We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with ignorant management”
Review of Olympos Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olympos Lodge
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Cirali
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place with ignorant management”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent our summer vacation in Turkey this year, 11 days we stayed at Olympos Lodge.
A lovely place far away from any big hotel, this little paradise, full of animals running around is located directly at the beach. The cabins are nicely situated in a green garden with palm trees, two of them with garden/ocean view. The rooms were absolutely okay, no phone, no TV, no safe, no information package. Most of the days we had warm water and the ants just stayed in the small bathroom. Typically we had to ask for fresh towels. The floor was clean and the air-condition was dripping water only twice. Overall we did not really mind these limitations as we spent most of our time outside.
There was a rich buffet for breakfast, dinner was good and costly (as the mini bar in the rooms). Staff was polite and friendly.
THE BIG NEGATIVE: On the last day we asked in the afternoon to prepare our invoice, we asked again; at 22:00h the manager presented us the amount to pay. We had paid a deposit months before, we had paid with some amount with cash and the remaining sum was to be settled by credit card. In good believe that we would finally get a correct invoice early next morning as promised, we paid, not knowing the details. Who did not show up with the proper calculation of the costs the next morning was the manager - we had to rush for the airport.
Make a long story short, having asked several times by phone and email, we still did not get a proper listing of what we paid for. This is very disappointing, as we spent happy days there, still the extremely unprofessional attitude of the manager is completely unacceptable to us. For about Euro 5000 we expect to be treated fair and with honesty. (We are wondering what is being declared to the local tax authorities? Only the partial amount we paid by credit card?)
To summarize: Olympos Lodge is a nice and expensive place, we liked beautiful garden and all the wildlife around and we did not mind the limitations of room and service, but the behaviour of the current business manager is very incorrect and does not meet our style nor our expectation. The owner may think about it....we are dissatisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CNAP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    15
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
65
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is too expensive for the offerings.
We - two friends- enjoyed the green behind the sand beach. The atmosphere is good. the personal was ok. BUT
The management of the personal was very bad. They are disorganised. You have to ask to clean your room everyday, because they just have only one key.!! And the cleaning is not perfect. They mow the lawn exactly to the moment, when you have your rest after the breakfast. You have to ask to stop ist, because they dont think of these details. we have been told, that The restaurant is the best in the village. It'a not true. Dont have your dinner there, go to the nearby places. You negotiate and get good food. It is not worth to stay at the hotel for dinner.
Not to mention that they want all the money when you want to make a reservation.
=> Location super but the management is very poor.

Room Tip: Rooms very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elciny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We found this hotel by coincident and were so thrilled about it. Just next to Olympos this place offers luxury and nature. Great food, beautiful rooms no tv though, nice patio with sitting arrangements. A great garden with animals roaming around, our little baby found this especially interessting. Plus a great beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtap-ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We read reviews carefully before booking and noticed that the average grading was due to some very bad and some very enthusiastic comments. None in the middle. Because of the location and the pictures we decided to go for 3 nights. We discovered that all the positive and negative reviews were corect as follows:

THE BAD THINGS

* Far too expensive - we stayed at a very good hotel in Istanbul Old City for half the price
* Beach not really private and much less isolated than the website suggests ie both ends are very crowded with backpackers who leave huge amounts of rubbish lying around
* Beach extremely pebbly -- rubber or plastic shoes are essential
* Absolutely no written information in rooms and verbal facts hard to get about:
times of meals
where to find and leave beach towels
prices of drinks etc in bar fridge ( all expensive)
local maps
available excursions
how to get to Roman ruins and mountain flames etc, etc

* Some cabins don't overlook garden
* We didn't have a car which very much limits what one can do

PERSONAL PREFERENCES
There are numerous, dogs, cats, ducks, chickens, peacocks etc walking around everywhere including dining areas. We rather liked this but some people might well object

THE GOOD
* The setting is amazing and the view of mountains from the beach remarkable
* the water was beautiful to swim in although there was the occasional floating plastic bag or slice of bread
* The cabins are very pleasant and generally well appointed and we had a good, shady deck overlooking the garden
* The garden is pleasant and has ample deck chairs, recliners and hammocks
* It is much closer to Cirali village than the website suggested and there are several good shops selling cheap water, beer, food and beach shoes
* The food, both breakfast and dinner, is excellent ( although at Istanbul prices) and eaten outside under shade. The waiters are delightful and very helpful
* the Roman city, once found, is marvellous.

After our initial confusion and a visit to the village for essentials we enjoyed a very relaxing, but over priced, stay

Room Tip: we had Deluxe which costs a little more but is ideally placed overlooking garden with 'reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillianshenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ziyasimsek, Manager at Olympos Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear guest,

Starting this year, we will be closely monitoring user reviews on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, we thank you for your comprehensive review about our hotel. We very much appreciate the effort you took to write this review, we find your comments inspiring and valuable.

Amongst them, your complaint about information flow on our facility seems especially significant and urgent. You can be sure that, starting this year, more practical information on our hotel and its surroundings will be readily available for our guests at all times within their easy reach.

We also decided to put more detailed information on our web site about our resident animals living freely on our facility considering that this may not be as enjoyable for certain future guests.

As you already know, even though it is solely reserved for our guests, our private beach is also an integral part of the ancient city of Olympos. Because of obvious reasons, it is not possible to completely close the beach to backpackers who may pass by on their way to visiting the ancient site. But still, we can and we will show extra care for the cleanness of our part of the beach.

We hope that you will notice the positive changes in your next visit. And we hope this will take place soon.

Olympos Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had a 2-day vacation at Olympos Lodge. When we arrived late in the day, the person at the reception was not aware of our stay (you expect this awareness as the lodge is small and only few guests check in and out everyday). That may be OK, but they had no information at the desk about our room. We had to wait some time until they found via phone someone (Ayse hanim) who knows about our reservation and who reserved a room for us. Apparently, she keeps the info to herself. This is strange as almost any hotel records the reservation info in a book or in an electronic media so that this info is available at the reception desk all the time. Our room was good, maybe the only thing worth of 200EUR/day price tag. The person who showed us the room didn't make any conversation unless we asked him about the breakfast time (you have to pull information at this site, strange!). This no-information policy continued next day when we wanted to use the beach. Nobody told us that the hotel provides towel for the guests (we learned this a day later when Ayse returned). At the breakfast buffet, we had to ask persistently for our second glass of tea (which was cold when we received it). No information until asked policy continued. For example, we weren't offered scrambled eggs for breakfast (on the second day, when Ayse returned, we learned this was part of the breakfast). Ayse tried to make our experience a little better, however it was too little too late. In her absence, the personnel is really terrible. The quality is well below Olympos & Cirali standards as we stayed in other places in the past. the atmosphere is not friendly at all. They invested much to the infrastructure but very little to the quality of their personnel. All in all, we won't stay at this place any more even if it was half the price we paid.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fourier79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We both needed a rest, and wanted to spent time together. This peaceful place was perfect: our wishes were fulfilled!

Our room was quiet and comfortable with everything we needed (including a large shower cabin). We breakfasted under palm trees with the occasional cat, and a peacock or cock crowing nearby.

The extensive garden boarders on the beach, where we sunned and swam in the mornings. After relaxing in the garden, or doing outings to the nearby attractions, we finished the days with a fireside dinner. The food was excellent.

Thank you Olympus Lodge!

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I stayed here in 2006 with my wife and 2 very small children. The place is fantastic. The service was impeccable. At one point, we wanted to buy a Stokke high chair for our daughter, but the only one we could find was located in Antalya. When I asked the hotel to arrange a taxi for me, the instead sent their own van to Antalya to buy the chair. That night, the had assembled it and put it at our table for dinner. The put the cost of the chair on our bill and did not charge us for going to get it. That is above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorestis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cirali hotels
0.6 mi away
Canada Hotel Cirali Olympos
0.7 mi away
Kimera Hotel
Kimera Hotel
#1 of 18 in Cirali
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aida Hotel
Aida Hotel
#4 of 18 in Cirali
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Azur Paradise
Azur Paradise
#8 of 18 in Cirali
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kibala Hotel
Kibala Hotel
#7 of 18 in Cirali
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Odile Hotel
Odile Hotel
#11 of 18 in Cirali
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympos Lodge

Property: Olympos Lodge
Address: Cirali Koyu, Cirali 07300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Cirali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cirali
#8 Family Hotel in Cirali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and Refined Hospitality The bay is blessed with unique natural beauty. A tropical garden starts at the foot of Olympos Mountain following a river that flows down to the sea. Its tranquil beauty and heavenly atmosphere quickly attracted artists, professionals and families from all over the world. The well-known German magazine GEO ranked Olympos Lodge as one of the 10 best boutique hotels in the Mediterranean. To ensure optimal service the staff is young and almost equal in number to the guests. A major factor for the charm and atmosphere is the 20,000 square meters (3.4 acres) of landscaped garden, which is reserved exclusively for the Olympos Lodge guests. The sauna in the central garden is an additional wellness feature. All 14 ground floor rooms, styled in brilliant white, have individual garden terraces, central heating and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Olympos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympos Hotel Cirali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing