We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So amazing we did it twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chimaera

Chimaera
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Cirali
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of flames that spurt from cracks in the rock, which are caused by the combustion of natural gas seeping out of the mountain at the ancient site of Olympos.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So amazing we did it twice!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My girlfriend and I walked to the Chimera flames during the day and were blown away by the flames (and the view). It was a steep walk up to the flames but well worth it. We loved it so much we went back at night. The flames were brighter and you could see a few more flame spots. A torch is very helpful as the path is quite rough. Either way both day and night viewings were spectacular, so you can't go wrong.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steamtrain89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    218
    99
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flaming mountain”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We took advice and cycled from Etenna at dusk so the light was fading as we arrived at the Chimaera. This was absolutely the best time to see them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Give yourself a very rare experience. Take a torch each. It takes about 25 mins each way. Some of the ground is rough but wearing good trainers is all you need. A bottle of wine and marsh mellows to toast?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Throstle-Bower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing sight!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I walked parts of the Lycian Way and this was one of the highlights of the walk. We approached from the summit and picked our way down the slippery, steep and rocky path. There were a few flames at the top but we saw most towards the lower slopes just before the steps. It is a unique sight to see flames gushing from holes in the rocks and i wish I could have seen them in the dark. At the bottom of the steps we reached the information board, toilet block and ice-cream stall which was very welcome after walking up and over the mountain.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank passifloraEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A continues flame for thousands years”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is beyond imagination... I had been there in 2008. At the time, there were more active fire places... I went there yesterday and this time, there were three larger and one small fire were ongoing... I went there early and during the day light, which I also discovered that there are some ancient ruins there, which was a very nice surprise.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bircan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimaera also viewed

Cirali, Antalya Province
 

Been to Chimaera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing