We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place & the view <3”
Review of Sapa View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapa View Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Me and my friend visited Sapa View a few days before Christmas without having any reservation. The bus droped us infront of the hotel 7 am. in the freezing foggy morning (it was 5-8 degree celcius). We agrreed to try our luck as it was too cold and luckily there were spaces in this hotel. We felt right since the first step with the great welcoming by hot tea, heater & nice smiles.

The girl at the reception was amazingly great, she gave us the early check in to the room right away and also upgraded us free of charge to the deluxe room. It was on 5th floor which was extremly high but was never a problem when the friendly young boy, Nihn, carrying the lugguages for us all the way and prepared the fire place in room (which was actually didn't help much). Ninh was only 15 year old with kind heart so it was nice chatting with him while he tried to fire the fireplace. With the fact that we were on the 5th floor, the view was incredible and I can recommend you this room than the one on lower floor.

I talked with the other travellers from other hotels and understand the rate of this hotel is quite high in comparative but with better quality and location. The electric blanket kept us sleep like a baby in the night. Hot water worked fine, free wifi in room, breakfast was great - try Pho Beef!, location was a little bit out of town which is great but maybe inconvenience for sigle lady to walk at night.

Sapa is a lovely village and would definitely nicer to visit in spring or summer. I m positive that I'll find my way back again to see sapa in green and I would be happy to stay at Sapa view.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ~LazyHammock~**
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel is just out of the main bussle in the town. About 7 minutes will get you to the middle of the tourist section. You will be bombarded with locals "to buy from me". We were tired after a night n the train and could not book in until 1pm. The rooms were neat and fairly new with good bathroom facilities. The only problem was that there was not much hot water. Maybe other guests had taken it all. You do have any own supply (hot water) in the room but it does not last long. The rooms were very cold as we were there on 4 February. Saving grace was electric blankets which we used every night. They have fire places but nothing is offered. Breakfast is okay but on the first morning had to ask for food that had run out. Did not eat any other meals in the hotel and ate out instead. It was strange that they kept our passports because of the problem being near the Chinese Border. Could not understand that one. There are perhaps other places to stay in Sapa but we were happy with the rooms. The reception staff were not at all friendly and this did take any from the atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: Try and get some sort of heating in the rooms as they are cold if staying there between December and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a nice hotel and probably has a great view but we went in January and it was really cold with a thick fog, visibility 75metres.
We'd booked a superior room and the room was good with a balcony, presumably to enjoy the view in better weather. There was a fire in the bedroom, which a charming 15 year old did his best to get going but all we managed was a small pile of smouldering ash which gave no heat and made all our clothes smell of smoke. All the hotel staff were wearing coats and scarves as we also were. The saving grace was the electric blanket on the bed where we huddled watching old films on TV!
Having said that, most of the other travellers we met told similar stories so I don't know where would be better. The hotel staff were very pleasant.
The advice is - wait until spring / summer to go to Sapa!

Room Tip: If you go in good weather, get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60stillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel is based in a town in the mountains, staying in the middle of Vietnam’s winter it was a very chilly experience outside. The beds were fitted with electric blankets and the rooms had fire places. Included in your room fee is fire wood, when noticed reception would send someone up to light the fire. This took quite some time so I suggest you ask before you are heading to sleep in order to have the fire going through the night.

The room we were staying in was located upstairs and on the outer deck. You are unable to enter the hotel without removing your shoes, due to the muddy environment of most trekking that takes place in the region. However, the slippers and rubber slip-ons provided were not adequate against the water puddles between the stairs and the entry to the room. As a result every time we left our room we got wet feet, or wet socks. This was very annoying for the day ahead walking up trails with wet socks.

Overall, the experience was satisfactory with only a few minor improvements necessary for a better experience in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located in the main building if possible to avoid having to walk outside in the wet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusGirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I would imagine that on a warm and sunny day, this hotel would be perfect, but the fact that there is not electric heating in the room took away from the experience.

We did not shell out for a view which meant our room was even colder as it did not get direct sunlight. When we got there in the morning, (you pretty much have to pay for early check-in as we were quite exhausted from our night-train ride) we saw that the only heating source was a wood burning stove in the corner of the room. A sign also indicated that after the first two bundles of wood, a charge of $3 per bundle would be charged! I would understand if there was an electric heater and they charged for the rustic feeling, but after a bundle's worth of wood all we got was a smoky smell and not much heat. We opted out of burning more and stuck to the electric blanket at night.

It's too bad such a basic element ruined what could have been a great hotel experience as the hotel itself is in quite good shape and the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Worth it only if the weather does not warrant heating. Rooms with a view are more expensive, but po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were at Sapa View hotel during our trip that arranged by our hotel in Hanoi and we all were happy with rooms, services.

Room Tip: Take the Deluxe room with balcony to have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank River S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is just out of the main tourist section of town. It has marvellous views - enjoyed from most of the rooms and from the restaurant. The rooms are spacious - wooden floors as well. It is relatively new. The staff members were fantastically helpful. My daughter became sick at the end of our stay - and the staff were so very helpful and caring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#27 of 84 in Sapa
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#32 of 84 in Sapa
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 84 in Sapa
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Sunny Mountain Hotel
#34 of 84 in Sapa
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#35 of 84 in Sapa
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Sapa Auberge Hotel
#52 of 84 in Sapa
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa View Hotel

Address: 041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: £18 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Muong Hoa valley, the Sapa View Hotel offers competitive rates for rooms with views of Mount Fansipan, the last major peak in the Himalayan chain and Indochina's highest mountain. Less than a five-minute walk from Sapa town's main shopping and restaurant area, Sapa View remains quiet and just off the beaten path. Wooden furnishings combined with locally-made decorative handicrafts provide a decor that is both modern and culturally specific to the area. With over fifty photographs and detailed descriptions of local customs lining entrances and hallways, Sapa View serves as a convenient gallery museum for its guests. Room amenities include bathrobes, a fireplace or electric heater, electric blankets and hair dryers for cold winter months, as well as flat-screen cable TVs, safes for valuables, tea/coffee/minibar and WiFi. Sapa View also offers a restaurant, bar, terrace, massage, bike rental, car hire services and free parking. All travel arrangements can be made through the hotel, including trekking and homestays in ethnic minority villages. Please inquire with the hotel for a full list of services. A partnership was recently made between Sapa View Hotel and the Sapa O'Chau community development project, which supports education of children and families from local tribes. As a guest of Sapa View you may support their efforts by responsibly purchasing from the craftstore or by scheduling a guided trek. There are also opportunities to volunteer during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sapa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing