We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Georgius Krauss House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casa Wagner(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Savri(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sighisoara(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korona Hotel(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central Park(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Corsa(Sighisoara)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
108
31
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
31
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomgreat locationboutique hotelold townoriginal frescoschurch bellsgreat characterperiod furniturewonderful hotelwonderful staythoroughly enjoyed our staytop floorwooden beamsreception deskbed was very comfortablelovely roomupper town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent hotel, newly refurbished, had an amazing stay there, great breakfast
Very good quality of the facilities, great restaurant they made custom breakfast
Located in the heart of the city inside the city walls
Very helpful but little personnel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andimar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Returned recently after a fantastic stay at Georgius Krauss House Hotel. Everything about this establishment is top class: the hotel has been brilliantly renovated and has managed to maintain its centuries-old charm while feeling supremely comfortable. Each room is beautiful. Ours had gorgeous furniture and the bathroom had a heated floor. One of the rooms has a collection of paintings restored on its walls which date back hundreds of years - apparently the only room of its kind in Romania.
The a la carte breakfast was prepared by a chef who has represented Romania in international competitions and this showed. The breakfast was 10/10 and was prepared using only local ingredients from Translyvania, including the best jam I have ever tasted.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better inside the citadel walls of wonderfully atmospheric Sighisoara - undoubtedly one of the world's most beautiful medieval towns.
Most of all, our stay was made unforgettably special because of the 6-star service we received from Ovidiu and his team; talk about being made to feel like a king! Ovidiu Radu picked us up from Targu Mures Airport and looked after us throughout our three-day stay including taking us on a day tour of the fortified churches and villages of the area including Viscri. We felt humbled by Ovidiu's kindness and efforts to ensure our stay was everything we wanted it to be and more. It was no surprise when on the last day he drove us to the train station out of the kindness of his heart.
For me, Sighisoara is the most atmospheric small town in Europe. I visited here 18 years ago and feared something might have changed. However, if anything, the town is even more special now that it has been lovingly restored. To top it all, Sighisoara now boasts one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in (that is with over 100 countries visited).
My girlfriend and I felt very sad to leave but plan to return for Christmas because frankly, we cannot think of anywhere better to stay for the festive season in Europe than the Georgius Krauss in Sighisoara! 11/10 !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. If you can, stay in 'room 2' which is fit for an emperor! This hotel is only one year old - that is why there are so few reviews of it currently.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven_goran_erikson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had actually made reservations at another Sighisoara inn and a few nights before we arrived were notified by Booking.com that the inn was closing temporarily due to some plumbing issues. When we looked back through the Sighisoara properties, we chose Georgius Krauss House (aka Casa Georgius Kraus). It was a wonderful decision and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Cars are no longer allowed to be parked in the little hilltop town, but we were able to drive up and unload our bags at GK. The innkeeper then followed us down to the lot to park and brought us back up the hill. It was a nice service to begin our stay. The location is down a small street which would give respite to the noisy area around the main square in high season. The GK restaurant is excellent!!!! And unlike many places that have buffet layouts, the GK breakfast was ordered from the menu and freshly cooked to our taste Great chef! All of the rooms are different and unique, and offer great amenities. The Georgius Krauss is a great recommendation indeed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own delightful ambience. Look at them all before making a choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

this recently opened boutique hotel offers a stunning environment which preserves the features of a very old saxon property. One of the bedrooms has the original frescoes still on the walls. I stayed in a so called 'standard' room which had a level of fittings way above its title. The bathroom was excellent although a shower curtain might have made using the shower a little easier . The bed was comfortable and the location away from the town centre which can be noisy. The neighbouring catholic church did however wake me for mass !!
I sampled the dining room fare twice - once for dinner and once for lunch. Both were excellent but followed the same level of understatement as the room. So called 'pancakes' were arranged like knotted handkerchiefs and filled with cottage cheese and sultanas topped with a blackberry compote - quite delicious !! These days its so frequent to experience overblown description against which the reality is a disappointment . This hotel does the opposite and confounds expectation with its excellence. Service was swift, friendly and went the extra mile, even providing me with a lift to my car at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broombank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Inside the Sighisoara citadel you find a great location. The hotel has 9 rooms, each rooms is diferent. All rooms are furnished with revival style furniture.The unique design is also reflected in massive wood furniture, handmade and hand-carved.The best room, are Georgius Krauss room. Here you can see the original painted of 1600.
All here are amazing. Should definitely visit this place!

Room Tip: If you want to have aunique experience choose Georgius Krauss room .For a romantic break choose the room with canopy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 357alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews