We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% harika!”
Review of Bellerofon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellerofon Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cirali
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“100% harika!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived at Bellerofon after a late flight to Antalya and couldn't imagine a more comforting welcome. Despite the late hour, a very cheery chap showed us to our cabin. As we stepped out of the car we were hit by the most beautiful smell - orange blossom - oozing from the dozen orange trees surrounding our cabin and shading the hammock which laid out under the sparkling sky. It got better. We awoke the next morning to a glowing cabin, open and airy, beautiful and simply decorated. Opening the door and returning to bed to listen to the hum of bees busy pollinating, and sparrows on the roof making nests, is a must.

A short wander amongst fruit trees, tortoises, cats and chickens and you'll find breakfast - whenever you feel like having it. A smorgasbord of fresh local produce, scoffed outside before a spectacular view of the Cirali beach and mountains. Olives, cheeses, bread, yogurt, salad, fruit, eggs and the best marmalet you will ever taste, washed down with unlimited tea and orange juice. All brought to you by the most wonderful staff you'll ever encounter in hospitality.

There are so many lovely and unique characteristics which make Bellerofon, all of which have been finely tuned to create a relaxing, eco-friendly & romantic getaway; dinner served on the beach next to an open fire, free bikes to get around the village & an obvious appreciation for nature and sustainability.

I would definitely recommend staying at Bellerofon in Spring, when the temperature is pleasant, area quiet and whole place in bloom and scented with flowers and fruit.

Room Tip: The pensions towards the back of Bellerofon are more modern (lush pine interior which glows in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Imagine the stylishness, cleanliness and attention to detail of the best kind of hotel experience. Add to that the relaxed atmosphere of an orange-grove life in a wooden hut by the beach and there you have the Bellerofon Hotel in Cirali on the Mediterranean coast of Turkey. It's as much as 25 steps to the dining area, delicious food and perfect service under the shade of trees that fringe the beach. Another few steps and you're on a sunbed by the warm, clear blue sea. Free bikes are available for you to head off to make your own archaeological discoveries among the undergrowth of Olympus Village to the west, or head east and marvel at the flames of the Chimera that spontaneously emerge from the hillside. (Take your own marshmallows!) The local village is small with enough fine restaurants, bars and shops to choose from. We spent a week there after Istanbul. It was so hard to leave.

Room Tip: There are only about eight separate wooden cabins spaced apart in the orange grove. You can't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed a couple of nights and wished it had been longer. Nice gardens dotted with cabins that runs straight down to the beach. Breakfast is 'at any time' - none of the '7 to 10' nonsense! The gardens are dotted with fuit trees, chickens and tortoises. Evening meals were at tables set up on the beach around a camp fire, nicely done with white table cloths and giant wine glasses. Food good. Really nice beach of pebbles that was almost deserted. It's a nice walk along to the ruins at Olympos, and the Chimera is so unusual it's worth a visit though it would be quite a walk (we had a car). Nice to find a stretch of the coast that is not over-developed and long may it stay that way. If you want the same-again 5* service that then it isn't for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BoringOldGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

If you just want relax on the beach or in your own hammock in the garden, then this is the place for you. Very comfortable and clean accommodation and fantastic location on the beach. The whole area is just beautiful - lush forested mountains dropping down into turquoise blue sea with pebble / sand beaches.
Best part of the stay was great breakfast looking out to sea and eating dinner by fire and candlelight on the beach. Lunch and dinner meals were very basic, the restaurants in town ( Ceylan and Lemon) had much better food, but you could not beat the view at Bellerofon.
Don't expect 5 star - service is friendly but laid back and the property is overall a little "unkempt". The garden is very lush though and our son loved the endless parade of chickens and cats.
Cirali itself was a bit of a surprise - half rural and half touristy. Reminded us a bit of Goa. It must be very busy in season, but we were happy to go at end of October, yes there were a few rainy days but on other days the weather was lovely. The town had a bohemian / hippy / hiker vibe with foreign and local visitors of all ages. There was a real mix of elderly couples, young back packers, campers, more sophisticated traveling couples and families.
I think we would have rated the holiday even better if we had stayed for more of a week, we were just starting to relax from the stresses of work when we had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonipinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We were here for four days with our two boys aged 6 and 8 and had a brilliant time.. Lovely food, great laid back feel and comfy room. Don't miss the ruins of Olimpos and look for the freezing fresh water pool in the jungle to cool off! Also ask the manager to organise a boat trip for turtle watching and snorkelling in a series of amazing spots.. Also would recommend Phaselis as a day trip.. Only complaint was that we were charged extra for a second child in what was clearly a family hut with a double and two single beds. Not fair! Would have given five star but for this. And finally thanks to Ilias the manager who was lovely, efficient and spoke perfect English.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed a week but were feeling mellow after just a few hours.

The Bellerofon consists of 8 wooden huts/chalets with decking and table/chairs, a central office (just a larger hut), a dining area under the trees looking out to sea, two rocking chairs and a table on wooden decking, a large Turkish style seating area, a hammock outside each hut, loungers and umbrellas on the beach - and assorted chickens, tortoises, cats and a cockerel. The hotel garden is actually on the edge of the beach, perhaps 50 metres from the sea.

It's an odd mixture. The chalets and furniture are well-used but clean, the bathrooms are hardly stylish but the showers worked, the hot water worked and the air conditioning worked. The chalet interiors are sparse (ours was a double bedroom plus bathroom, with a chair, wardrobe, kettle, cafetiere and coffee, and a small fridge stocked with beer, soft drinks and water) but really clean and comfortable. Beach and bathroom towels are provided, and changed daily if you want. We were offered daily cleaning. The grounds are shaggy at the edges, but full of fruit trees, flowers and very welcome shade. The kitchen is tiny but produces excellent food.

The beach is sandy, turning to shingle at the water's edge. You need plastic shoes for the shingle as well as the heat of the sand. It's not a manicured fluffy beach - grass and cacti grow in the sand. Because of the nesting turtles there is no loud noise, no music and no strong light. We ate dinner with subdued lighting and candles. The beach is very long and was never busy except at the end close to the Olympos ruins. The Bellerofon is situated nearer the other end.

The breakfasts really are good and can be eaten whenever you want. There are no set times; someone is always available to get you something. The tables are laid with white tablecloths and china. A typical breakfast was freshly squeezed orange juice, tea/coffee, fresh cherries, apricots and melon, muesli, yogurt, black and green olives, tomatoes and cucumber, butter, fresh white cheese, a crumbly stronger cheese usually with walnuts on the side, a boiled egg or an omelette, honey, jam and marmalade, and a cake of some sort or a savoury left over from dinner the night before. All served with a large basket of warm fresh bread and rolls.

Dinner was equally good. Some nights there was a four course fixed meal, on others we chose from the a la carte menu. It was good value and excellent fresh food, although not a huge range. Typical dishes were grilled sea bream, chicken skewers, fried calamari, meatball casserole, aubergine something (can't think what - but it was delicious). The salads were great. We don't eat potatoes or chips and were given either a huge mixed salad or grilled peppers and other vegetables as well as whatever vegetable the dish came with.

Lunches were available and included burgers and Turkish pancakes. You could also ask for a packed lunch.

We did very little except swim, snorkel and read. We walked to the Roman ruins and the Chimeara (take money - there's a small entrance fee to both). Ilias, the manager, arranged a boat trip that was brilliant: we swam in various bays, including one with turtles, and had tea in a shack on the beach.

We thought our holiday was between the egg-laying and the egg-hatching seasons for the turtles but in fact both were going on while we were there! You could easily see the tracks of the female turtles every morning. We got up at 6am a couple of times and met the men recording the nests and monitoring the babies. We were lucky enough to see a batch of tiny turtles head out across the sand and shingle to the sea. They were a little late because by 6.30am the sun was hot and the sand heating up but they made it - an unforgettable sight.

Most of the time though, we sat reading in the shade, eating fruit, drinking coffee and white wine and generally enjoying being waited on. In between, we snorkelled (there are some good rocky areas) and swam in the warm sea and went daily on a 5 minute bike ride (on very basic bikes) to the Ipek patisserie/coffee shop that sold sticky orange and carrot cake and a range of Turkish delight.

This is what Bellerofon provides. What also made it special for us was the character of the manager, Ilias. He won't be there next summer so there's no point in saying a great deal but he was a charming and reliable presence who worked hard to ensure everyone had what they wanted. The chef and other staff were also friendly and smiling, seemingly always keen to help.

In summary, this place had character and charm. It was quiet and beautiful. The slight shabbiness was offset by the service and the location. (In the heat of a Turkish summer you don't really want to be further from the beach than this.) We intend to go back as soon as we feel we need a rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We started our Turkish journey in Istanbul and did 5 days of culture (loads more still to do!) Then we flew south and had 3 days in Kas - good fun. Finally we ended up via Journey Anatolia at Bellerofon where we chilled for a week. Orange Grove suited up really well - tranquil. Breakfasts were splendid as were the evening meals. We did try a couple of restaurants in the village but ate 5 dinners (out of 7) at the hotel as the cooking and ambiance were the best. Truly relaxed in very mellow atmosphere - Afik very laid back about everything! The resident chickens, ducks, tortoises, kittens were most entertaining. We walked a lot (sometimes 3 - 4 hours) in evenings or early mornings, then swam, snorkeled and read loads of books - thank goodness for the on-site library. The bentwood rockers on the deck became our favourite place to hang out! The bonus was seeing the baby Loggerhead turtles make their way to the sea- special. The ruins at Olympus are a must. Chimera, we felt, was rather over rated - partly because having reached the flames there was a loud communal sing song going on (!) not sensitive to others and couldn't be silenced...

We rarely say this (being travelers that try different places) but we know we will be back.
Thanks to Akif and all the team that made it such a special time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globaltravelcouple29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cirali hotels
0.9 mi away
Canada Hotel Cirali Olympos
0.9 mi away
Kibala Hotel
Kibala Hotel
#7 of 18 in Cirali
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimera Hotel
Kimera Hotel
#2 of 18 in Cirali
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Azur Paradise
Azur Paradise
#5 of 18 in Cirali
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aida Hotel
Aida Hotel
#4 of 18 in Cirali
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolia Resort Hotel
Anatolia Resort Hotel
#6 of 18 in Cirali
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerofon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerofon Hotel

Property: Bellerofon Hotel
Address: Ulupinar Village, Kemer, Cirali, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Cirali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cirali
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cirali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bellerofon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerofon Hotel Cirali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing