We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it”
Review of Bombay Restaurant - CLOSED

Bombay Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I ordered the Lamb vindaloo, but they were out of lamb so they offered chicken vindaloo. I was fine with that, so went for that. What they brought out was something more like a tikka masala. I'm sure they assumed I wouldn't know the difference. And it was really pretty bad. I've seen nothing but bad restaurants in Sapa, so I wasn't very surprised; but it would have been nice to get some decent Indian food. Also, they have 6 or 8 rice options on the menu (biryani, etc), but they were unable to make any of them due to...lack of rice (oh my). Plain white steamed rice was however available. The only thing on their menu that I could recommend would be the garlic naan. It tasted the way it's supposed to. The staff seems to be unaware that they are working in a restaurant, and seem rather perplexed by the whole process of ordering, getting food, paying for food. I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone, even if you are desperate for some Indian food as I was.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GLX1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Really good cuzzer!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Having read previous reports of this place, we were a little apprehensive however once you have curry on the brain, nothing else can satiate the hunger. We were the only ones in there and the menu is small but the food came fast and was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samthemanandhisharem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

I like Indian food! However, I was never in India but only in Indian restaurants in Europe and various countries in Asia. This restaurant was the worst I have even been, maybe same level as the one in Viene Vang. We ordered Lassi, rice, chicken masala, raita, some vegetarian eggplant dish and butter nan. The eggplant was good, all other we only tasted and leave it more or less untouched. I am just wondering about all the other good ratings here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Canaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just Excellent !!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We ate there twice.
True that we should have waited for a long time for the food ~30 minutes, but it is because they prepare it on-spot. You can feel the freshness.
Indian chef.
The taste is authentic and excellent.
The service is a bit slow. they hardly understand English. You should talk to the chef who well talkes English.

We will surly come back if possible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Food took over an hour to get to the table, They had a big wine menu ( none of which was avalible.) We asked if we could go out and buy a bottle of wine, there reply was you must pay 20% ( he couldnt tell us what the 20% was acctually of) We ordered 2 bloody marys and didnt recieve them, also about 1/4 of what we ordered we didnt recieve. The food that we did get was really tasty but by that stage we couldnt really care.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jessnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Restaurant also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing