We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull difference”
Review of Chez XiQuan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez XiQuan
Ranked #29 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have been to Xi Quan's house 2 times. Only compliments to make !!!! Easy trekking through beautiful scenery, real traditional house in a tiny hamlet of 5 houses "far from the madding crowd" (no ther tourists around once you have passed the Sa Seng little bridge), Xi Quan is an absolute darling (and a good cook) and so is her French husband Olivier. Divine Dao herbal bath in the family's dao house next door. A "must stay" for those who are looking for genuine traditional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed for two nights with Olivier and Xi Quan and would highly recommend it. Olivier met us at our hotel in Sapa and introduced us to our guide for the trek to the homestay. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather for the walk which was fairly long but otherwise easy enough and included a lunch stop for noodle soup. Our guide, Ma Me, chatted with us about local life and was happy to answer our questions about local customs and traditions. The final stretch to the house was quite steep. As you would expect, the room was basic but it was comfortable enough and included mosquito nets although we didn't see many while we were there. The homestay has a water powered generator providing electricity for lights - it's also possible to charge your camera/phone/laptop if you need to.

Both dinners and lunch on our second day were fantastic with a range of different local dishes including different meats, tofu and vegetables. Olivier introduced us to their homemade medicinal rice wine on our first night which was delicious. We spent our second day relaxing on the terrace overlooking the hillside with just the sounds of the forest (and the occasional chicken) to disturb us. In the afternoon we went with Xi Quan's sister to collect the herbs (and branches and creepers!) for our herbal bath and watched while she prepared it. The bath was really relaxing and felt like a truly authentic experience.

Our trip was rounded off with another beautiful and interesting walk back to Sapa with Ma Me following a different route to that taken on the first day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to Sapa in late April, but we booked quite late and all hotels were fully booked. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise: One of the hotel owners advised homestay to me and that is how I found Chez XiQuen. We were a bit anxious as we've never done homestay before, but in hindsight I can definitely say that we were very lucky.

We went to Sapa to enjoy the landscape and see the local culture and now we were right in the middle of it.

The homestay itself is a true authentic house, with a friendly Dao family, located on a forested hillside just above the ricepaddies, which makes you not just feel on holiday, but forget about the rest of the world. The 30-40min hike from/to the road was daunting at fist, but since we got our basic hiking/sightseeing there, it allowed us to see some of the villages located farther away where hardly any tourists go.

About the homestay itself:
- The localstyle meals that the whole family prepared for us were excellent and plentiful
- We also enjoyed a herbal bath at their neighbours house, about a 5min walk, in real wooden barrels
- Before going to bed we played some games with the kids and/or got treated to snacks and lizard rice wine
- Do not worry, there is a water powered generator to charge your phone and even some sporadic mobile-data-connection.
- Try to make a hike together with Olivier, so that he can tell you about the farming methods, local plant and wildlife, and culture

In short: this is the way to really experience a Sapa holiday

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loek_de_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliviersapa, Manager at Chez XiQuan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hello Arne,

Thanks you very much for your review of Chez Xi Quan. We always like to hear what our customers have to say.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your experience of the herbal bath.

We wish you safe travels in Vietnam.

Xi Quan & Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank electricballroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank buxifolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Floriane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sapa
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 75 in Sapa
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sapa Stunning View hotel
0.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 75 in Sapa
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez XiQuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez XiQuan

Address: Doi 1 - Ta Phin village - Sapa Town - Lao Cai province, Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Sapa
Price Range: £4 - £6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15km away from Sapa Town, Chez Xiquan is a renovated traditionnal Red Dao house. It offers 2 rooms : a bigger one with 1 bed (2 persons) and a dormitory style one with 2 beds (up to 4 persons.)Also, there are in-house toilets and especially, a very nice view from the terrace (when it's not foggy) overs Ta Phin valley and mountains. Displayed prices decrease with longer stays. Food isn't uncluded and must be reserved in advance (we do cook a lot of different and delicious meals either local, vietnamese or european style.) Several services are offered like traditionnal Red Dao herbal bath : up to 30 plants are harvested then, boiled in a huge wok to create a very special medicinal experience. We also provide books for you to enjoy and we can take you around (even from Sapa if you want.)We would like to inform you that we have an organic garden behind the house where we grow chemical-free vegetables and fruits for your meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing