We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”
Review of Parador de Avila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Avila
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Avila
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is very well located, adjacent to the wall surrounding the city. Good clean rooms, and a fantastic garden/patio. We enjoyed staying at this hotel. Nothing special to highlight about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    355
    146
    35
    10
See reviews for
190
539
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night between a Moorish house in the south west with no tourists and a B&B in Madrid! Nice contrast, luxurious, great lunch, upgraded to suite, staff lovely, breakfast like in other paradors tho no cava this time!! Lacked character ... But then we found Avila a bit like that, too perfect to be true.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helen_s51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Situated just inside the City wall, the hotel was easy to find and benefitted from having free parking on site. The bar and restaurant open onto terraces where one can relax and the gardens offer peace and shade. There are quite a number of restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk offering greater value than the hotel restaurant, but many of the cafeterias and bars in town do not open until midday, so we took advantage of the hotel breakfast which offered a good spread and friendly service. Check in and out was seamless, friendly and professional, but the layout of the hotel means that several small flights of stairs have to be negotiated before reaching the lift.
We had a superior room overlooking the garden. This was clean, spacious, peaceful and the wi-fi worked well. Prior to arrival the hotel e-mailed maps, places of interest and detailed directions, but the sat-nav was accurate too.
Having stayed at many historic buildings, we were disappointed that the hotel did not retain much of its original character inside and as a result lacked a degree of atmosphere.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly, approachable and professional. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable....and everything worked properly. Its location on the edge of the old town meant that it was more easily accessible and quier than hotels in the centre, which is only 10 minutes walk away. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden as they are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is the third Parador we have stayed in in the last week and they all have two things in common, great architecture and mediocre food. With the buildings that Paradores have it is a terrible shame that the ones we have stayed in have been let down by the menu and the quality of the cooking. Having booked half board we were committed to eat in. At the first two we had the table de hote menu and the last one opted for the al la carte. Tenderloin of steak was full of gristle and served with 5 mushrooms and 5 small pieces of bacon not worth 25 euros when we had had the biggest and one of the best fillet steaks the night before in Fermoselle for 16 euros. Paradores need to look seriously at the quality of their food and employ an executive chef to revitalise what the produce. It would be interesting to see how many people don't eat dinner as there were many faces at breakfast who we didn't see the night before. Really disappointing and we have another one to go! Eat out is my reccomendation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Likesmifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Parador was located within the walled part of Avila. The room we had was large and overlooked the quiet garden. The beds were all right (we are still trying to get used to twin beds stuck together which seems to be the European way). It was a good place to stay in order to explore the historic part of town and also as a base to visit Segovia and Salamanca which were about 60 minutes away. After our visits to these surrounding towns, our parador was a great place to relax. The only difficulty was that it was warm when we stayed there and the air conditioning had not been turned on. When we mentioned this, they gladly turned on the air conditioning, however for the first few hours there was a terrible smell emanating from the air conditioner. Very unpleasant. For the most part, we were happy to stay here and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ealing
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The parador e-mailed details of how to find them which enabled us to find them easily. There was also plenty of free parking. Reception were very helpful in providing a tourist map of Avila with directions to the main sights. Our twin room which overlooked the garden was spacious and quiet and the Wi-Fi worked well. Returning from sightseeing, It was very pleasant to sit in the sunny garden with a beer. The buffet breakfast had excellent choice. Our only disappointment was the evening meal which we had in the restaurant - the food was indifferent. I recommend staying here and eating out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WPKATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As other reviewers have commented, if you're looking for modern, funky, youthful - this isn't your place. But you won't get that anywhere in Avila! We were very pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a view over garden as we needed a quiet room for the night. The room was very spacious, beds reasonably comfortable. Air con wasn't yet switched on - there seems to be a general regional rule that the weather needs to hit mid 20s before air con is activated which is annoying when you're used to colder climates. Thankfully, it wasn't a warm night so we slept well. Having free on site car parking was great too. All in all, we were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden side room rather than on street / road side if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killanigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avila hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio de los Velada
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Valderrabanos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Moradas
Hotel Las Moradas
#4 of 29 in Avila
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel las Leyendas
Hotel las Leyendas
#5 of 29 in Avila
351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#2 of 29 in Avila
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio de Monjaraz
Palacio de Monjaraz
#7 of 29 in Avila
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Avila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Avila

Property: Parador de Avila
Address: Calle Marques de Canales y Chozas 2, 05001 Avila, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Avila 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador ,located in the monumental Avila, was built over the former Piedras Albas Palace, backs onto the city walls and offers a magnificent atmosphere. Beautiful decorative elements, granite floors, bright colours and large rooms make up a harmonious whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Avila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Avila Hotel Avila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing