We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Cau Market

Can Cau Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Colorful Local Markets of Sapa Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 Shopping in Sapa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked Bac Ha Market Tour with Vietnam Cuture Travel and it was an amazing experience. All the services were impeccable and very good value for money. Our guide was kind and helpful. We were well looked after throughout the trip. Bac Ha is one of the most incredible places I’ve ever been to. Its scenery was so beautiful and local people were so friendly. We enjoyed walking around the market and learning about the culture of ethnic minority groups. A lot of good memories to remember. Definitely come back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jookang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Au, Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You gna love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was super fun and im so in love with all the handmade stuffs in here and guess what the price is super super cheap!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleuvre, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I WILL NEVER FORGET THIS EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It took us 3 hours to get there and the last part of the road it is not that easy, but totally worth it!
the market is held by the minority ethnic group Flower Hmong, most come from the vicinity, others travels from a good distance to sell their products that can vary from colorful fabrics to poultry, sugar canes, rice, spices etc.
The market is held on Saturday mornings, and tend to end around 1pm.
Be prepared to deal the price for what you want... and if you cant get the price you want, walk away, if they call you back .... you got it ! But be fair!!
A nice colorful scarf costs around $5 (100,000 dongs) but the more you buy the better price you get.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dhiguthila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrive to the market in the morning. Took a deep breath, opened the eyes, enjoyed the fresh air of the mountain area. It was wonderful. Just like we were at a different world where everything is colorful, people in there colorful traditional costumes also. We spent several hours there. Enjoyed the food. This market held weekly by minority people for shopping and socializing. We took some amazing photos. Thanks Vietnam Culture Travel for recommending this market. We all have a memorable experience. Promise I will come back one day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Traditional Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

After a long muddy roads, We have been in Can Cau market. We did not love it at first. Actually i hate crowed place but my girl friends - Henssy wanted to blend with local. To make her happy, we traveled here. We saw a lot of Hmong ladies with colorful clothes which I thought there was a flower forest there when we reached higher. We felt to wallow in a market hundred years ago with exchange trade system. They were here to trade what they have for what they need. Without higher buildings, super markets, retailers, people here had small stores and sold silk, foods, animals, .etc. I have try the traditional food named "Thang Co". It was hard to say "good" but it is still a memorable things that I had. Anyway, I rate it excellent for friendly people, pure view and good support guys. Thanks you all, especially Mr Linh for supporting us anytime we need.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Can Cau Market also viewed

Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Can Cau Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing