We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on Kenai Peninsula - Wonderful hosts, great fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Redfish Lodge
zzamba007
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find on Kenai Peninsula - Wonderful hosts, great fishing”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We randomly chose Redfish Lodge after emailing a couple times back and forth. We really didn't know what to expect on our first trip to Alaska. Steve and Leah were great, as well as Steve's mother, Marcia, who was visiting and helping out at the time.
The cabins were clean and well stocked. The rates were good. Steve arranged for our fishing trips and everything exceeded our expectation. We came back with over 50# of fish which was vacuum packed and ready for us at the lodge when we departed. While we were seeking quiet and privacy, we were treated more like family than guests. I would definitely recommend Alaska Redfish Lodge and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzamba007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We found the cabins to be very clean and well taken care off. The Redfish is family owned, and they really make YOU feel like part of the family! They are all very helpful. My husband and I stayed here a couple of nights while in pursuit of wildlife to photograph. We were looking for a place away from all the noise, and we certainly got that at the Redfish! These cabins are fairly new and have very nice bathrooms and kitchen areas. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were lovely. Thank you Steve and Leah . . . and Mom, too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, AK
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

New owners in 2009 have made the Redfish Lodge a real hidden gem. The cabins are clean, well stocked and privately spaced. Each has a small kitchen, a nice gas grill and indoor and outdoor eating areas. Cabins are heated for cool Alaskan nights.

The grounds are welcoming for families with children and couples looking to get away. There is a new playground and a fantastic community fire pitt which often has a beautiful camp fire burning. Moose and Jackrabbits frequent the property as you can see from my photos.

Plus, the new owners run a fantastic fish processing service for their guests which is the cleanest I have seen. Also, you can trust their recommendations for local tours and guides.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedalAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We live in the Anchorage area and discovered the gem of Alaska Redfish Lodge this past summer while getting away from the "big city"! The new owners, Steve and Leah, have made the cabins our "home away from home". The cabins are large, extremely clean and have all the necessities to grill for dinner the salmon you caught on the Kenai yards away from your cabin doorstep! The owners also have fish processing on site, which is extremely convenient. There is also a large firepit and children's playground for families to enjoy. We look forward to many more stays at Alaska Redfish Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We had an incredible experience! We have stayed here before over the last 8 years.....the new owners are awesome! They have made improvements/upgrades and are very accomodating. The cabins are clean & comfortable and the property is very Alaskana & kid friendly. Also, the value can't be matched. We have stayed at many places on the Kenai Peninsula over the years and we were so happy to find that Redfish had been purchased by owners who welcomed families again! Thank you ...we are already looking forward to next year's stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsboro, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We have been staying at the Redfish lodge every year for about four years. We love the whole experience there. the cabins are far enough apart that you don't really have to worry about neighbors bothering you. It is a quiet place that you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the Kenai experience. They do have river access but you have to drive or walk down to it. The cabins are quaint and clean and the price is good for the soldotna/kenai area. Most lodges on the river host anywhere from eight to twenty people at a time and quite frankley that is not my idea of a vacation.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank magicmikeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

This summer me and my boyfriend stayed in RedFish Lodge in Sterling, Alaska. What an awful experience that was!!!!! Grounds are nice and cabins are kept fairly clean. But the owner is very rude and unpleasant person; made us feel very unwelcomed. Also they advertise as waterfront lodge but let me tell you...you will not be able even to see the kenai river . What a misrepresentation.........I do not recommend it at all. Do not spoil your vacation by staying in place like this......

Nancy Rivett

Helpful?
6 Thank NancyRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkCalifornia, Owner at Alaska Redfish Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2007
Hi Nancy I came across your review of the Redfish Lodge and was very disturbed to see it. I am one of the owners of the Lodge. I would like to talk to you and try to get an understanding of what might have happened on your stay. Please either call me or send me an email. I can be reached on this site or at info@redfish-lodge.com I would to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
12.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
1.4 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
St Theresas Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
#6 of 12 in Sterling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
13.3 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kenai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Redfish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Redfish Lodge

Property: Alaska Redfish Lodge
Address: 32815 Eldorado Way, Sterling, AK 99672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sterling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Redfish Lodge is an affordable family run business overlooking the beautiful Kenai River. We have 15 fully furnished, heated, spacious, beautifully appointed cabins waiting for you! Each is fully equipped to make your stay with us feel like your "home away from home." The cabins feature a private bathroom, flat screen TV, eat-in kitchenette, barbeque grill and picnic table. The lodge also provides rods and reels, hip waders, nets and bonkers for those who wish to take advantage of World class fishing on our private Kenai River lot! We can be your "one-stop-shop" for booking fishing trips, sight-seeing and fly-out trips, and more! Relax at the fire pit in the evenings to share "fish tales" while the kids play in our safe, well-equipped playground area. Open seasonally from May 15 to Sept 15. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Redfish Lodge Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing