We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly retreat”
Review of Assos Nar Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Assos Nar Konak
Ranked #2 of 27 Assos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel from the beginning to end. We received a welcoming email from the owners prior to our visit that featured a detailed map of their location and also the places of interest and activities surrounding our accommodation.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with the most delicious homemade Limonata. Our stay was just heavenly from start to finish. The hotel has been beautifully decorated and certainly made us feel like we were a home away from home. The hospitality from the family running this hotel was exceptional. We travelled with our two young children and grandparents - the hotel exceeded everyones expectations.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The gardens were idyllic, relaxing for the adults and a real place of interest for children. The views from this hotel are spectacular. It's location is ideal, a few minutes walk from ancient ruins, situated in a rusted mountain village and only minutes drive away from beaches and harbour areas so we got to enjoy the best of both worlds.

The owners, Gizem & Juan, really got to know their visitors - my son in particular found a new best friend! And the breakfast, well it was spectacular! My son has an allergy to cow's milk but they adapted some of the breakfast menu to suit him. He was incredibly happy with all of the choices he was able to have, as were we - organic, homemade and plentiful.

We highly recommend this hotel and we will most certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nar (pomegranate) is a symbol of fertility, prosperity, abundance and generosity all of which can be attributed to the beautiful Nar Konak boutique hotel and it’s wonderful hosts, Gizem and Juan.
My boyfriend and I stopped off at Assos after a long road trip from the south of Turkey back up to Istanbul. We stayed in many boutique hotels on our way, but Nar Konak was the only one that truly felt like home.
Gizem and Juan greeted us at the door with ice-cold fresh mint lemonade- homemade with the handpicked ingredients from their garden. We cooled off in the shade of vast pomegranate and fig trees in their café, while nibbling on pastries straight out of the oven.
We only had 24 hours in Assos and had no idea where to start, so Gizem and Juan sat us down with some maps and gave us a comprehensive list of activities that were realistic for the limited time we had. The main sites, including the infamous Temple of Athena, are just a short walk from Nar Konak. The beach is also just minutes away by car.
After a long day exploring the sites and chilling by the beach, we returned to the hotel where we thought we would have a quick shower and go back out, but the hospitality of our hosts and the comforts of the hotel made us want to stay. As we walked in the door, we were greeted again with ice -cold coffee and other treats, freshly prepared by our hosts. Once we were in the beautiful grounds of the hotel, we didn’t want to leave. We chilled out in the café , listening to jazz and then went up to the terrace to enjoy the sunset and sweeping views of Assos.
From the photos on the Website I didn’t realize how much space there was on the grounds of the hotel. Each corner serves a purpose and has been intricately designed and decorated. I was also surprised by how much privacy we had on a 5 –bedroom property.
If like us you get lured in by the charms of the hotel you don't even have to leave to have dinner. Our hosts prepared a delicious 3- course for a modest additional fixed rate.
We had everything we needed and later took to our immaculate beautifully decorated room where we relaxed and had the best night’s sleep of our entire trip.
Assos Nar Konak is definitely one of Turkey’s hidden gems with the best breakfast! I feel lucky to have discovered it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceylan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent a night here on our way down the Aegean coast and it was perfect - wonderful, friendly hosts (thank you Gizem and Juan!), a great night's sleep and a delicious breakfast in the morning, served under the pomegranate trees in the garden. The konak is very pretty, very clean, silent and cool at night.. A great stay! Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was Rosemary and it had a great view and comfortable bed. Spacious, like a Tuscan villa roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the food and the service to the views and the cozy environment, this place exceeded my expectations. It really felt like I was home. The rooms are clean, with beautiful hand-made covers. Even though large spaces are not very common in Assos, this place felt very private, and every spot with tables and chairs where you can have a drink had amazing views and also its own privacy. The cafe near the entrance serves incredible frappes or ice blended coffee. The location is great, just five minutes from a beautiful beach. I highly recommend this place over any other in Assos.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the red bed cover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank che_caballero86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Everything is great, location, place, room, people, the homemade ice tea, food...our stay was so nice, it is a pity we couldn't stay longer...If you ever go to Assos, which I recommend because the site is wonderful, there is barely anyone from the wall, passing the agora until arriving to the amphitheater...there is no real way, you've got to explore, that makes the site even more interesting. The temple of Athena is also worth...
If you go to Nar Konak...you should also have a nice meal there...it is very good !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selon_Nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Nar Konak in early August and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay in Turkey. After travelling from Istanbul it was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. Nar Konak is a little oasis above the harbour of Assos with views across the parched hills and Mediterranean coast. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere and guests are welcome to lounge around the gardens and spend time in the Nar café where they sell snacks, homemade lemonade etc. And if you don’t feel like eating at one of the local restaurants the owners Gizem and her husband serve food in the evenings on request which I highly recommend.

Without a car it’s an easy downhill walk to Assos harbour which took around half an hour – the views out to the med and the islands made up for the traffic dodging. There is a small beach here, and lots of restaurants and cafes good for an evening aperitif. It’s also worth going to the local beaches a few miles to the east of Assos where you can hire beach beds and an umbrella for a minimal price and get something to eat at the cafes and restaurants nearby. It’s pretty easy to catch the dolmus to and from the beach although I don’t think there’s a precise timetable so it’s a case of waiting in a café and running after one as it bombs past.

My first time in Turkey and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcedBun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were doing an Aegean tour for three weeks in Turkey and stayed in several Boutique Hotels and Nar Konak was without doubt the best place to stay. We stay two nights there and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the place and Gizem's family, they all speak perfect English and Gizem and her husband speak Spanish, they were really attentive and even help us to plan our next destinations in the area.

The location is great, right at the top of the hill with views to the Hüdavendigar Camii and the valley, you could stay around the garden just relaxing or reading. Is very close to the temple of Athenas and a short ride to the old harbor and nice beaches.
The place is very well decorated with notable attention to detail, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and fully equipped.

It was a great experience and a pleasant stay, I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soho501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assos hotels
0.5 mi away
Assos Kervansaray
Assos Kervansaray
#3 of 20 in Assos
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Assos Behram Hotel
Assos Behram Hotel
#4 of 20 in Assos
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Assos Barbarossa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Assos Dove Hotel
Assos Dove Hotel
#11 of 20 in Assos
192 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ida Costa Otel
Ida Costa Otel
#2 of 20 in Assos
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Assos Alarga, Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assos Nar Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assos Nar Konak

Property: Assos Nar Konak
Address: Behramkale Koyici Mevkii No 62 | Assos, Assos 17860, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Assos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Assos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded; 2014 Travellers Choice 2014 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Assos Nar Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing