We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 27 Assos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Ece and Mahmet could not have been nicer. It was probably the warmest welcome we received in Turkey, and that is saying a lot, because everyone in Turkey was so friendly.
Assos Alarga is charming and in a great location. From their courtyard we could climb to the hilltop temple ruins! The B&B itself was charmingly decorated, very comfortable, and the food is terrific. We wanted to move in! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricvamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

The Assos Alarga is perched sheltering beneath the ruins of Assos with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. It is small so book early, as this is a gem that should not be missed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated with neat finishing touches such as the beaded bags for all the normal accessories. The owner and staff were welcoming and most helpful with good advice on the local sights. The meals were excellent and served with pleasant informality.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I can't say anough good things about the Alarga Assos and our hostess Ece. We're living in Istanbul and stayed at Alarga the last night of a 3 day road trip. We were disappointed - bad weather and pretty bad accommodations- until we arrived at Alarga and were greeted by Ece and her helper Mehmet. The stone house is lovely with spectacular views. It's steps below the ruins of the Temple of Athens. The village is unspoiled. Early evening we had an excellent fish dinner in the harbor at the Keravansaray Hotel. Then we curled up in our cozy room witha bottle of wine and watched movies on our lap top. I slept like a baby and awoke to a sunny day and a truly wonderful breakfast by the fireplace in the living room. I definitely plan to go back when the weather's warmer and we can use the gardens and pool. If you're planning a trip to Gallipolli and Troy, make this your base rather than staying in Canakkale or Eceabat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

need cool in the heat?
assosalarga ...
feel cool in the heat
assosalarga ...

Actually we were gluttons for punishment & went there twice in 6 weeks such was the ambience of the place ...

It's easy to just laze after breakfast by the pool but a little bit of exploration takes you to a fantastic beach within 20 minutes drive. We can recommend having your fish dinner with the table & chairs in the sea while being waited on ... yes really!

On the 2nd trip we spent our 1st wedding anniversary there ... we just had a magical time ...

What's the risk of our review? Can we get our favourite room next time?! x

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Yes it was, in every way...

We stayed at Assosalarga for two days with our toddler son. On our fist night, we left the hotel and went downtown(!) for a bite, which is an ancient port at the dead-end of a relatively small access road that runs down from the hill where Assosalarga is located. While there are many restaurants to choose from there, we found what's offered to be pretty standard fare with nothing really to remember. On our second night, we let our Assosalarga hostess/proprietor (Ece) do the cooking for us. Well, she arranges this fantastic candle-lit table with delightful Turkish food that is more than you can eat. That dinner hit our cost-to-benefit ratio at the correct spot. So, yes go downtown; but make sure you have dinner at Alarga at least once.

It goes without saying that breakfast, which is included in the price, was also very good.

Our son had a great time playing at the pool, and running around in the courtyard. We were sorry leaving this place.

Other notes: Great building with historic elements, fantastic location (an ancient Greek temple is a couple of hundred yards away, if you are not familiar with Assos), beautiful courtyard (where we had our dinner), a very nice medium size pool; three guest rooms in all which provide a very friendly yet adequately private setting

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyAndCarmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

If you wish to stay somewhere unique and make you feel warm and comfortable in Assos; I recommend you to stay in one of the rooms of Assos Alarga (actually they have only three so hurry up :))

Cheerful Ece and her team provides you a warm care with their real home made cocktails, meals, jams and pastry. hope to see and taste more of Assos Alarga in my next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAOAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

An unexpected find in a little charming village of Assos, the home town of Aristotle. A tiny, cozy guest house with good service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EVP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assos hotels
0.5 mi away
Assos Kervansaray
Assos Kervansaray
#2 of 23 in Assos
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Assos Behram Hotel
Assos Behram Hotel
#5 of 23 in Assos
132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Assos Barbarossa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ida Costa Hotel
Ida Costa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Assos
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Assosyal Otel
Assosyal Otel
#7 of 23 in Assos
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Assos Dove Hotel
Assos Dove Hotel
#4 of 23 in Assos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast

Address: Behramkale Koyu 88 | Alan Mevkii, Assos 17860, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Assos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Assos
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing