We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT !”
Review of Hotel Karos Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Karos Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great place to spend a weekend - went from Vienna during the week, less crowded - nice rooms, great air condition - breakfast and dinner included plus spa at the Hotel - The Hotel itself has 2 buildings, best is the building where the spa and the reception is - easy walk - many pool, good for children too - nice prices for lunch and drinks - only little problem not to many parking space at the hotel garage and outside is a no parking zone - will be back soon to relax and get some great massage

Room Tip: The front side facing the Parking is better if you want to take a nap in the afternoon, the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I just wanted to have a nice weekend with family, so I've been looking for the best hotel in Zalakaros. It started with the booking: we have been mailing each other some times, I accepted the last offer, and asked them by phone how can I use my holiday plus checks. I only should send them one more mail, was the answer. No, no deposit needed, although I wanted to. Mail sent of course, same way, as a reply to their mail.
Arriving at the hotel, they have not received my mail... Free room was available, but they don't accept the checks... So it started well.
About the hotel: for me, a **** superior has higher values. The kitchen is not more than an average, for the kids nothing special in the pool, during the world cup there is one tv set in the bar, wick is only good visible from the first raw. The tables at the "ship bar" were dirty, when i've changed one, the other was also sticky.
The room: when we arrived it was about 35 °C, and the two air conditioner did nothing, although switched them to full power and 16 °C, just some light air came out.
It was about third house, but there was no free parking place in the center of the hotel, so I went to the recommended back parking lot - a photo is attached.
Summary: an average budget hotel, nothing more. For that price it is not worth, you will find far better one in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrasSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

A truly avarage hotel with only a few good points.
Let me start with our arrival , there were no londiner service at the reception , we have to grab our luggages and dresses and drag them up to the rooms (this is a 4 star superior hotel c'mon)
On the other hand the receptionists were very nice and helpful ( that can be said to all the other members of the staff in the hotel)
The rooms were far better than okay , they were clean , a bit noise on the first floor.
A huge problem was the minibar ..... We should write down at the reservation that we would like to use the minibar..... I have never heard something like this...... Joke....
The phone in the room was noise and actually we couldn't use it...
The view from the rooms is very nice , the signs are very helpful across the hotel

The Bar is way overpriced but very good , comfortable chairs good service, it was okay.
The pool was Very good , good temperature , beatiful , the sauna Area included 6 different saunas :))!! Very awesome :)
In conclusion a good hotel with good staffing , avarage food , good rooms, good services (except the londiner..) good view , easy to find,
Try to avoid the national holidays or other bank holidays , there can be a bit crowded at this times.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Holdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We were in the hotel after the New Year. We have a 7months old baby, and we choosen this hotel, because they sad, that they are baby-friendly. We bought a promotional package, half pension plus lunch for free.

The hotel was full in that period, so we had to stand in line everywhere. We did not have the baby tub in the room, hence we had to ask, but four times. There are two baths for children, but both of them were full with 4-5years old children. We had to stand in line for everything also in the restaurant. 10-15' for a single ham&eggs, and the coffe machine was empty already at 8:00. We could not find food (e.g.fruits) for the babies, and the staff was not helpfull to solve this problem. Actually we need to wait 20' to order our drink by the dinner. They sad that they have children care service for free, but in the time, when we went there, 30 children were for one au pair...

The free lunch... They served us one small portion of soup and some cooked vegetables for main dish, so it was a joke only. Better not to promote...

Karos Spa is a good hotel for couples, and for families with 2+ years old children. The room was clean, and comfortable, the food was ok, but not special. The wellness is fine with lot of services and great choise of thermal baths. The service was good organised, but they had too much guest in one time.

To concern: 1.you have to pay for the parking in the hotel garden. 2.the drink does not belong to the dinner, and its relative expensive.3.children friendly hotel, not baby friendly. If you accept this, you will have a great time.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Tamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We were there with 3 kids (7,4,1) for 3 nights between xmas and new years day. We had a family suite with 2 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen. The room was excellent, all room had working and separate aircon, there was a huge bath in the bathroom which was a fun for the kids. However we had some small problems.
1. The curtains did not make the room dark at all. This is not a big issue in december however might be really diaturbing in June.
2. For the first use a very dirty dark red disgusting stuff came out of the taps. After 2-3 minutes the clean water appeared.
3. In the kitchen, there were not a single spoon, fork, knife or plate, or anything with you could even try to warm up a soup, though it was a modern kitchen with a stove, dishwasher, kitchen sink and micro wave oven.

Services:
What we did like very much that there was a puppet show for kids every day - such a high quality enjoyable for everybody. Really.

What we did not like that the children playing room was not well equiped and the staff was not well prepared for taking care with kids and make the room attractive.

The pool:
We had a feeling that this size is too much crowded for so many people. So even though there are 4 pools they are too small. So we used the thermal bath 200 m from the hotel, which was very expensive (10000 huf for the family per day) if you add it up to the hotel price.

Meal:
It is ok, however there were only 3-4 choices per course. Though the quality was ok.



Stayed: December 2013
Thank Bankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our room was basic but comfortable and clean and drinks in the mini bar were quite reasonably priced. I would have liked the inclusion of tea making facilities but unfortunatly these were not available. Wireless was available at no extra cost which was a bonus. There was a reasonable choice for breakfast and staff were pleasant at all times. I was a little disappointed with menu choice in the bar and the toasted sandwich I purchased was dry and bland, however the portions were very adequate. Also the bar closed at 10pm and there was no room service after 9pm which was disappointing. There was a number of pools and sauna facilities which were clean and were also provided with loungers for clients. I found in general that this hotel was more geared towards families with young children and as such the breakfast room was quite noisy at times. However, overall I found my stay there quite pleasant and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel is laying beside the main road of Zalakaros near the medicinal baths.
This Hotel consists of two wings. Between two wings there are a connecting passage under the ground. In the Hotel there are very nice, clean rooms, which are well-equipped ( air-conditioning, TV, wireless internet, hairdryer, refrigerator, mini bar )
Int he Hotel there are some inside and outside swimingpools and thermal pools. Saunaworld is very excellent there are sauna for pros and amateurs.
The Hotel is family friendly, there is children swimingpool, and a children play room in front of the restaurant.
The restaurant is very clean and cultured, the foods are most delicius.
Altough the choosing should be larger. The staff of hotel is very friendly and kind.
The parking is allowed int he garden and garage.
Int he end this is a very enjoyable hotel without large extras.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zalakaros
0.4 mi away
MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
#1 of 8 in Zalakaros
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#2 of 8 in Zalakaros
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Freya
Hunguest Hotel Freya
#6 of 8 in Zalakaros
39 reviews
17 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
0.1 mi away
Aqua Therm Hotel
Aqua Therm Hotel
#8 of 8 in Zalakaros
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karos Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karos Spa

Address: Alma utca 1., Zalakaros 8749, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Zalakaros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Price Range: £75 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karos Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is largest not just in the popular holiday resort, Zalakaros but in the region, too. The spacious rooms, the huge green park between the two buildings of the hotel and the peaceful location guarantee relaxing days. The real time off can be enjoyed in a giant water world, which only a few hotels in Hungary can be proud of. Among the 5 indoor and 2 outdoor pools everyone can find where relaxation the best is. In the sauna park there are 5 different saunas, a steam bath and an ice cave which offer several possibilities. The wellness experience becomes fully perfect by the different massages, gastronomy, sport and other programs of the hotel. The secret of our success is found although elsewhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Karos Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing