We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here on business, was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stayed here on business, was ok”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

had a 2 night stay here on business
sampled the breakfast and dinner buffet menu, was ok

didnt get the opportunity to use the leisure facilities which was a shame

room was ok, missing english language tv and iron but otherwise pretty well equipped

i wouldn't rush back to be honest but i can see that it might be enjoyable if you were on a leisure break to enjoy the spa

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    47
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
57
39
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sukoro, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I went with my husband and two young children, it was great fun. The spa was good and the food was great- a lot of choices. We had better but for the price we paid, it was very good. The staffs were helpful and polite. The room was large and very clean. Overall, a recommended hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Licslung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A college and I stayed this hotel for two nights on businesstrip to Nagykanizsa. We were booked in this hotel by the company we visited. The hotel itself is actually a spa wellness resort; we did not explore any of these wellness amnities. The room was spacious with sitting corner. The beds were twin with matrass hardness between hard and soft. Shower and bath not separated; basice soap in flacon provided. Internet on the room was OK. The Tv was "small" tft-screen... actually to small to look from the bed. the chanal choice was also not much "business-international" and no movie channels like HBO etc. Breakfast and diner was buffet style; both not of the excellent class.... Just average. In general, for the room, breakfast and diner facilities, i would rate this hotel as "average"; nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

It was the second time I've spent my weekend in this hotel. The ownership of Hunguest Hotel has made the hotel much more friendly and elegant. The staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful, the food was perfect with wide choice, and the room (luxus with jacuzzi) was clean and nice.
The only one of the services was problematic: the free wifi in the room. It was no wifi connection at all ois sometimes in very low level. I asked the reception staff personally, and later on phone to repair this deficiency, but - despite thir promise - ther has happened nothing.

All in all It worth to visit the hotel, because in general it is a very pleasent place in Zalakaros.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saliga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Less than expected. Worn interior, but the rooms were ok. Pretty confused communication inside the hotel. Service personnel nice and polite but doesn`t speak english. Missing shampoo and slippers in the room which i would expect for 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are hardest to reach by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel is definatelly not 4 star class. It's worn, but quiet. But all in all OK, especially considering the price (106 euros for 2 nights).

I felt like this place was a recovery place for older retired people from Austria.

In a 4-star hotel I would expect shampoo, conditioner and lotion, but there wasn't any. There was general soap from dispencer only, and 2 vat-pads, which did not get replaced after being used.

The receptionist on arrival didn't speak English, only German (which we didn't speak). At check-out another receptionist did speak English though.

The breakfast was a bit borring and not so tastefull.

Wireless internet in my room worked fine (slow but fine).

The hotel pools were also all right, except the pensionists in it:) There was spa pool, warm pool and ordinary pool as well as 2 fine saunas (finnish and turkish).

In general the town is nothing, you have to keep driving for activities.

I think if I ever end up there, I will stay somewhere else, although assuming the price I can only be happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodmezovasarhely
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were many times at here and every time we spent great times,full of relax.The stuff is kindly,make anything for your satisfaction.The room always clean and comfortable.The Aqualand is great with sauna places,maybe a swimming pool plus rather better for who wants to swim.
And finally the foods:one of the best selection I ever had.I was more than 50 countries!
So mostly recommanded!

Room Tip: 331 is larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csaba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zalakaros
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karos Spa
Hotel Karos Spa
#4 of 8 in Zalakaros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#3 of 8 in Zalakaros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
#1 of 8 in Zalakaros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Freya
Hunguest Hotel Freya
#6 of 8 in Zalakaros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kolping Hotel
Kolping Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alsopahok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
16.6 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel

Property: MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel
Address: Gyogyfuerdo ter 8, Zalakaros 8749, Hungary (Formerly Hunguest Hotel Damona)
Region: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Zalakaros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel is located in the centre of Zalakaros. The hotel offers relaxation and healing in one place with its proximity to the thermal bath, its 162 rooms and suites, as well as its own bath- and therapy section. At the distance of 0.9 km (0.5 mi) from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing