We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient place to get together”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbacana

Barbacana
Ranked #68 of 208 Restaurants in Avila
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
656 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Convenient place to get together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

We were there a night before friends's wedding. Good selection of wine and food. Enough space to hang out inside and outside. Their calamari was especially great just coming out of the kitchen. Tapas should not be missed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Normadroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    60
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We found this restaurant in a nice square just a few minutes walk from the walls. It seemed pretty popular but that might have been because there were very few places open near the old town as compared to the main street taking you back to the train station. The service was fine and the food was good but unless your Spanish is quite good it is hard to make out what is on the menu. The manager did try to assist but actually rushed us in our selections so that might have been a factor in our overall impression.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in months”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Gigantic portions and delicious food. 3 of us ordered 2 set meals - our main courses were grilled beef with potatoes, and calamari with salad. Aside from that, we ordered a huge sandwich €4. The sets were €16 each. The portions were so large that we had to request them to pack the leftovers for us to take back - so we had that for dinner as well. (I apologize for the lack of details as I am reviewing this restaurant about 1 month after my visit, but this restaurant left a very very favourable impression on me). I will definitely be back when I visit this city again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We enjoyed this restaurant very much, for its creative, fresh food and friendly service in addition to a fine location. Home-made ice cream was the crowning touch--apparently a specialty of the manager/chef. We were very grateful for the uncomplicated attitude towards kids, Americans, and all of our quirks.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zville5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

Creative restaurant, nice presentation, excellent service. The food is very good and far from all the traditional dishes served in touristic restaurants of area. Good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mficro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbacana also viewed

Avila, Province of Avila
Avila, Province of Avila
 
Avila, Province of Avila
Avila, Province of Avila
 

Been to Barbacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing