We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of peace and tranquility.”
Review of Bellerofon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellerofon Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cirali
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed at the Bellerofon Chalets in April 2009. What a wonderful find. Small chalets in a floral garden setting running down to the beach. We were greeted by the heavy scent of orange blossom and this stayed with us throughout our stay. The chalets are the equal in size of a good size hotel room and are kept spotllesly clean by a woman we came to know as the smiling lady. Bellerofon has a very laid back feel and the staff are always friendly, helpful and courteous. Food is served on the beach patio, accompanied by various chickens and cats, and is very good. The traditional Turkish breakfast feast of bread, cheeses. olives, yoghurt, honey, cereal, eggs (anyway you want them) and continuous coffee is a spectacle not to be missed. The evening meal (4 courses) is also excellent, although you should inform the staff of any particular dislikes as it is generally a set menu. Lunch can also be provided if you require it. We would say that this is a place for people wanting to get away from hustle & bustle. There is very little to do here with the exception of exploring the nearby ruins of Olympos and venturing up into the Chimerea (an area of ignited naturally occurring gases). This is not somewhere to bring unruly or easily bored modern children or surly teenagers as they will not only ruin your holiday but they will also ruin the holidays of the small number of other holiday makers that come here for the peace and quiet.
Overall this is a fantastic location and we look forward to returning regularly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Bellerofon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2008

It is a stunning location and a deeply relaxing place to stay. The beach-side setting is lovely, the gardens well-tended, the atmosphere relaxed and easy-going. I should make it clear (in relation to the previous review) that the older chalets closer to the beach also have the essential air-con though I think they are slightly smaller.

I should mention the service as the previous post makes a lot of this and it was not faultless while we were there either, probably at the same time. But for us, the friendliness & charm of the welcome and the self-evident honesty of the operation made up for some lapses in care and attention to detail. (For example: some long gaps between dinner courses; drinks orders and one or two other requests - e.g. for very minor repairs to facilities in the chalet - sometimes forgotten and reminders, occasionally repeated ones, were required.) An additional waiter would make a lot of difference - but would also presumably increase the cost of a very small-scale operation.

We were impressed by the quality of the food and didn't ever notice it being cold. The breakfast was a delicious spread. We assumed the tea and coffee were complementary (though bottled water at dinner apparently wasn't going by our bill at the end). And I don't suppose there is much they can do about the wasps, given everything is served and eaten outdoors - breakfast honey and jam were usually cling-filmed to keep them off. If we wanted eggs we knew they had them and just asked for them, I can't really see a problem there.

And sure, they didn't pay much attention to wiping down and lining up the beach loungers in neat rows at the end of the day. That will either bother you or it won't. It didn't bother us, given how often they need to be moved around anyway if you want to stay under the shade of the sun-umbrellas on very hot days.

And yes, there were a couple of days during our fairly long stay when the chalet cleaning seemed to go missing. Again it didn't really bother us and I'm sure if we'd pointed it out they would have done it. Given that breakfast and dinner are included in the price, it still seems like a good deal for such a lovely spot - and we had also paid in advance so weren't stung by the bill.

Other things I would note: one or two babies, toddlers and children were there and although they seemed to enjoy themselves, activities and facilities (beyond the beach itself) are very limited and I would think there might not be enough variety for active little ones for more than a few days.

Without a car, the immediate & rather cut-off area is quickly exhausted - so if spending your days lounging, swimming and reading isn't what you're after then you'll only want to spend a few days here - and a week would be enough for most people I think - though the ruins of Olympos at the end of the beach are very interesting & dramatic. You can use the hotel's bikes to get around the immediate area and the hotel can arrange a hire car from a couple of places in the village for trips further out.

The hens and chickens - charmingly rustic or a nuisance? Up to you. Depends on whether you can sleep through a cockerel crowing at 5am right next to where you're sleeping, I suppose. They are very sleek and healthy-looking and children will no doubt love them, ditto the little black kitten.

In summary - a great place for a deep chill-out for a few days in an area of outstanding natural beauty (with some good snorkelling opportunities) and wonderfully unspoiled & free of the normal madding crowds.

Arcadia next door has many of the same features/ facilities and, from our observations, a better and more drilled level of service. It looks superb too. But the fantastic beachside cushions-and-rugs lounging area at Bellerofon (not sure what the proper word is for this contraption) edges it for a shady reading and beach-gazing spot.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Beachgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

After reading previous rave reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this property, I was excited for our five-night stay at the Hotel Bellerofon. The hotel is located directly on a swatch of secluded beach in a lush garden. Older chalets are located most directly to the beach, while newer bungalows, which are spacious, bright, and clean (and blessedly air conditioned), are located in a citrus grove at the back of the property (we stayed in the latter). The beds were comfortable,, the location was quiet, and the A/C (which is crucial in August) worked really well.

However, the service, which could be best described as careless, leaves something to be desired, particularly for the price paid. From sloppy beach chairs to sometimes-cold meals, the property seems mismanaged. Inconsistency ruled the day: sometimes we were offered eggs with our breakfast; other days we weren't. We weren't informed until halfway through our stay that coffee and tea were complimentary. Some days we received room cleanings; others we did not. We found the chickens running literally underfoot to be irritating. We were informed that the daily room rate was 165 Lira per night, with a 10 percent discount for cash payment. When we went to check-out with cash, we were quoted the 165 rate, and had to fight for the 150 rate. All in all, the whole experience was baffling.

The food was hit or miss, but usually a strange fusion of European and Turkish cuisine. Nothing was particularly outstanding, although some traditional Turkish dishes were accomplished successfully. The food was usually fresh, though sometimes cold, as the sole waiter/receptionist/de facto manager was often busy talking with friends. Bees routinely swarmed breakfast; one day, 10 bees made camp on our jam, while others drowned in the honey and olives. When we complained, he said, "That's normal!" and turned back to his friends.

We're not usually fussy people, but for $125 USD per night, we were expecting a certain level of quality and service, which unfortunately wasn't achieved. We really wished the Arcadia, located next door, had been available: it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deserttumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed at Bellerofon for a week in late July. I really recommend it.

The chalets and surroundings were fantastic. Beautifully green location, chalets set in trees, hammocks outside every chalet. We basically arrived and then didnt move for a week - which is very easy to do. However there is plenty to do if you're so inclined - although perhaps best to avoid July and August if you're wanting to walk in the Hills surrounduing cirlali

the staff were very friendly and extremely laid back - but in a good way. if you needed something they would deal with it.. Breakfast and Dinner are basically when you want them. Dinner was in particular, fantastic, 4 courses of home made food - simpler but lovely. All taking place overlooking the sea as the moon rises.

The chalet itself was comfortable and had a decent air conditioning system which was needed! If I went again (and I want to) I'd probably aim to go in May, June or September when its a bit cooler. If you dont mind 35-40 degrees then its fine.

The beach is vast (at first it takes a bit of getting used to its almost too big and barren) and even in August empy. Bellerefon has a number of loungers and umbrellas which you definitely need. The reason they are not that near the sea is because of the turtles which lay their eggs on the beach.

the water is warm and clear with fish swimming around your feet

All in All a great place if you want peace and quiet. But make sure you slap on the factor 30 in the summer months - its roasting out there!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Matthew32_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

My wife and I had pinned our hopes on the Belleraphon and Cirali wanting a holiday that met our mutually exclusive requirements for a relaxing time with lots to do. Our requirements were met in full.

the Bellerophon is a great hotel - just five chalets and a cookhouse set in a lovely semi-tropical garden on the beach. Hens and cats wander through the garden never bothering each other, even they are relaxed. The mood was set on arrival, we asked what time breakfast was served to be told 'whenever'. Dinner and breakfast were both served when you got to your open air table; the food was consistently good. The full Turkish breakfast was always spectacular with all the cheeses and jams and fruit and the four course diner, served by lamplight as all lighting must be subdued, was always a delight.

The chalets were comfortable, with a/c and ok beds, basic, but when each comes with a porch for relaxing and a hammock for further relaxing, who cares. In the garden were two Turkish lounging platforms: 'kuush'. These are shady and cool and a lovely place to sit and read. On the beach are sunbeds and parasols for more serious lounging. The beach is fine if a little stoney, the water is crystal clear and was quite warm in May. At any time we couldn't see more than twenty people on the beach; though the more public beach, near Olimpos and too far to see from the hotel, did have dozens of people, maybe even hundreds at the weekend.

The village has hardly any two storrey buildings and is a far cry from mass tourism, most of the hotels and pensions are on small olive or citrus farms. There are a few cafes, mostly cheap and all I tried were fine. There is excellent walking in the surrounding hills, enough to provide days of amusement, but the terrain is pretty rugged and the hills steep and high so best suited to experienced walkers who've remembered to bring decent shoes. The heat is a bit of a problem - climbing up for two hours in 30 degrees or more is an effort and that is in Spring. There is also the ancient city of Olimpos to explore, an enchanting place, where the remains of Lycian building are partially hiden by cyprus trees and flowers. All this and the Chimera, with fire coming ou of the ground; fantastic.

Back at the hotel the service was laid back, but attentive. All the other guests, all ten of them, were getting down to heavy duty chilling out too, even the children were Ok and I hate children.

In short we both loved it - I relaxed and I don't ever relax. We're going back next year.

If you are going do take books. Take good walking shoes, take a camera. Leave behind any stress, you won;t need it

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JamesBolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

Having worked harder in the last few months than during any time in our lives my wife and I (early 30's) felt the need to chill out in Turkey our favourite country. Although we had fancied going to Cirali for a while we found the website for Bellerofon quite by chance, but boy what a find!

Located at a protected 'Carretta Caretta' beach - the beach is quite literally on the doorstep - the sea is like a warm bath in July and a short stroll from the ancient site of Olympos.

The accommodation comprises 5 wooden huts with air conditioning and showers. Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace - at the time you turn up. We usually feel the need to eat at a different place each night, but not here. Chef Noori lovingly prepares a variety of typical simple Turkish fare with all of the ingredients sourced locally.

You could easily spend a week in and around Cirali without getting bored but we hired a jeep locally for about £20 a day and visited Ulupinar, Phaeselis (great for swimming) and Adrasan.

Never been so relaxed, and we'll certainly return. Don't miss the Yanartas!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fortune82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2006

This is a small site situated directly on the beach at Cirali. There are 5 wooden bungalows each with their own balcony, bathroom, fridge, air con and hammock, reminded us of The Little House on the Prairie! The hotel is managed by Akif who is so helpful, with all the cooking done by Noori - the food is absolutely fantastic. There is a patio leading on to the beach where breakfast and evening meals are served along with shady seating areas for when the sun gets too hot to bear. Sunbeads and parasols are provided on the beach - combination of sand and stones but take shoes to swim in as very pebbly at waters edge. The nights are very dark, with lighting subdued to encourage the turtles on to the beach. The village is about a 10 minute walk or Akif lends out his bikes free of charge. Take lots of books - no where to buy anything in English!! Would highly recommend this hotel/hostel - if you want a chill out week with good food then this is the place

16  Thank essexdevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cirali hotels
0.9 mi away
Canada Hotel Cirali Olympos
0.3 mi away
Kimera Hotel
Kimera Hotel
#1 of 18 in Cirali
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aida Hotel
Aida Hotel
#7 of 18 in Cirali
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Azur Paradise
Azur Paradise
#8 of 18 in Cirali
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olympos Lodge
Olympos Lodge
#11 of 18 in Cirali
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odile Hotel
Odile Hotel
#10 of 18 in Cirali
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerofon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerofon Hotel

Address: Ulupinar Village, Kemer, Cirali, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Cirali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cirali
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cirali
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bellerofon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerofon Hotel Cirali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing