We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay but for the price some improvement is required.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay but for the price some improvement is required.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Although this is a lovely house in the center of Sapa it is more than double the price of other good accomodation in town. If they wish to charge double the price unfortunately they need to deliver.

The aircon unit that was noisy in a July review is still very noisy and I was unable to turn the unit of with the remote due to low batteries. The curtain in the bathroom has velcro that no longer holds so falls down when you draw it. Otherwise the room was lovely. The staff had an excellent standard of English although you tend to have to ask for service they are lovely. Breakfast was slightly below average for the money. Other than the price tag and the very noisy aircon unit I'd recommend Cha Pa Garden to travellers who arn't on a budget. Final note....I thought 'Spa' would mean some kind of hot tub or spa treatment of some description. If they offer these services they were never mentioned. If they don't offer any such 'spa' service I believe they should drop 'Spa' from the Hotel name.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms and I got an upgrade at no additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    45
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

A small hotel in a quaint and pretty older building. Staff were friendly, room was clean and location was good. I couldnt say there was anything really special about this place though just an average place to stay and probably a little overpriced for what you get, although with only 4 rooms I guess you pay a little more for that. Our air con had some issues, it worked fine but made a horrid noise and kept us awake for a portion of the night, made the staff aware of this and said they'd look at it. Shower is also very small and awkward to use.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dung F, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Walls,

Thank you very much for getting back to help us a review. This is a very big helpful contribution to us and to our guests, too. Based on your recommendation we will try our best to improve our property.

However, I felt our service is better than your rate indeed. We served your group by our best and were always useful when you need. One more thing, I am not sure that did not you think about your private car cancellation at 8:00 pm in the night before you come. Actually, we informed you/ your receptionist in Hanoi that our agent would not charge before we can contact them (our receptionist did not want to let you have to wait for long time) however they still charge us full of price for your booked private car because it were too late to cancel.

I do not reject that our room is not as excellent as before but our service still be very good for all guests. I hope you will take a couple of times to think again about our hotel and find out more things what makes you feel good here like you said/ your smile while stayed with us.

Once again, thank you very much for your choice of stay in Sapa with us and for your further interest too.

We do hope to welcome you again when you are in Sapa. Everything will makes you better in our new hotel coming soon in the fourth quater 2013.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff hểre were so helpful to us as we arived early and left late and they made every effort to accomodate us. The one problem ứa thí keyboard in the lounge (thís one).

Room comfortable although smallish. Needs an update.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very quaint little place, good breakfast, staff were very friendly. Our favorite part of staying at Cha Pa Garden was a tour they booked for us with one of the kitchen staff who showed us around her village. She was so sweet and gave a very nice tour, explaining how Hmong peoples grow rice and dye cloth and about village life. Thank you so much for that!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryannmilneprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here while in Sapa. We enjoyed the proximity to the main street, even though being far enough away for quietness. Breakfasts were wonderful and we also enjoyed our evening choices. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Mr Son who manages the hotel was a pleasure to deal with. He made arrangements for our train travel and also took care of arranging our treks/tours while we were there. We were very happy about that. The hotel is small, has 4 rooms and the garden setting is lovely. Our room was large enough with attached bathroom and a balcony overlooking the valley and mountains. We would not hesitate to stay again should we get another chance to visit Sapa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokFlyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived early after the overnight train trip and as we were told we could not have an early check in we paid for the night before. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. The outside of the hotel is charming and old world in appearance. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom and shower are very small (especially the shower!!). The tap system in the shower is very different to what we have used and I think it would have been a good idea to have some instructions available for guests. There was queen size which was very low to the ground and maybe a problem for some. It was an uncomfortable sleep as the bed was hard and you could feel the inner springs of the mattress through the sheets. The WiFi at the hotel was all but useless both in our room and the dinning area. The manager indicated that this had been looked at numerous times by technicians and could not be fixed. To get decent WiFi connection we had to go to nearby cafe's which worked with out any problems. We also witnessed other tourists check in early without being required to pay for the night before which was disconcerting. Overall whilst the staff were great the rooms need updating. We ended up moving to another hotel which was relatively new and a third of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyC766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dung F, Guest Relations Manager at Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Kathy Cameron,

First of all, I would like to give our sincere thanks to you for coming and staying at our hotel. I am also very happy for your feedback/ review. Those information is very useful to us improving our service. Thank you very much for your experience.

However, I was so confused when I read: "We arrived early after the overnight train trip and as we were told we could not have an early check in we paid for the night before". I really do not know why this is? Our receptionist provided you an early check-in as your requirment and we had a deal about this indeed before by email that to make sure your early check-in, you should book and pay the night before you arriving. I was really confused. The other tourists had an early check-in also because until the date they arrive, those rooms still be available but they would not have breakfast as you on arriving date and we could not let they wait for their rooms until 12:00 while the rooms were available. However those rooms are not available until their arriving time, they have to wait for the rooms until 12:00. Your room is sure for you even some other tourists want to book this room we would inform its not available.

One more thing, about our bed, this bed is required by our almost guests before and we are so sorry because we did not know its not suit for you. However, our image of beds in websites is the same as actual beds and i think you can check it before choosing our hotel. Our wifi recently has been not good in your room (as I told you when you check-in), lobby sofa place but as your confirmation in the morning you arriving (when you had breakfast), in our restaurant place the wifi still works well and I thought you can check your email or anything else in internet in our restaurant place, our guest computer, our reception computer as I suggested and as many tourists did but you did not.

When you check - out, we explained that because some problems about Wifi, we would be pleased to charge 3 nights instead of 4 nights as you booked if you still stay in our hotel until you leave Sapa. Finally, after you requiring we charge 2 nights (however we had another deal about cancellation condition in our previous email). We were very happy to welcoming you to our hotel and try our best to serve you but we expect you told us about your bed before you checking out (you just told about the wifi only). We expected much share from you.

We are in progress to build two new hotels and it will has better bathroom with bigger shower, better wifi and we really hope to welcome you to our hotel the next time you are in Sapa as we do hope to share to you much more.

Thank you very much for your coming & staying, for your review also. Once again we are very sorry for the inconvenience we made the time you were in Sapa.

We do hope you have great trip in Vietnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We arrived early morning (early April) after a night on the train (in somewhat sketchy berths, due to last minute booking) from Lao Cai. The hotel is set back a few feet from the main street and looked fresh and welcoming. The staff was very warm and pleasant, and we enjoyed breakfast, as our room was not yet available.
We found the hotel a very pleasant haven after exploring the town. The quiet was most welcome after the bustle, the peddlers and roaring motorcycles. We hired a driver to take us to some area sights, with one of the staff accompanying us as a guide with very good English. She was able to come as the season was slowing down. A Sapa native, she was very informed, helpful and fun.
Cha Pa Garden Hotel felt more homey than the numerous towering hotels that appear to be new and vying for the best view. It could use a little touching up but we were very pleased, found it a good value, and would stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudyB200_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Sapa Hotel
Boutique Sapa Hotel
#29 of 68 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#15 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#8 of 68 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing