We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fronius Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fronius Residence
Ranked #2 of 44 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fronius. The 400 year old residence successfully blends old world charm with modern convenience. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely and very witty Maria Daniela who offered us a welcome cocktail of delicious homemade cherry liqueur.(I would ask for one each evening we stayed!) We were directed through the courtyard to our room, residence number 1. Two kind gentlemen that appeared to be handymen carried our luggage up the stairs for us. Maria Daniela showed us around our room which had a king sized bed that included down coverlets and four large fluffy pillows. Some of the original painting still remained on the arched brick ceiling and almost all the hardware on the doors is original. The all stone bathroom had a nice deep soaking tub and hand held shower head (not really a stand up shower) Old windows opened up to the cobblestone street below where there was always activity to watch. The hotel is situated just outside the covered stairs leading to the church on the hill which is a popular tourist attraction. There are two souvenir shops to the right of the hotel. They have most of the same items as the other shops but also have a few pieces of nicely done paintings for sale. I purchased one for 180 lei which I felt was very reasonable for an 11 x 16 oil painting of Sighisoara. Our stay could not have been more perfect...thank you Fronius for making us feel at home in an authentic medieval setting!

Room Tip: Choose your room by the bed size you need. All the rooms are old world perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Rodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
72
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Convenient location, made it easy to explore the old city of Sighisoara. Well decorated rooms, Beautifully relaxing courtyard.

I and my friends stayed in Fronius Residence for 2 nights in 3 rooms. Each room has its own layout. I stayed in upstairs room where area was smaller and less luxurious. Beds were on upper floor inside upstairs rooms and very close to roof window.

I noticed that wind was blowing hard through the window during the night and I thought I was not going to sleep well, but I somehow still got quality night's rest in both nights. I guessed it was because their pillow and mattress were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

The front door is deceiving but a step into Fronius opened a new dimension.

A long narrow brick hallway greeted u which opens up to the breakfast area with collages of paintings & books and the Reception.

The bar is nicely packed together with an ornate imposing centrepiece at the back. The limelight is the stone well which has potable water & saved the property from burning down in a great fire.

The guests passes through a lovely courtyard with old farming equipment displayed Up the stairs, we have 3 rooms and another couple more rooms on the 2nd floor.

Residence 1 or Patricia was nicely decked up to fit her time with 2 windows opening out to the cobbled street.

Nice breakfast buffet & when we'd to catch the early train, the staff packed us a generous bundle of sandwich, apples, water. Really generous!

I have travelled quite significantly & I must say that this residence is good value for money for a "5 star standard".

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Room 1 - Patricia which was spacious with a king size bed. The pension is 5 star standard with lovely old Romanesque arches on the ceiling. Well used of space for the bathroom & toilet.

Great location within the citadel to see the smallish touristy town within a few steps. Literally!

A usable & potable water well in the bar which apparently saved this historic monument from burning to the grounds in a fire.

Worth the €€€ if you want a 5 star stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The moment you set foot in Sighisoara citadel feels like you are watching the History Channel, a story perhaps about medieval knights, princes and princess.. you get the picture... I don't want to over-dramatize (though this felt right when I was writing it)... So coming back to Sighisoara, it only made sense to stay somewhere that enhances that magical, historical atmosphere; this place (Fronius Residence) is like a museum, every corner tells a story and every room has a background... the owner, Mr Nelu, more than happy to oblige and share some of those stories with you...

The rooms are all different, full of character and equally charming but number 6 or 7 (cant remember exactly) on the second floor with views towards the church roof, somehow stands apart.

The breakfast is all organic, the restaurant is excellent and the citadel is magic... so enjoy your stay ! I know i did and i would go again...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dantravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's but this was by far the finest. They were so kind they even brought me flowers on my birthday.

The entire staff was so helpful in regards to everything. We rented a room for 3 nights at the biew was stunning. They have a little courtyard with views that reminded me of Trastevere, Italy, the heart of Rome.

Just stunning, the entire experience was a complete pleasure. We will make this a destination if we ever have the time to visit Romania again. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Fronius Residence is the perfect place to stay when visiting Sighisoara, being a small but wonderful boutique hotel. It is located in the heart of the citadel, offers 3 and 5 star rooms (the difference being the size of the room) and a great buffet breakfast with a variety of local and freshly made dishes. The rooms are decorated in a simple yet stylish way, the bed is very comfortable and the bathroom has a good size. We had a 3 star room, which had a more than decent size, bigger than most hotels standard rooms.
The only (but minor) downside is the fact that the rooms are not very soundproof, but being so few rooms it's not that big a deal.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the vicinity, offering plenty of choices.
I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who travel to Sighisoara.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 14 in Sighisoara
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 14 in Sighisoara
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#3 of 14 in Sighisoara
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#6 of 14 in Sighisoara
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 14 in Sighisoara
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fronius Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fronius Residence

Property: Fronius Residence
Address: Scolii Street 13, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fronius Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Fronius Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing