We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views and great value”
Review of Cat Cat View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cat Cat View Hotel
Ranked #21 of 156 Sapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This Hotel has a homely feel to it we stayed in room 20 on level 7 it has a fireplace which we enjoyed one chilly evening. The room is basic but adequate as a base while exploring Sapa and surrounds. The staff were excellent, we were met at the train and transported by bus up to Sapa and during our stay the staff took care of our every need (trips advice etc...). The hotel has good wifi which we utilised to FaceTime home a few times.

Room Tip: Ask for room on level 7 close to restaurant for breakfast and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Cat Cat View Hotel for three nights. The highlight of our stay was the fireplace in our bedroom and electric blanket, both of which were a must as the nights tend to get very cold in Sapa over the winter months. The staff kindly made the fire in our room every night. Room was spacious and staff were helpful and organised two very good trips for us: trekking to the villages around Sapa and to the Sunday Bac Ha market. The only downside was that the hot water in the shower ran out quickly and would only last for one person's shower.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roshni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great View of the Sapa Hills, decent size rooms with wood fire & electric blanket, bathrooms were good. Breakfast was limited but good quality, good location. Hotel is well laid out although lift only takes you part way then stairs to another level to carry your luggage could be a problem for some guests. Didn't really have much interaction with staff. Hotel & Rooms in general moderately clean although a make over would make it perfect. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayLuva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you want to have a room with a view this is likely the best place to stay. You'll have a gorgeous view of the Sapa valley. The rooms are spacious and beds are good. However it may become a bit cold during night time, and the bathroom floor was really freezing cold in the morning. With prices from approximately 25-30 USD this is a really good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ethnic Travel brought us to Cat Cat View hotel, which was friendly enough. But on January 10th, This hotel was COLD. No heat in the reception area and no better in the rooms. They bring you wood late in the evening but by then you have icicles on your nose. You do have hot water, enough to fill your bathtub up about a third, which means that if you're tall like I am a big part of you is still outside freezing. I layered up and went downstairs and inquired and was told that I had to pay an extra ten bucks for a heater, whose golden light was nice, but the heat went straight up into the ceiling, didn't warm the room,and only kept one corner of the room warm. The wi-fi only worked on the reception floor so if you're a writer like me, you've got to give up whatever room warmth you've got and head downstairs. Because of the dense mist there was no view but that sure isn't their fault. They do have electric blankets so if all you do is sleep, it's great.

Room Tip: I am NOT a fan of Sapa, where the tourists have invaded and ruined this tiny town and flat ruined it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After a 6 day ride through the mountains on my hired Minsk, finally coming into Sapa was a godsend. We pulled up near the lake looking for somewhere to stay when a scooter pulls up with a local inviting us to come visit his hotel....that was the intro to Cat Cat View. After a short ride we ventured in and discussed price after checking out the room. The price was agreed and so spent the next 3 days here. The rooms were good with wood fires for the colder months. The views were great from the upper balcony rooms. Back down one flight of stairs to the breakfast/resteraunt area. The cool mornings made for a second cuppa, the breakfasts were great and cooked to your needs....go for the omelettes. Elevators get you to all levels from the lobby, the staff were very friendly and helpful offering good advice on where to visit. On leaving they helped to arrange a return bus from Lai Cao and the onward bus the next day to DBP. Price could be a bit cheaper however still highly recommend.

Room Tip: go for the upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We had a really dirty room, but the others we could see haven't been any better... We aren't picky, but the bedclothes seemed to be dirty as well as the floor and the bathroom. Still we accepted these conditions.

Our tolerance limit got exceeded by the unfriendly way the staff treated us when we reclaimed our laundry. It came back to us as dirty as it was before and they shouted at us it would have been washed, which it obviously wasn't. No refund just bad service!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 79 in Sapa
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#65 of 79 in Sapa
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#29 of 79 in Sapa
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#40 of 79 in Sapa
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#27 of 79 in Sapa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat View Hotel

Address: 046 Fan Xi Pang, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range: £25 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cat Cat View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cat Cat View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing