We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and convenience”
Review of Casa cu Cerb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa cu Cerb
Ranked #7 of 47 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Casa Cu Cerb is an old building from the 17th century so expect charm and noisy stairs. Rooms are clean and there is plenty of light. Ours overlooked the main square of the citadel so you can also expect to hear revelers later into the evening. The restaurant is excellent with some outstanding Romanian and Romanian inspired dishes. The kids were thrilled with breakfast as they could order whatever they wanted off the menu which, in their case, meant chocolate dessert crepes. The staff were cheerful and friendly. You may need reservations for dinner so ask when you check in. Price was very reasonable. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: You might ask if there are rooms away from the square if you care about noise or want an early night...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Casa cu Cerb
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Yes - apparently King Charles stayed here on an early visit. It is a lovely hotel in the middle of the old town with cobbled streets and lots to see. It is near Vlad the Impalers birthplace which is now a restaurant, so easy walking distance to all the good spots to visit in the town. The rooms were comfortable and clean and we had a room overlooking the side street which was pleasant. There are quite a few stairs to climb in this hotel, so if you have shaky knees or lots of luggage then this could be a problem. We really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I love this hotel! I could not think of a better location than right in the middle of the historic citadel with the birthplace of Vlad Dracula two buildings away. It overlooks a small square and you can see the clock tower from the front door of the hotel. It is an old building and has lots of character but the rooms are refurbished with comfortable beds and updated bathrooms. If you have an issue with accessibility, it will be better to stay on a lower level as there is no elevator and the stairs are narrow and winding (typical of an old historic building). Breakfast was included in our rate and was made to order. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant which had pretty good food and a delicious walnut cake for dessert. I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is everything that has been stated in all the positive prior reviews. Our room #6 at the top was a hike but worth it for the lovely room and ambiance. Very nice sitting area with a sofa and chair and coffee table for having guests in the room and also an area outside the room. The bath has a tub and a separate shower .Plenty of hot water. THE BEST STAFF EVER (although the Moxa Hotel in Bucharest is really the best ever). There is no buffet but menu breakfast and delicious and plentiful. Perfect location in a perfect hotel with a perfect staff, what else is there?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfever19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here two nights in September 2013. We loved our charming room even though it was on the 4th floor and no elevator. If you stay here be prepared to climb stairs. The view from our window overlooking the square made the climb worth it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast and coffee good. Sighisoara is a fairy tale like medieval town and to be right on the main square was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is very well located, basically it's in the main square. We spent 3 days here and it was great. The staff is really nice and friendly, the food is good and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and cozy with beautiful furniture. They have a wonderful outdoor café with a great view. Plus: their mascot is a fluffy dog -he's very good at spleeping (outside the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeaPlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Sighisoara has many fine inns within the Old Town walls. Casa cu Cerb is one of them, well-located on the main square in a 17th century building remodeled in 2001 by the Messerschmidt Foundation. Despite its central location, my room #7 was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast is in their vaulted-ceilinged restaurant. It's a la carte and included in the room price. It seemed like a good value: 45 Euro for a single on a Saturday night in September 2013.

Room Tip: 7 was on top floor, spacious for European standards, with both a bath and separate shower in a good...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 12 in Sighisoara
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 12 in Sighisoara
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa cu Cerb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa cu Cerb

Address: Str. Scolii nr. 1, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa cu Cerb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing