We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Ranked #33 of 156 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Been here in July with 3 friends, I searched for a budget accommodation in Sapa on Tripadvisor and other websites. This place came up in top 3 accommodations with very good value for money and great reviews. After quite checked with these top 3 spots, I decided to reserve 2 twin rooms here as the boss was so helpful with all the information and extremely friendly. When we arrive, it turns out a super excellent choice as it is so cozy and the rooms are far from what we expected. And we had a great quality breakfast in the next morning after the best sleep in, like a month. The owner continued to help us in many other little annoying things that we had to face with a friendly attitude that you can never find in Hanoi. The only thing that affected me a bit was that the wifi was interrupted sometimes. But it is not a really big deal and I'm just so proud of my choice, until now.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

My family and I spent the last 4 nights at Thai Binh Sapa and we had a wonderful time. Nam Hong is such a great host and he really looked after our family. He arranged everything for us, from train tickets to visiting local villages. His recommendations for tours that worked for us with 2 young kids were perfect.

We stayed in the family room which was just right for a family of 4, something bigger hotels could learn from Nam Hong. The rooms were clean, spacious and everything worked - they even have satilite TV so we were able to watch the AFL Grand Final. The breakfasts were great, and the decision each morning between option 1 & 2 was a tough one. The location was great too, close to the square where hung out in the afternoons and an easy walk to restaurants and anything else you would need.

I would definitely recommend Thai Binh Sapa to anyone, especially if you have kids. Nam Hong will look after you!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for almost 4 days… the feeling is like cozy, nice and warm hotel !
Location is great. The owner and his family are really friendly and nice … I will return to stay there !!!
The rooms big enough and very comftable. Breakfast is very tasty and is Included.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roi1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We picked this hotel becuase of all the great reviews on TA, but unfortunately we had an absolutely TERRIBLE experience when we went to bed. The hotel was very nice, great breakfast, but we would have left if we could have left the room!!

At about 10pm, after a long day trekking, we were suddenly awoken by glass being broke outside our door and people fighting and screaming. More glass breaking against the wall and then a man and woman screaming and yelling. We know the hotel could not help this (?????), however, once we were in this situation, we quickly realized the hotel room DOES NOT have a phone in the room, DOES NOT have a security lock (so anyone with a key to our room could come in), and DOES NOT have a peep hole to look out the door. So we propped a chair up against the door handle (since the entrance to the room is accessed from the outside) and eventually fell asleep after about an hour and half of this carrying on while dogs barked and people were fighting and breaking glass out of the windows (maybe across the alley???) since the walls are so thin.

If this would not have happened, we would have given the hotel good reveiws, but unfortunately the security of the rooms could be enhanced more.

Room Tip: Make sure the rooms have security features (phone, security lock, peep hole).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-World-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongthaibinh, Owner at Thai Binh Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear customers,

I am sorry if this review frightens any of the travelers who are planning a trip to Sapa. I was born and grew up in Sapa, so in my experience, I could say that Sapa is a peaceful and safe place for living and traveling. The case presented by The-World-Trek in this review did not relate to criminal or terrorism and it doesn't reflex the face of safely and security in Sapa.

Actually, the story was the arguement of a drunken couple who stayed in the hotel next door. The reviewer explained the situation too mysteriously and makes people have a bad misunderstanding about safety in Sapa, generally, and particularly in my hotel. That seems to be very unfair to review something that you did not know exactly what it was and where it happened. It did not happen inside our Hotel.

Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to explain the situation to you during your stay with us, that would make you feel safe and enjoyed your Sapa trip properly. Please let me take this opportunity to apology for any inconvenient caused.

Thanks for your recommendation for some security features. We will do more research about that and will install if that will be good for customers and does not cause any inconvenient in case of emergency.

Thanks for your time for reviewing our hotel. I am please to hear that our hotel would be a nice one without that bad experience. I believe that case rarely happen in Sapa and do not worry to travel to Sapa and stay in our home. We do our best to provide you with nice, clean and warm rooms for this cold winter in Sapa.

Enjoy your trip,

Nam Hong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I booked this hotel based on the many positive reviews and was happy I did. Staff could not be nicer. Room was large and clean with very comfy bed and flat screen/cable (but only a couple English channels). Really good breakfast that I appreciated during a few early morning hikes.

By the way it is just across from the entrance to Ham Rong Mountain Park, which I also highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GringoPieGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongthaibinh, Owner at Thai Binh Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear GringoPieGrande

Thanks you so much for your time to review our family hotel. We are so happy to see that you had a nice stay with us. Your 5 stars rating makes us feel confident that we are on track and we will do our best to provide customers with valuable service.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at our charming little hotel.

Have a nice trip.

Nam Hong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

its a pleasant family run place but i would probably choose a hotel with a fantastic view of the surrounds the next time i come to sapa . by the way Cat cat village is nearby and it does not require a guide. One can easily walk there on your own. Saves a bundle. Oh yes if u are a light sleeper avoid this place as the church bells are quite loud and they go off at 5 am every morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We emailed the hotel after reading a number of very positive reviews on TA. Mr Nam Hong replied by return email and provided several clearly detailed options for accommodation including early check-in and late checkout, booking train tickets, transport to/from train station and information on tours. All bookings were confirmed with a minimum of fuss and we had no problems with any of the arrangements. The hotel itself is located just below Ham Rong Park which is a lovely part of Sapa and provided easy access to cafes and markets.

The room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom although compact was modern with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was very good with several choices available. Mr Nam Hong tailored a half-day trek to suit the needs of our group. The guide spoke good English and had a wicked sense of humour. This family-run hotel went out of their way to provide great service that was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a balcony to enjoy a cold drink in the cool of the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil-Sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#23 of 75 in Sapa
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sapa
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#61 of 75 in Sapa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#29 of 75 in Sapa
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sa Pa Garden Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Cat Cat View Hotel
Cat Cat View Hotel
#25 of 156 in Sapa
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Binh Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Address: Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thai Binh Sapa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for your time to read the information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel. We renovated our hotel recently and now we have 2 DOUBLE, 2 TWIN and 1 FAMILY (A connecting of 2 rooms with interconecting door, 4 beds and 2 bathrooms). To make it convenient for your trip to Sapa, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel. We also have local guides (speak good English) to be with your for your trek in the beautiful villages of Sapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thai Binh Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Binh Hotel Sapa
Sapa Thai Binh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing