We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Royal Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sapa Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We followed a tour and the tour booked a 3days 2 nights stay in Sapa Royal hotel for us. We have experienced electric shortage for all three days occasionally. Reason given was weather too cold but we did see light in other hotel and shoplots. Cockroach was detected on blanket and breakfast was served slow and taste so so. Yet the location is ok.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hsimyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Dear Sir/madam
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
firstly we wolud love to send all of our best wish to you and your family, we are so sorry to heared that you was had very bad experience with the Royal Sapa Hotel before. actually we are just a new owner of this hotel, we just signed a contract to run this hotel from 18 june 2014 and i've just only get back the tripadvisor account in afew weeks but anyway we've thought that we have our resposibility te respond to you. we was spent almost three months to repaired our hotel facilities to upgrading the business and now we are so confident to inviting you to come to saty in this hotel again. we are promise that we will given you much better service.

Many Thanks and Best Regards
Thanh Do/Mr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly people. cheap! $15 including breakfast for 3 people! We also booked a trekking to the villages with them. We really enjoyed this. Good English speaking guide from the black moong tripe.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rianneholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I spent 2 nights in June 2013 at Royal hotel in a superior room. The room has great view of mountains and Fansipan from the balcony. The room is worthy for what I paid.

The hotel located right in the center of Sapa, close connection to many attractive places such as church, Ham Rong mountain, and Sapa market.

Though there are many restaurants nearby, I ended up to have meals in the hotel’s restaurant coz the price is entirely reasonable and foods are served hot with distinct mouth-watering cuisines like salmon hotpot and ‘Lợn cắp nách’ and so on.

I was so lucky because the hotel has just been upgraded. There is air-conditioner (cooler and heater) in my room so I slept very well after a long walking day . Some complained about ‘no hot shower’, but I got warm shower every time I need, just turn the tap on the left side and patiently wait for about 5 minutes then warm water will come afterward, that is my tip.

Staffs are helpful, enthusiastic and warm-hearted. One more thing I wanna share is that if one doesn’t want to miss beautiful tourist sites in Sapa, ask from the reception for tour guide service could be a wise choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Rooms and toilet are outdated and dusty.Could do with some refurbishment.However,rooms are spacious and have nice view.
The restaurant is good and the staff very attentive and helpful.Location is also near most attractions like the church,Sapa Square and the market.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights...Room is good, but not have a hot water...I had to pay over 60,000 for one fireplace because in Jan, Sapa is really cold.
Staffs are really friends and helpful. Food at here is good also
Really good location, near Ham Rong, Sapa Market, Sapa Church, many restaurants and coffee...

If I come back to Sapa, I will stay at here :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaoMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed here in January, as such the room was cold. I confirmed a heater was available before I checked in and it was brought up to my room and set up straight away. I did use the doona off the second bed at night which ensured a good warm nights sleep. There was no hot water, but I didn't ask staff about it so I can't complain. Keep in mind January is very cold in Sapa and come with realistic expectations of a hotel at this price ($15 a night).
Room was clean.
Staff were friendly. I spent most of my time out of the hotel enjoying Sapa.
The location is very good, close to many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enday_enday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We arrived on 14 Dec morning. Had our breakfast while savouring the great view outside too.

Requested for rooms facing the mountains and our wishes were granted.

There's no heater in the room so I guess winter is the not the best season to stay in this hotel? Other facilities, esp the toilet, also needs to be improved in order provide better comfort.

Nonetheless, the good waiter at their restaurant compensated for the "could-be-better hardware".
My boyfriend and I are vegetarians, the waiter were very patient in listening to our requests and making sure what we could or couldn't eat. Their vegetables and tofu were very fresh! Heard from the manager that they had their own vegetable garden.

We checked out on the third day morning but left our luggages in the hotel as we were heading for a trekking in Sapa. After trekking, we went back to the hotel and they gave us a room to rest and to take a bath. This service was free! Maybe other hotels also have this kind of service but still, we're really grateful for that!

The hotel is located in Sapa town and surrounded by many shops hence making shopping quite convenient.


Would give a rating between 3-4 stars for this hotel.

Room Tip: There's another hotel behind the Royal Hotel, so get a room near the staircase or facing the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wish_t0_travel_m0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Sapa Auberge Hotel
#52 of 84 in Sapa
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#32 of 84 in Sapa
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sapa Golden Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#26 of 84 in Sapa
581 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sapa Romance Hotel
Sapa Romance Hotel
#30 of 84 in Sapa
78 reviews
1 mi away
Sapa Queen Hotel
Sapa Queen Hotel
#65 of 84 in Sapa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sapa Hotel

Address: 054B Cau May Street, Sapa 330000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: £16 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Sapa is the one of the best hotel in the town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing