We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Misnomer”
Review of Sapa Cozy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sapa Cozy Hotel
Ranked #69 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Complete Misnomer”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Sapa is, I'm reliably told, cold and misty for 8 months of the year. Our room at this hotel had no heating (or a/c) and was miserably cold and damp. Clearly it would be so for most of the year.

The hotel's sliding glass front door was jammed open permanently, bringing cold air into reception and up the large, open stairwell to the top of the building. Our bathroom door didn't close, and the sink mixer tap wasn't fixed down.

The bathroom wqs poorly-lit and the shower thermostat didn't work. Bath-towels were about as effective as handkerchiefs.
The room was a good size, and the rock-hard bed was provided with an electric blanket. The young couple who are new managers at The Cozy were friendly, but spoke almost no English.

Cozy? Anything but! Wait for things to shake down before staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Wow. Lovely Sa Pa.

This place is exactly what you pay for. The rooms are tidy, and quaint. Hot water is great. Only problem is, if its cold, you will feel it. And feel damp. On the up side, there is a nice rooster that crows at around 6am every morning so if that's your kinda thing, this place is for you.

The staff are nice. And there is TV to fall to sleep to. My only suggestion is for them to put a rug on the floor of each room. This would help so so much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstorStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was a wonderful little hotel, the family running it are so welcoming and friendly..think they are fairly new owners having taken the place over 10 months ago. Made us really welcome over Chinese New Year and invited us to eat with the family. The rooms were large, quiet and very clean,room cleaned and towels changed daily for $15 per night, double en suite!This is northern Vietnam where there is no central heating in the buildings so if you go in the winter expect it to be cold, but there was a good electric blanket already on the bed which they had switched on for us the first evening when we arrived and constant hot water for showers. Laundry service available and money exchange. There was no restaurant but the owners will recommend some good, cheap eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynnis010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We booked our room at Sapa Cozy Hotel on booking.com and were amazed at the price. We arrived very early in the morning from an overnight train and they were there to greet us. They cleaned up our room as soon as possible to get us in there quickly. They are a husband and wife team who are so sweet and really care about you having a good experience in Sapa. They made everything so easy for us, between booking connecting shuttle service, getting us a scooter, and explaining directions to certain places. The room was great, roomy, comfortable, and even had included coffee and tea. When we were in Sapa in January it was freezing cold but they had a great electric blanket on the bed. I know from talking to other friends we made that their higher-priced rooms were cold with no electric blanket, and that other hotels charged a huge premium on having a heater in the room, but we were very comfortable.
Lastly my boyfriend was feeling sick the last day and they let us stay until evening in the room until a bus came for a fraction of the price.
A great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducnguyen_12, Owner at Sapa Cozy Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ms Lilynoelle,
I am very happy to read your good idea.
I hope you will come back to see Sapa next time.
Good luck!
Duc Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

nice and clean but the staff was hardly ever there! also it was REALLY COLD in our room!!!!!! and I'm from Finland so I know what I'm talking about.

There was hot water but the water presure was so poor it wasn't enough to keep you warm in the absolutely freezing bathroom! it must have been 10 degrees celsius in there or less.

we couldn't use the shower., toooooo cold.

there was heating on the bed, which was luxury and nice, but i mean what's the point...you can't get out of bed since the rest of the room is like a fridge. you can't dry your wet shoes or socks on the bed and i don't think its healthy to sweat in the hot bed and then get up to the cold, if that doesn't give you a flue i don't know what does.

they keep the door downstairs open all the time which makes it even colder.

they should get heaters for the rooms.

probably better in the summer.

oh and it was 15 dollars per night... i know there are places with heating for 10! (double room)

staff was nice and location ok.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms that don't have big windows/balcony are warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possuriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We planned 2 trips in Sapa a bike trip and then a trek. We needed a hotel to stay in Sapa before our trek began. We found this online. It was cheap. $15 US a night for 2 people. Breakfast wasn't included but we didn't need it because of the quantity of food we had on both our trips. My husband was looking for a good cup of coffee when we were waiting for our trekking guide to show up and the receptionist walked him down to a great coffee shop! They also arranged for our bus trip back to the train station after our trek (picked up at the hotel) and for a small few let us shower when we returned from our trek before we got on the bus. We needed it as it had rained our entire last day of trekking. The rooms seemed newly renovated and were clean, the staff was very helpful and it was walking distance to the big market. We thought this was a great find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
12.2 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#55 of 68 in Sapa
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Sapa
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#56 of 68 in Sapa
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#22 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
#25 of 145 in Sapa
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Valley Hotel
Green Valley Hotel
#20 of 138 in Sapa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Cozy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Cozy Hotel

Property: Sapa Cozy Hotel
Address: 31 Thach Son Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Cozy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sapa Cozy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing