We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total rip off, run down, nothing like its marketing”
Review of Olympos Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympos Lodge
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Cirali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very rarely do I fundamentally disagree with the totality of TripAdvisor reviews for a hotel, but this is one such place. This is a rundown, ramshackle, grossly overpriced rip off. Cirali is a beautiful location with a superb, albeit rocky, Mediterranean beach. But that is where the positives of Olympos begin and end.

This place is marketed as if it it is a luxury boutique hotel in beautiful surrounds etc. The reality is nothing like it. The rusting hulks of two old cars next to the dirt car parking area is an accurate forewarning of what you are about to experience.

The gardens are rundown, the lodgings are rundown, the restaurant area is ramshackle at best, it is almost impossible to eat outside without some of the numerous resident dogs trying to get at your food, and you can't even get a good view of the glorious location from either your bungalow or the restaurant area.

This was the most expensive place we stayed in outside of Istanbul in a four week journey around Turkey and was head and shoulders the very worst value of our entire journey.

Cirali is a beautiful spot for a meal at one of the restaurants on the beach. Olympos Lodge is a rundown ripoff to be avoided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The website led me to believe that I would be getting a luxury boutique hotel where I could relax in the sauna and be pampered by the ambiance. This hotel has a lot going for it but it is not a luxury hotel.

The positives were the beautiful diversely vegetated garden, the willingness of the kitchen to deal with alternative diets, the location right on the Mediterranean Sea, the close proximity to the Olympos archeological site, and the tastefully decorated rooms with adequate outlets. The food was very tasty, the ingredients fresh and well presented.

The negatives were the need to walk around animal excrement (I love animals but the walks need to be frequently cleaned if the premises are to keep this exotic assortment of animals), the electrical problems in the bathroom with flashing lights, the poor maintenance of the garden and beach furniture with the rust which can be quite off putting, and most of all the cost! For the money this hotel was charging they should be a well maintained, well trained staff, with no construction noise and a sauna that actually works! I resent paying for a fully stocked mini bar that I had no intention of using and for the toiletries that offered mediocre Dove products. The food was extremely expensive compared to the high end standards of other Turkish restaurants and hotels. The staff were friendly but not overly effective in meeting the needs of the guests.

If the hotel is to continue to charge high end prices, it needs to re-examine the negatives that are being stated.

For a rustic hotel without the hustle and bustle of the mega hotels of Antalya, it was delightful. I love the animals (other than the 3:00 AM roosters) and the home style life. This is the way it should be advertised and this is the way it should be priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed at the Olympos Lodge with a friend for 3 nights. There are some positive and some negative issues which I tried detailing below.

All in all, if you think of this as a nice but rustic B&B you'll have a positive experience. If you expect an exclusive boutique hotel where your wants will be correctly anticipated with a degree of sophistication, you'll be disappointed.

Negative:

- Price/performance: The pricing and the website lead one to expect a sophisticated boutique hotel. In fact, service is at the level of a well meaning, rustic B&B.

- Under construction with construction noise: While understandable from a logistics standpoint in a remote location, we arrived during a period when most of the rooms were being expanded (ie major construction). Although they offered to slow down and reduce the noise (and they did), it detracted greatly from the promise of a restful few days.

- Maintenance: Chaise longues are rusty. Cushions on the chaise longues are there 24 hours and have rust stains. Beach is not combed or checked out by staff and has quite a bit of dog doodoo and other debris. Garden needs debris to be moved out. Winter garden has been turned into a workshop. Dining area porch is drowned in wood. Overall, the place looks pre-season, and in need of a good scheduled maintenance.

Staff well meaning but largely inept - Staff really seem like very nice people, but are very slow and do not seem to really grasp service issues. This is really where it is much more rustic village B&B than boutique hotel. Especially lacking is the way an experienced boutique hotel staff will immediately learn and follow your preferences - this was to the point I felt the staff had no memory. They seem to be following more of rote learning prescriptions than anything innate. The check in stance to remember which side one serves from, the inability to realize we don't take sugar in tea, the inability to brew some coffee in the morning before we ask for it each morning, no offer to change/refresh beach towels (mistakenly we left them out the entire night and realized nobody noticed...)

Neutral:

Animals -- There are chickens and ducks running loose and about 10 dogs. While I thought it added to the ambiance, not everybody would like it or find it hygienic.

Positive:

Beautiful garden - The owner has created his gardens over the space of two decades. It shows.

Decoration - It is decorated quite beautifully.

Staff well meaning -- Even though I find the staff to be lacking in terms of skills, they are very well meaning. The chef cooked leafy vegetables for us (though this is the first time I found myself having to explain this as a special dietary requirement over and over again...). If you asked for something, they tried to get it/do it for you. Sometimes they tried too hard beyond reason -- I have a distinct feeling the reason a gin&tonic took 30 mins is someone rushed out to get tonic water and I would have preferred to switch orders...

All in all, I had expected a well established boutique hotel and I found a nice rustic B&B with some maintenance issues. I consider the price / performance to be wrong for this reason. If you set your expectations correctly you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dtraveler943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent three wonderful nights at the Olympos Lodge and can't say enough good things about this dreamy spot on the Turquoise coast. Cirali in general is a magical destination as one descends down the mountain canyon from the coastal road to find an unexpectedly amazing tropical "micro-climate" oasis amidst towering green peaks that plunge into the sea. The Lodge is unique amongst the other lodging choices as it offers an amazing beach-side location along with expansive and spectacular grounds. It is a very relaxed place, where you can move to your own pace and let the excellent staff take care of you if you want (or not if you don't). Our standard room was nicely decorated in modern clean "chill" style with a little porch facing a garden. The bathroom was especially cool; made of rough-hewn white marble and teak wood. Location couldn't be better -- right on the beach within walking distance to the ruins of Ancient Olympos, and several very nice beach-side restaurants. The restaurant at the lodge was also very good in a beautiful outdoor setting; the highlight is the weekly grill night, which includes dozens of mezes along with your choice of grilled fresh items. In short, the Olympos Lodge is a great destination in and of itself, but the setting in Cirali and the other nearby coastal attractions make it outstanding. Hard to believe it is only an hour from Antalya. [If you go to Cirali, don't miss a late evening walk to the Chimera -- unforgettable!]

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Elfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Olympos lodge is open far the best hotel in Olympos and worth every penny. The staff is warm and respectfull and also helpfull. But unfortunately the acceptance of children to the hotel is a disappointment. Boutique hotels like the lodge should not accept families with children. With children running and screaming around the hotel becomes a regular place rather then a romantique or private one.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kaya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are a lot of good things I can say about this wonderful boutique hotel. Great location right on the Olympus beach, , excellent breakfast buffet, good wine list, comfy beds, good nature and quietness. Rooms are very clean and well decorated. it is naturally designed to enjoy every moment

Room Tip: try to have room closed to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adyavuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had 5 blissful nights here. The lodge is a small collection of 'cabins' scattered in beautiful gardens right on Cirali Beach. The rooms are simple but spotless with comfortable furniture. They are perfect for a beach holiday. The gardens have peacocks, chickens, ducks, kittens and dogs wandering around, all in harmony. Breakfast is just stunning. ( as is the location and beach!)
The staff although they speak little English are friendly and very eager to please. We loved our stay and look forward to returning. There appear to be many return guests, always a good sign.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cirali hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimera Hotel
Kimera Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cirali
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aida Hotel
Aida Hotel
#6 of 19 in Cirali
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chimera Pia Hotel
Chimera Pia Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cirali
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Azur Paradise
Azur Paradise
#8 of 19 in Cirali
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kibala Hotel
Kibala Hotel
#7 of 19 in Cirali
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canada Hotel Cirali Olympos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympos Lodge

Address: Cirali Koyu, Cirali 07300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Cirali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cirali
Price Range: £157 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and Refined Hospitality The bay is blessed with unique natural beauty. A tropical garden starts at the foot of Olympos Mountain following a river that flows down to the sea. Its tranquil beauty and heavenly atmosphere quickly attracted artists, professionals and families from all over the world. The well-known German magazine GEO ranked Olympos Lodge as one of the 10 best boutique hotels in the Mediterranean. To ensure optimal service the staff is young and almost equal in number to the guests. A major factor for the charm and atmosphere is the 20,000 square meters (3.4 acres) of landscaped garden, which is reserved exclusively for the Olympos Lodge guests. The sauna in the central garden is an additional wellness feature. All 14 ground floor rooms, styled in brilliant white, have individual garden terraces, central heating and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olympos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympos Hotel Cirali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing