We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh Vietnamese - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hill Station

The Hill Station
Ranked #6 of 133 Restaurants in Sapa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Hill Station Deli & Boutique stocks a wide range of imported cheese, cold cuts, wine and beer together with a menu consisting of traditional deli fare such as homemade baguettes, burgers, panini etc. Also serves a full breakfast menu and Italian coffee throughout the day.
Munster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Posh Vietnamese - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great spot in Sapa for a slightly different touch on the Vietnamese cuisine.
Stylish seating and layout, you have the option to sit on cushions on the floor or the the normal table and chairs.
We had the rice and wine shot tasting menu - defiantly give it a go !
The food was amazing, my fiancé is a vegetarian and the the variety on the menu was great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigf00t13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    203
    66
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great burger, OK coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I think some people have confused this establishment, which is more of a cafe, with the other Hill Station which is a proper restaurant. We went to this cafe for some coffee. It was ok, nothing great. We went again for lunch and had the beef burger. It was great! Well made and good flavours.

The cafe itself is well decorated, and has a quite 'modern' feel to it.

They had a variety of cheeses which we didn't get an opportunity to try. I certainly would go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wordtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

nice layout, friendly owners, very chic, great selection, wifi and nice find in Sapa. When traveling, I tend to look for more local places to venture into and although this was more modern, it was a nice blend of what's local and what's new.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeefuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Cosy and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

One of the really stylish bars in Sa Pa. Worth a visit to have a good cup of coffee and a rich choice in cheese plates. Also homemade specialties are available. On cold days the wood fuelled stove gives a special touch to this bar.

Helpful?
Thank Marcel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Welcome Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived in Sapa after about three weeks of travel in Sapa. To say we were ready for some non-Asian style food was an understatement. I had been craving cheese for days, so when we arrived at this cafe I went straight for the cheese board. It was so good and a welcome break from the amazing Asian food we had been eating. We got the cheese, that was French and served with authentic baguette, some bruschetta like toast with fancy toppings like cured salmon, and the hot chocolate which was spectacular.

We also came back the next day and got the picnic for the overnight train home. The Spanish couple we shared our cabin with were exceedingly jealous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hill Station also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to The Hill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing