We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sapa Heavenly Homestay
Ranked #9 of 150 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sorry been nearly a year and should have written this review sooner.

This for us, was easily the highlight of our Vietnam tour. Dat and his brother Din were fantastic...both speak fantastic english. The great thing about this trip is that Dat has special rights to a seperate part of the national park. During our time Din took us on 3 walks and we didn't see any other walkers on these trips.

Be warned that when you get to Sapa...there will be ethnic women trying to sell you things...they will also follow you round....they will actually walk round the tour with you trying to sell you things...even for a few hours! Its a bit of a shame but part of the impact of tourism in the areas.

Thankfully with Dat & Din this will not happen as they take you off the beaten track.....it is very special. We had a fantastic moment sittng with a family who had been working the fields....best lunch time even.

Dat & Din work very hard and are true vietnamese. BTW - you will be expected to entertain the kids!

Food fantastic.....accommodation fantastc.....

Special thanks to Din who took over the walks as Dat was ill at the time...he had some great stories.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drluvpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    24
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
61
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MALAYSIA
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed with Dat and his family for 1 night in Dec and we happened to see snow in SAPA town and near mountain area. In December weather is cold especially in Dat's village and the room only had those Fan heater - too cold for us especially when rainy day. We enjoyed the first day trekking , the trip to the mountain area and the meals. One thing Dat's can do better is to communicate with us when trip plan had been changed and provide better services. We had few hours waiting time - doing nothing and waiting for the transporter to send us to train station on last day.A bit disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went to Sapa in November 2013 and a friend recommended Dat to be our guide. Dat arranged a driver for us from the station at Lao Cai till Sapa. He picked us up at a hotel in Sapa where we first had breakfast. Then we took a hiking trip to his fabulous home stay!
We stayed for 1 night, and we hiked for 2 days, it was superb!
The food was also very nice, and Dat's wife Ly was also a very good host!
We would recommend Dat to anyone who wants to visit the mountains of Sapa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed with Dat and his family for 3 nights and 4 days at the beginning of December 2013. Dat and his family shared their home, their culture, their village and their family. From the time we made contact with Dat through email he was totally honest with us in terms of what he as a guide and the home stay experience as well as the cost. He happily organised our trip in the Sapa area to suit our needs as four over 60 year olds. He also organises more energetic and appropriate 'adventures' for younger people.

We were met at Lao Cai station and taken to Dat's house for a delicious breakfast. During that day we did walking tours through 2 different areas close to his village. Dat's English was excellent and he happily answered all our questions and supplied us plenty of information about local life.

The 2nd day was spent at Bac Ha, a great experience, and this was followed by a trip to another village in that area. The third day was also spent with trekking to a different type of village.

The food supplied by Dat and his wife was delicious with 4-5 different varieties of food each meal. The amount of food was more than adequate and we were never hungry.

My one regret was that during the home stay I was unwell (not related to the home stay). Dat and Ly were very caring and Ly prepared special herbs to help me recover.

The highlight for us was on the last night after the evening meal Dat, Ly and their 2 year old son sang Vietnamese folk song and children's songs for us which was just the icing on the cake for a wonderful experience we shall always cherish

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed with Dat and his family for 3 nights. It was such an amazing experience, filled with culture, fantastic feasts (Dat used to be a chef in Sapa) and hiking. Dat is so friendly, with good english and a lovely family. He took us on many different treks through local villages, which was amazing to see how people lived and the beautiful country side and we also spent a night in another homestay in a different village, which was another great experience. I would highly recommend and really hope to stay again!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyasusanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We weren't sure what to expect. It was all a bit of an adventure. Our three weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia was all based in very nice hotels (we've done the backpacking thing in our youth and wanted a bit of comfort now we are all in our sixties), but we are all walkers, so we thought we should experience the Sapa "thing". How glad we did. It was fabulous. Dat's village is about 10Km from Sapa itself and was wonderful. Well off the beaten track, we only came across one other small group of "tourists" whilst we were there. Dat is so knowledgeable and helpful. The walks were tailored to our abilities and although the weather wasn't great, it was perfect for what we were doing. We saw so much of village life and were welcomed in peoples homes.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the food is very good indeed (Dat trained as a chef). Sadly we didn't get to meet his daughter as she was away with friends, but his son and wife are an absolute delight. The facilities were a little basic I suppose but to be fair, better than I expected. Dat has plans to improve and extend his homestay, although I hope in doing so he doesn't lose the unique appeal it has at the moment.
We had two full days walking, having arrived very early in the morning on the train from Hanoi, and just the one night with him. We packed so much in it seemed like a lot longer. If we do go back to Vietnam, and I hope we do, then Dat's homestay will definitely be on the agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed with Mr Dat at Heavenly Homestay for 11 days and thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

He and his wife were very kind and flexible and cooked the best food I ate in my four-week stay in Vietnam. The homestay is simple and comfortable, located in beautiful surroundings, and it really does give you the opportunity to experience village life and the local culture first-hand. While I was there I taught English to the enthusiastic local children, as well as helped (although more likely hindered!) with some farming and other work that villagers were doing. Mr Dat is also very knowledgeable about the local area and people so you do actually learn a lot when you stay there.

I would certainly highly recommend staying here if you want an authentic Vietnamese experience, excellent food, and kind hosts. And while you're there make sure you have the fried spring rolls, and ask Mr Dat for some of his plum wine - it is extremely good (and rather better than snake-rice wine!)

To contact Mr Dat email him on datsapa@gmail.com

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
6.2 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#10 of 70 in Sapa
182 reviews
11.7 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#11 of 70 in Sapa
749 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 70 in Sapa
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#4 of 70 in Sapa
111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Sapa
632 reviews
3.9 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Heavenly Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Heavenly Homestay

Property: Sapa Heavenly Homestay
Address: 07 Ta Phin, Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Please send booking requests or questions to : datsapa at gmail*** Welcome to Heavenly Homestay, which offers you the chance to stay in the middle of a rural village in Northern Vietnam, surrounded by beautiful fields and interesting local culture.We organise all aspects of your stay here, providing fresh, local food (including cooking lessons if you wish!) and guided tours of the local area, as well as further afield. You can also, like past visitors, choose to get involved with the local community, including teaching English to children from the village, and even farming with locals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sapa Heavenly Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing