We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Extraordinary and Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Schneiderturm
Ranked #1 of 46 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Extraordinary and Charming”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Probably I don't have to repeat how extraordinary this pension / owner is. If there were 10 of ranking stars in tripadvisor, Pension am Schneidertum definitely gets 10 stars with no doubts,

I stayed in a single room, it is small but ultra super duper cozy with soft blanket and spotless bathtub. There are 6 rooms in total and capacity is 11 pax.
Sorin welcomed me with home-made white wine ;-) Beside of the wine, you will savour lots of home-made food and organic stuff for breakfast (8:00 - 10:00). Try apple juice, it is so rich and fresh. That was the best apple juice I've ever had.
Sorin is more than attentive and thoughtful. He always cares for guests.

Pension is close enough to the Sighisoara Train Station but street is not suitcase-friendly, so I recommend you to take a cab from the station. I walked from the station but it was honestly tough with suitcase. On my way back to station after check-out, I took a taxi, it cost 5 lei.

There is no one-day tour arranged by this pension but you can hire a taxi to go to Biertan & Castelul Bethlen Cris in a day. It cost 120 lei excluding entrance fee. The taxi driver explained a little bit when we visited Castel Cris (entrance fee = 10 lei) with flashlight in his hand ! I departed pension around 1330 or so. I stopped at hotel for having a quick lunch. Then I came back to pension around 1700 or so after visiting 2 spots. It takes 40 minutes to get to Biertan from Sighisoara.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
129
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The pension is in the city wall. It is quite small, but very convenient. Room was warm and cosy but not for staying in. The television was small and high up.
The breakfast was great, all sorts of local fayre. try the honeys and juices.
the manager / owner couldn't have been more helpfull with advice and friendliness. Parking available but 15 RON to get into the city wall

Room Tip: junior suite would have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

How often do you get to stay in the wall of medieval city?
Interesting place, inside the Citadel, next to the Clockmaker's Tower. Small room but it was very clean and comfortable.Lovely breakfast served in the cellar and friendly staff. Excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william mudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

What I guy! And I mean Sorin the owner of the Pension am Schneiderturm. Praising Sorin is praising the pension because Sorin has put his heart and soul and perfectionism into this place. The pension has good vibes, spotlessly clean and is shining because of Sorin's good spirit.
Why did we like the guy (and the place) so much? Well, He provided us with a map and sat with us for 20 minutes offering routes and places to see, he kept asking if we want anything for our 6 weeks old baby that was traveling with us (the youngest to stay in the Schneiderturm pension!), he invited us for tee and made us discover what a kind man he is and invited us for breakfast although we we've staying in another hotel (we wanted to stay another night but the place was fully booked so Sorin invited us for breakfast the second day we were in town).
Oh ya the breakfast… I mean THE breakfast! Imagine a softly lighted cellar, light music, wooden tables with organic food Sorin buys from the villagers around: home backed bread, sausages, cheese, honey, marmalade, vegetables, pear juice, apple juice, milk… all fresh, organic and of the finest quality! I've traveling around and still, this is one of the best breakfasts I've ever had!
Let's put them cards on the table. What makes you remember a place (and want to come back) is the spirit that resides in the place, how this place made you feel when you've stayed in. Well, Pension am Schneiderturm made us feel great! we're coming again, see you in the winter Sorin :-)

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stroffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Very Good location and hospitality -We have had two nice days.The pension is located in old city near the gate you have to pay for parking in the city (15 lei/day). The ownersorin is always on hand, extremely helpful for evry body .

Room Tip: We took the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Best value all time. Besides good price and location in the old city of Sighisoara, it's really nice and authentic. The beds are quite comfortable to be in middle Europe and the breafast is really good (don't miss the organic juices). Best of all is the receptionist and the info about which places to avoid and not. I don't think that a stay at any five-star hotel could be better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, just different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful little place - located within the old walls of the upper town but away from the tourist streets and square. Best possible location. The owner is always on hand, extremely helpful, and just a "really nice guy." I traveled single, so I paid for a single room. It was a bit small (but what does one expect for the price I paid?). Still the room had plenty of storage and shelf space and a very nicely done bathroom. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 12 in Sighisoara
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korona Hotel
Korona Hotel
#8 of 12 in Sighisoara
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Schneiderturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Schneiderturm

Property: Pension am Schneiderturm
Address: Strada Zidul Cetati Nr 4, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension am Schneiderturm 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension am Schneiderturm guesthouse is located in Transylvania, in the medieval town of Sighişoara, near the citadel's main access gate. This medieval house dates back to 1797 and, through construction and architectural style, it forms an integral part both of the Tailors' Tower and of the citadel's Wall. Traditionally restored, the guesthouse has four double bed rooms, one single bed room and an apartment, all of which are furnished with authentic pieces of furniture in massive wood and have their own private bathrooms, fully equipped. In case the tourists staying at the guesthouse would like to pay a two-wheeled visit to the tourist attractions near the medieval town, they will be able to do so, as the guesthouse offers them the possibility to use, free of charge, its high quality, modern and well-kept bikes. Breakfast is on the house and it consists of local food products, purchased from the farmers living in the villages close to Sighişoara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension am Schneiderturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing