! We discovered all the Sapa's cultures. We stayed 3 days in his wonderful house.
It Was a great experience with all the treks we did and all the evenings we shared with Quynh.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Bonjour Quentin, merci de ton avis sur ma maison . J'ai envoye les videos du trek a Roxane, j'espere qu'elle a recu , a la prochaien fois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiak90
Schwerin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ademaxime
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManonD846
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eva962017
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thanks alot my friend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing