We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel BinderBubi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel BinderBubi
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sighisoara
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

In a quiet street 100 metres from the old town centre, not sure about the Bavarian style but very clean and comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast OK. plenty of free parking.
Would certainly go back again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick-1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel BinderBubi in Sighisoara. Hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards from the heart of Transylvania,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    69
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
88
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We loved our stay at the hotel.
we got an awesome room, and the hotel itself is very pretty filled with wooden decorations, and in the city center.
we had dinner at the hotel restaurant and even though it was a hotel, the prices was relatively cheap. Great beer and Great food. Excellent service
Very friendly staff
will come back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking time to review and post photos with our hotel BinderBubi from Sighisoara.
Hope to see you soon again, here in Transylvania.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel has the cheek to describe itself as 5-star! I would have given it a third circle if it had more realistically described itself as 3-star.

Initially it is impressive. It aspires to emulate Bavarian architecture and there is a huge amount of wooden panelling in the reception area. Pity it doen't aspire to emulate Bavarian efficiency. I was seeking to describe the decor; my wife aptly suggested faux. The receptionist who booked us in was competent. We had to change our room as the air conditioning wasn't working in stiflingly hot weather. Our new room was fine.

What really marked this hotel down for us, apart from the claim to be 5-star, was the restaurant. We had a terrible evening meal. It didn't help that the staff didn't seem to know a word of English. I don't want to come across as the arrogant-Englishman-expecting-foreigners -to speak-his-language; I don't necessarily expect fluency in our language but this purports to be a 5-star establishment in a tourist destination and, since most visitors from overseas won't know any Romanian, I would have thought restaurant staff would have at least a basic vocabulary sufficient for the purpose of making guests feel welcome and giving good service. By contrast the waiter in the excellent Casa Wagner, where we had lunch the next day and which I will separately review, greeted us in English.

At least the menu had English translation. The wine menu didn't and red and white (I only drink the former) were confusingly mixed up. We pointed to the dishes we wanted but even that was hard going. The waiters then returned on two separate occasions, firstly to tell us the soup I'd ordered wasn't available and secondly that the wine wasn't either. I managed to get an alternative wine. Changing my starter was a different matter. I substituted for the soup a ravioli filled with wild mushrooms. It was dire: the pasta was hard, not soft as one would expect of a ravioli, and the filling tasteless. Worse my main course order, duck, seemed to have been lost along the way; the staff looked baffled when I reminded them. I couldn't be bothered to re-order and made do with a pancake dessert which, to be fair, was good. My wife reported that her fish dish was awful.

Breakfast the next morning was poor. One expects a 5-star hotel to have a wide range of offerings but choice here was limited and the food was of mediocre quality.

This place really needs to pull its socks up.

Sighisoara itself is a gem. A lovely medieval city, one of the nicest I've been to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidofepsom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel BinderBubi in Sighisoara.
We have analyzed your remarks and taken measures to avoid any future problems. Hotel has been named in honor of a great saxon. More information below:

Binder Gerhard Otto was a saxon nobleman that lived in the transylvanian town of Medias, at the beginning of the 19th century. He and his family were very respectful and generous with the romanian and hungarian community that lived those days in the center of Transylvania. They were involved in the cultural and economical development of the area. BinderBubi, as he was spoiled by locals, helped to the foundation of the first library and often partipated to the cultural events. Also, he was the only leaseholder that equally shared the benefits of the land with the farmers.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Very good choice for a break in Sighisoara and surroundings. Except for the building, everything else is brought over from Austria ( including bed sheets) , and one can feel this because all the areas look impeccable. Rich and tasty breakfast, very well appointed and reasonably priced rooms. Didn't try the spa though. Very good choice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank macanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for taking the time to review BinderBubi Hotel in Sighisoara. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel designer obviously was a fan of everything Bavarian, or at least a Romanian interpretation thereof. This makes the hotel interior seem quite dated, but it is in fact build in 2009... The hotel is very much in theme, and you either like it or not. The rooms are ok. Unfortunately we could not use the wellness facilities since they were not functioning, except for the sauna. That was a bit of a bummer, since we would have loved a jacuzzi bath after having walked in the rain to the city centre and back. The location is very good, two streets away from where the old city starts. You can see the whole city in less then 3 hours, including a coffee break.
The breakfast was ok. The bathroom had a very nasty smell the morning we were leaving, so we didn't complain. But there must have been something wrong with the drainage.
All in all it was an ok stay, worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby88472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel !
We're sorry about the SPA, but we had some problems that have been solved. Some times things get broken.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is not in the Cetate, but it is within walking distance (5 min) to the main attractions in town. It is a classic hotel with painting and well-done wood panelling throughout. I was impressed by their very rich breakfast buff. The room was medium sized but well appointed, with nice bathrobes (which some used to go to the included saunas wet&hot. Staff was attentive and nice. Good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stancv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your positive review. We hope to have you here with us again soon.

Best wishes from Sighisoara, heart of Transylvania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very well located, near the citadel in a quiet side street. We walked to the hotel from the train station, which only took 20 minutes, but I would recommend taking a taxi for less than 10 lei if you are carrying heavy luggage.

The inside looks like an Alpine Austrian or Bavarian lodge all decorated in wood with a portrait of Empress Sissi by Reception. Our room was large and very quiet. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was a really well stocked and varied buffet with delicious food for all tastes.

We only stayed one night but it was possibly the best restful sleep we had in our trip around Romania and would really recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninnytendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feriteglas, Public Relations Manager at Hotel BinderBubi, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your positive comments in your review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay !

Warm regards from Sighisoara !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.4 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#7 of 14 in Sighisoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 14 in Sighisoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BinderBubi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BinderBubi

Property: Hotel BinderBubi
Address: Nicolae Balcescu Street 8, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel BinderBubi 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star hotel in the area, BinderBubi Hotel can be found at the base of the Citadel Hill, situated at the confluence of three Transylvanian Saxon districts, Hintergasse, Schasergasse and Hemdchen.BinderBubi Hotel distinguishes itself by perfect harmonization and architectonical framing in the middle of an area full of history.When we refer to the BinderBubi Hotel, the best definition would be that of resort. Its services cover a wide range of wishes: relaxing week-ends, vacations and organising special personal or professional events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel BinderBubi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing