We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Good Price, Nice View”
Review of Green Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Valley Hotel
Ranked #20 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Good Price, Nice View”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Really friendly well run hostel with a comfortable place to have a beer and meet other travelers. Also cheap motorbike hire and really good info from the staff. Highly recommended
No issues to report, hot water worked great and room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    51
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
2
40
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I was really happy with my stay here. The hostel has a great communal area/bar to meet other travellers, play pool etc. and escape the marauding H'Mong sales people! The bar is well-priced and they don't mind if you bring your own alcohol in. They serve food here and it's pretty good, you should try the banana pancakes and spring rolls....probably not at the same time.

The beds were soft and very comfy with good duvets and pillows.

The owners were great, really friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. There was just a nice feel with people from all over the world staying here with a great mix of ages.

I'll certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome, affordable, family-run guest house. I stayed for three nights, and loved it. It was great to finally have a big comfy bed. I stayed in a three-person dorm and it was perfect. It is also very close to both the town and the villages. The view from the common-area is impressive. It os also a great place to hang out and shoot some pool if it is raining.

Wonderful place run by a wonderful family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Personally I loved this place. Coffee with steamed milk is better than any where in town. Food is great and a great deal. the owners Tuyen and Luu were very friendly and made me feel at home. Honest people and helpful to getting around were to go and what to see. I stayed here for 2 weeks and woke up happy everyday. Like home if you don't like the weather just wait. Ginger tea is great with or without honey. one dollar BIG Tiger beer can't be beat. The restaurant is great for talking to other traveler on were they have been and were they are going. I would like to come back soon. Best place I have been in Vietnam.
AlaskanNomad

Room Tip: #403 nice bed sun warms the room I was never cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Premo32158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a really nice stay at the Green Valley Hostel! The staff was wonderfull and very helpfull. We slept in à dorm with four people, the beds where soft and quite big and we had the lovely heaters for the mattrass! The food was relatively cheap and you should really try the ginger tea with honey! Its great and warms you up. If you come in the cold season the style of the hostels interior will remind you of a cosy cottage!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zowi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just left here the other day and promised the owners I'd leave a tripadvisor review! So here I am keeping to that promise.

The hotel is perfect for the money. A four bed room cost us each $3.50 a night and it came with hot showers and electric blankets.

The restaurant has wonderful cheap breakfast and hot chocolate. Both set me be about 55,000 VND. Can't comment on the food outside of the breakfast menu, but it all looked quite nice.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. The owners are wonderful people as is the family that works there as well. The owners are quite fluent in English as well so there really isn't a language barrier. One of our group got sick on a homestay and the female owner was very attentive and genuinely concerned for his well being!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysHappyInTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We originally were only going to spend a few days, but the hotel was so nice and we love Sapa so much we ended up spending 10 days here. All of those 10 days were spent with the Green Valley Hotel. The prices on the food are the cheapest in town, and it's really good. Friendly staff that lets you pay your tab at the end of your stay, and maids that clean every single day and bring fresh towels. Got there early in the morning and it was foggy and took a quick nap. Woke up and couldn't believe the view from our room. Overlooking a nice piece of the Sapa countryside. For $10 a night for a private ($5 if you split it) you can't beat the value.

If it's cold they have electric blankets, and a steaming hot shower. Bus service, trekking, motorbike, and train tickets were all purchased through them at a fair price. I'd stay here 100 times out of a 100 if I ever find myself back in Sapa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongluu, Manager at Green Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Jenna and Bryan,
Hong Luu is very happy to see that you did have a nice stay in our place during your trip to Sapa on Mar. hopefully see you again in Sapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#23 of 68 in Sapa
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#19 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#20 of 68 in Sapa
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
12.5 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#54 of 68 in Sapa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Hotel

Property: Green Valley Hotel
Address: 045 Muong Hoa rd | Lao Cai Province, Sapa Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Valley Hotel, Sapa, Northwest Vietnam.Sapa is a beautiful town in the cool of the hills. It is home to the Hmong, Dao and other ethnic minority peoples.A visit to Sapa offers the opportunity of an insight into the fascinating hill-tribe cultures and the possibility of purchasing original authentic hand-crafted items directly from the makers.The comfortable, friendly, Green Valley hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of Sapa.Hotel can also arrange homestay accommodation with local ethnic people, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel -please ask us- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Green Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing